- Life As Mom - http://lifeasmom.com -

Downsizing Your Baked Goods (Ultimate Recipe Swap: Baked Goods)

Posted By Jessica Fisher On October 15, 2009 @ 2:34 am In Baking,Meal Planning,URS | 17 Comments

[3]

Baking time is upon us. The weather has shifted in many parts of the country and it’s perfect weather to pop an apple pie in the oven. Plus, sales on baking ingredients have started to spread. Now’s the time to stock up!

Everyone in our family loves to bake. FishPapa usually handles pancake duty while the kids help me [4] prepare cookies [5], scones [6], brownies, you name it. Last week we tagged onto Money Saving Mom’s baking day – so fun to live tweet and smell yummy things coming from the oven. And last week I had an epiphany.

But, first some background….

You would think that after twelve years and six kids, I would have clued into the eating habits of small children. You know what I’m talking about — the half-eaten muffin, the donut devoid of its frosting and a millimeter of its top, the scone that looks like a rat nibbled it and dropped it on the kitchen floor. I’ve grimaced many a time at “man-handled” food that no one else really wants but which the offender has bored of.

[7]

Well, those days are over. I finally realized that I don’t need to make 8 scones from my recipe. I can make 30 mini-scones, or sconelettes, if you feel particularly froofy.

{Gasp.}

I can do this with brownies, too. How cute are brownies made in mini-muffin tins?

[8]

Oh, yes. We’re downsizing around here. That. is. for. sure. From now on, I’m going to make smaller size muffins, cookies, scones, and brownies. Heck! I might even make petit pancakes!

Not only will we have less waste, but I’m guessing that they’re going to love me — even more than they already do — when they hear my answer to the question, “How many can I have?” Have four! Yes, sir. This is the wave of the future.

Some favorite baked goods around here:
Maple-Oat Scones [6]
Gramma John’s Chocolate Chip Cookies [5]
Trail Mix Cookies [9]

Got a great recipe for baked goods? Share it with us!

1. Post your recipe on your blog. Please mention www.lifeasMOM.com in your post. Then, come back here to add your link to Mr. Linky below. (Find instructions for Mr. Linky here [10].)

OR

2. If you don’t have a blog, simply tell us about your recipe in the comments section.

Everyone who participates in today’s URS will be entered in a giveaway for a collection of holiday cookie cutters.

1. Christian Frugal Mama (Blueberry Craisin Oatmeal Cookies) [11]
2. Amy-Cutting Coupons in KC (Apple Farm Cake) [12]
3. Heather @ JustDoingMyBest (Pumpkin Oatmeal Cookies) [13]
4. Kitchen Stewardship (One-Bowl Pumpkin Muffins – Sugar-less option) [14]
5. Alison @ My Vintage Kitchen (Easy Gooey Butter Cake) [15]
6. Kara @ Home With Purpose (Popcorn Cornbread) [16]
7. Ann Marie’s Musings (Rainbow Cake) [17]
8. Marie at Beginning, Meet End (Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cake) [18]
9. A Busy Mom of Two (Pumpkin Butterscotch Treats, & links to more pumpkin recipes) [19]
10. Amy @ Finer Things (Mom’s Cinnamon Rolls) [20]
11. HoosierHomemade(Cranberry Bread) [21]
12. Will Travel by Foot (pumpkin whoopie pies [22]
13. Hallee – star fruit upside down cake [23]
14. Gretchen @ Extraordinary Ordinary Life (biscuits and gravy the best breakfast) [24]
15. Lynns Kit Adv (choc pumpkin muffins) [25]
16. UnfinishedMom (Applesauce Cake) [26]
17. Newlyweds (Pumpkin Yumkins) [27]
18. Joy in My Kitchen (Fat Free Crockpot Apple Cake) [28]
19. Twila (Upsidedown Caramel Apple Pie) [29]
20. Lucy Marie (Our Favorite Baked Goods) [30]
21. ElizabethG (Fruit Crisp) [31]
22. Love Peace and Saving Gluten free Cupcakes [32]
23. Katie @ Favorites and Things (sheet cake) [33]
24. Amanda@TrentTribe (Chewy Molasses Spice Cookies) [34]
25. Mother Hen (Frugal Cornbread) [35]
26. Heather (Orange Bundt Cake) [36]
27. Odd Mom (Baked Rice Pudding) [37]
28. Sara (peach pound cake) [38]
29. goodLife {eats} Rosemary Foccacia Bread [39]
30. Amanda from Faith, Food and Family (Innkeeper Pie) [40]
31. Lauren @ Home with Olivia (recent baking day w/ recipe links) [41]
32. Rae [42]
33. Stephanie (Church Lady Coffee Cake) [43]
34. Micha @ Cookin’ Mimi [44]
35. Danielle (Lime Cake) [45]
36. Jen @ Happy Little Homemaker (Best Banana Bread EVER!) [46]
37. Intentionally Katie (easy Apple Turnovers) [47]
38. Rebekah (White Chocolate Raspberry Cheesecake) [48]
39. Amy @ Simply Sugar & Gluten-Free (Petitie Pumpkin Loaves) [49]
40. Jen S.~Apple Chip cake [50]
41. The Prudent Homemaker (French Bread) [51]
42. Recipes for Moms (Chocolate Chip Muffins w/whole wheat flour) [52]
43. Lisette @ Fancy Frugalista! (Earl Grey Tea Shortbread Cookies) [53]
44. Karen (French Sweet Bread) [54]
45. Simply Sweet Home (Sour Cream Pound Cake) [55]
46. Saving and Giving (NY Style Cheesecake with Berry Topping) [56]
47. annies home – cherry bars [57]
48. Tara @ Feels like home (mediterranean veggie sandwich) [58]
49. Little Mama – Fools Toffee [59]
50. Jamie (Chocolate Caramel Chewy Cookies) [60]
51. Bugaboo @ Dirt Poor, Filthy Rich (Praline. Apple. Bread. Oh My!) [61]

Powered by… Mister Linky’s Magical Widgets [62].


Article printed from Life As Mom: http://lifeasmom.com

URL to article: http://lifeasmom.com/2009/10/ultimate-recipe-swap-baked-goods.html

URLs in this post:

[1] RSS feed: http://feeds.feedburner.com/lifeasmom/oGdA

[2] free updates via email: http://feedburner.google.com/fb/a/mailverify?uri=lifeasmom/oGdA

[3] Image: http://2.bp.blogspot.com/_89L9ZoBsR08/SiL2U5nagZI/AAAAAAAAFCc/7WLqyQzkIFY/s1600-h/URS.jpg

[4] the kids help me: http://www.lifeasmom.com/2009/02/budget-living-home-baked-snacks-with.html

[5] cookies: http://www.lifeasmom.com/2009/04/urs-cookie-throwdown.html

[6] scones: http://www.lifeasmom.com/2009/02/maple-oat-heart-scones-they-work-for-me.html

[7] Image: http://3.bp.blogspot.com/_89L9ZoBsR08/StQg-BpomwI/AAAAAAAAGUk/W6yYVx92OWc/s1600-h/Mini+Scones.JPG

[8] Image: http://1.bp.blogspot.com/_89L9ZoBsR08/Stadg30pBZI/AAAAAAAAGVM/LEdBNqdP3l4/s1600-h/2009+October+084.jpg

[9] Trail Mix Cookies: http://www.lifeasmom.com/2008/05/trail-mix-cookies.html

[10] here: http://www.lifeasmom.com/2008/08/that-mr-linky-thing.html

[11] Christian Frugal Mama (Blueberry Craisin Oatmeal Cookies): http://christianfrugalmama.blogspot.com/2009/10/blueberry-craisin-oatmeal-cookies.html

[12] Amy-Cutting Coupons in KC (Apple Farm Cake): http://cuttingcouponsinkc.blogspot.com/2009/10/apple-farm-cake-recipe.html

[13] Heather @ JustDoingMyBest (Pumpkin Oatmeal Cookies): http://www.justdoingmybest.com/index.php/2009/10/14/pumpkin-oatmeal-cookies/

[14] Kitchen Stewardship (One-Bowl Pumpkin Muffins – Sugar-less option): http://www.kitchenstewardship.com/2009/10/13/recipe-conection-one-bowl-pumpkin-breadmuffins/

[15] Alison @ My Vintage Kitchen (Easy Gooey Butter Cake) : http://my-vintage-kitchen.blogspot.com/2009/10/ultimate-recipe-swap-jens-easy-gooey.html

[16] Kara @ Home With Purpose (Popcorn Cornbread): http://homewithpurpose.blogspot.com/2009/09/popcorn-cornbread-ingredients-1-cup.html

[17] Ann Marie’s Musings (Rainbow Cake): http://annmariedetavernier.blogspot.com/2009/10/rainbow-cake.html

[18] Marie at Beginning, Meet End (Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cake): http://www.beginningmeetend.com/2009/10/ultimate-recipe-swap-pumpkin-chocolate.html

[19] A Busy Mom of Two (Pumpkin Butterscotch Treats, & links to more pumpkin recipes): http://abusymomoftwo.blogspot.com/2009/10/pumpkin-butterscotch-muffins-or-cake.html

[20] Amy @ Finer Things (Mom’s Cinnamon Rolls): http://amysfinerthings.com/moms-cinnamon-rolls

[21] HoosierHomemade(Cranberry Bread): http://hoosierhomemade.com/cranberry-bread/

[22] Will Travel by Foot (pumpkin whoopie pies: http://www.willtravelbyfoot.com/2009/10/pumpkin-whoopie-pies.html

[23] Hallee – star fruit upside down cake: http://www.halleethehomemaker.com/2009/10/star-fruit-ud-cake/

[24] Gretchen @ Extraordinary Ordinary Life (biscuits and gravy the best breakfast): http://extraordinaryordinarylife.wordpress.com/2009/10/14/would-you-please-pass-the-biscuits/

[25] Lynns Kit Adv (choc pumpkin muffins): http://www.lynnskitchenadventures.com/2009/10/chocolate-pumpkin-chocolate-chip-muffins.html

[26] UnfinishedMom (Applesauce Cake): http://unfinishedmom.blogspot.com/2009/10/mommoms-applesauce-cake.html

[27] Newlyweds (Pumpkin Yumkins): http://newlyweds.wordpress.com/2009/10/06/pumpkin-yumkins/

[28] Joy in My Kitchen (Fat Free Crockpot Apple Cake): http://joyinmykitchen.blogspot.com/2009/09/fat-free-crockpot-apple-cake.html

[29] Twila (Upsidedown Caramel Apple Pie): http://ilovecooking.xanga.com/674949298/recipe-for-the-week/

[30] Lucy Marie (Our Favorite Baked Goods): http://lucyskitchen.blogspot.com/2009/10/lucy-and-luckys-favorite-baked-goods.html

[31] ElizabethG (Fruit Crisp): http://amoderngal.com/2009/07/30/blueberries-frugal-and-healthy-tips/

[32] Love Peace and Saving Gluten free Cupcakes: http://lovepeaceandsaving.blogspot.com/2009/10/gluten-free-cupcakes.html

[33] Katie @ Favorites and Things (sheet cake): http://favoritesandthings.blogspot.com/2009/10/delicious-chocolate-cake9.html

[34] Amanda@TrentTribe (Chewy Molasses Spice Cookies): http://trenttribe.xanga.com/itemthemed.aspx?user=trenttribe&uid=695641765

[35] Mother Hen (Frugal Cornbread): http://shipfullofpirates.com/2009/10/15/frugal-cornbread/

[36] Heather (Orange Bundt Cake): http://justcallmecassandrasmom.blogspot.com/2009/07/orange-bundt-cake-with-orange-marmalade.html

[37] Odd Mom (Baked Rice Pudding): http://oddmom.net/2009/10/13/baked-rice-pudding/

[38] Sara (peach pound cake): http://cookwithsara.blogspot.com/2009/10/peach-pound-cake.html

[39] goodLife {eats} Rosemary Foccacia Bread: http://www.goodlifeeats.com/2009/06/roasted-chicken-apricot-and-brie-panini.html

[40] Amanda from Faith, Food and Family (Innkeeper Pie): http://faithfoodfamily.blogspot.com/2009/10/innkeeper-pie.html

[41] Lauren @ Home with Olivia (recent baking day w/ recipe links): http://homewitholivia.blogspot.com/2009/10/baking-day-day-1.html

[42] Rae: http://onmyowntwohands.blogspot.com/2009/10/i-made-it-monday-brownies.html

[43] Stephanie (Church Lady Coffee Cake): http://ahighandnoblecalling.com/2009/10/church-lady-coffee-cake-recipe/

[44] Micha @ Cookin’ Mimi: http://cookingmimi.wordpress.com/2009/10/15/ultimate-recipe-swap-baked-goods/

[45] Danielle (Lime Cake): http://dancingbythelight.com/2009/05/10/lime-cake/

[46] Jen @ Happy Little Homemaker (Best Banana Bread EVER!): http://www.thesteeds.net/?p=983

[47] Intentionally Katie (easy Apple Turnovers): http://intentionallykatie.blogspot.com/2009/10/easy-apple-turnovers.html

[48] Rebekah (White Chocolate Raspberry Cheesecake): http://rebekahsfamilyfoodandfun.blogspot.com/2009/09/white-chocolate-raspberry-cheesecake.html

[49] Amy @ Simply Sugar & Gluten-Free (Petitie Pumpkin Loaves): http://www.lifeasmom.com/2009/10/ultimate-recipe-swap-baked-goods.html

[50] Jen S.~Apple Chip cake: http://jenssimplepleasures.blogspot.com/2009/10/another-fall-recipe.html

[51] The Prudent Homemaker (French Bread): http://theprudenthomemaker.com/frenchbread.aspx

[52] Recipes for Moms (Chocolate Chip Muffins w/whole wheat flour): http://www.recipesformoms.com/2007/07/chocolate-chip-muffins.html

[53] Lisette @ Fancy Frugalista! (Earl Grey Tea Shortbread Cookies): http://buyonsaleandsavethedifference.blogspot.com/2009/10/earl-grey-tea-shortbread.html

[54] Karen (French Sweet Bread): http://bluebarnbulletin.blogspot.com/2009/03/french-sweet-bread.html

[55] Simply Sweet Home (Sour Cream Pound Cake): http://simplysweethome.blogspot.com/2009/10/miss-bonnies-sweet-bread.html

[56] Saving and Giving (NY Style Cheesecake with Berry Topping): http://savingandgiving.blogspot.com/2009/10/ultimate-recipe-swap-ny-style.html

[57] annies home – cherry bars: http://shopannies.blogspot.com/2009/10/cherry-bars.html

[58] Tara @ Feels like home (mediterranean veggie sandwich): http://www.feelslikehomeblog.com/2009/10/mediterranean-veggie-sandwich/

[59] Little Mama – Fools Toffee: http://littlemama2.blogspot.com/2009/09/fools-toffee.html

[60] Jamie (Chocolate Caramel Chewy Cookies): http://jamiegetskow.blogspot.com/2009/05/chocolate-caramel-chewy-cookies.html

[61] Bugaboo @ Dirt Poor, Filthy Rich (Praline. Apple. Bread. Oh My!): http://dirtpoorfilthyrich.blogspot.com/2009/10/praline-apple-bread-oh-my.html

[62] Mister Linky’s Magical Widgets: http://www.blenza.com/linkies/

Copyright © 2011 Life As Mom. All rights reserved.