- Life As Mom - http://lifeasmom.com -

Ultimate Recipe Swap: Make Ahead Meals

Posted By Jessica Fisher On November 5, 2009 @ 1:28 am In Baking,Freezer Cooking,Home Management,Meal Planning,Recipes,Slow Cooking,URS | 22 Comments

[4]

I don’t have enough time, arms, or sleep. Such is the life of a mother. So, in order to make my “life as MOM” as pleasant as possible, I’ve been trying to develop ways to save time.

More than two arms would look weird, and sleep will come eventually.

Over the weekend I put together a month-long meal plan [5]. While this may take a little spontanaeity out of my life, it may well, take a little spontanaeity out of my life. As a mother of SIX KIDS, I have that in abundance. Who are we kidding?

This week I’ve also been working to cook a bunch of meals ahead of time [6]. While I didn’t prepare 30 meals, I did fill in a lot of the holes in my meal plan so that dinnertime prep should go quicker in the weeks to come.

One of the things that I like to have on hand are custom-made mixes. I’ve been doing this for 101 years and it continues to be a boon to me on a busy morning when kids are crying for food, but the coffee hasn’t kicked in yet. Not only is it a quick help in the morning, but since you’re making your own, you can dude them up with fancy or healthy ingredients that your family likes.

[7]

Make Your Own Mixes
You’re going to laugh when you hear how terribly easy this is. Stop paying for boxed mixes! (Confession: I do keep cake mixes on hand, but nothing else.)

  1. Line up quart size ziptop bags.
  2. Mark each with the date, the mix name, wet ingredients to be added and baking instructions.
  3. Fill the bags with the premeasured, dry ingredients called for in the recipe.
  4. Store in the pantry, or for longer storage, in the freezer.

I regularly do this for brownies, pancakes, waffles, scones, muffins, and quick breads. It’s so nice to just empty the bag in a bowl, add “the wet team” and bake. It also makes it a little easier to let kids help me bake [8].

Got a great make-ahead or freezer-friendly recipe? Share it with us!
 1. Post your recipe on your blog. Please mention www.LifeasMOM.com in your post. Then, come back here to add your link to Mr. Linky below. (Find instructions for Mr. Linky here [9].)

OR

2. If you don’t have a blog, simply tell us about your recipe in the comments section.

Go here for details on this week’s giveaway [10].


1. Amy @ Simply Sugar & Gluten-Free (My 1st Baking Day! Loved it!) [11]
2. SwappinSpoons – Better than – - – Dessert [12]
3. SwappinSpoons – Corn Pudding [13]
4. SwappinSpoons – Pumpkin cream cheese bars [14]
5. SwappinSpoons – Lasagna and a snowman made of cheese [15]
6. Marie@Beginning, Meet End [16]
7. HoosierHomemade(Baking Day-Prep Work) [17]
8. Leaving Excess (Hot Cocoa Mix) [18]
9. Christian Frugal Mama (Slow Cooker Kielbasa & Beans) [19]
10. Melissa @ Mom’s Plans (Freezer Burritos) [20]
11. Mother Hen (Crockpot Applesauce) [21]
12. Beth@TheNaturalMommy (Easy Peasy Granola Bars) [22]
13. Beth@TheNaturalMommy (Half-Whole-Wheat Zucchini Flax Bread) [23]
14. Beth@TheNaturalMommy (Cinnamon Crunch Granola) [24]
15. Beth@TheNaturalMommy (Applesauce) [25]
16. Gretchen @ EOL (Zesty BBQ Chicken used 3 ways) [26]
17. Amanda (1st baking day – prepping for baby!) [27]
18. Life as a Friedrich- Prep for Baby! [28]
19. Ann Marie (1st baking day – apples, squash, and potatoes oh my!) [29]
20. Sidnie [Muffins & Soup] [30]
21. The Prudent Pantry (Chicken Marbella) [31]
22. Kitchen Stewardship (Apple Squares for Breakfast or Dessert?) [32]
23. A Busy Mom of Two (Spaghetti and Meatballs) [33]
24. Fancy Frugalista! (Whole Wheat Banana Bread) [34]
25. MasonDixonMagnolia [35]
26. MasonDixonMagnolia (Black Bean Chicken Chili) [36]
27. Cara @ The Picky Apple (Favorite Freezer Friendly Meals) [37]
28. Cents to Get Debt Free (Beef and Broccoli) [38]
29. SnoWhite @ Joy in My Kitchen (Flexible Make Ahead Muffins) [39]
30. Linda @ Gluten-Free Homemaker (breakfast casserole) [40]
31. SwappinSpoons – Walnut & Chocolate Chip Cookies [41]
32. Hannah @ Mulberry Spot (Sweet Potato Burritos) [42]
33. Lucky @ Making My Own Luck Fall Harvest Muffins [43]
34. Sarah @ Mum In Bloom (Pumpkin Muffins) [44]
35. sara (wild rice quiche for freezer) [45]
36. sweetjeanette Grilling Day Steaks [46]
37. Laura @ Brand New Housewife (Easy Italian Pasta Bake) [47]
38. Deidra (Cook Ahead Roast) [48]
39. Jimi @ What’s Cooking [49]
40. Shannon (grain-free garlic & rosemary crackers) [50]
41. annies home – [51]
42. LFinn (perfect for freezer baked ziti) [52]
43. Holly @ A Mommy’s Blessings (Kids won’t eat spinach? Make this!) [53]
44. Rebecca at Turned Loose (easy cream of chicken dry soup mix) [54]
45. Recipes for Moms (Overnight Coffee Cake) [55]
46. Adventure Mom Janna ~ Monkey Pancakes [56]
47. Anne (Make-Ahead Hot Chocolate) [57]
48. The Domestic Contessa – Easy Freezer Meal! [58]
49. Couponing 101 – Cinnamon Rolls, Stuffed Bread Sticks & More! [59]
50. Tara @ Feels like home (crock pot mashed potatoes) [60]
51. ElizabethG (Vegetable Soup) [61]
52. Janel (The Best Lasagna) [62]
53. Megan @ Smidgen of a Kitchen (Golabki – Stuffed Cabbage!) [63]
54. Stephanie (Hamburger Vegetable Soup) [64]
55. Good (&Cheap) Eats – Multi Grain Blueberry Pancake Mix [65]
56. Micha @ Cookin’ Mimi (Enchilada Stuffed Shells) [66]

Powered by… Mister Linky’s Magical Widgets [67].


Article printed from Life As Mom: http://lifeasmom.com

URL to article: http://lifeasmom.com/2009/11/ultimate-recipe-swap-make-ahead-meals.html

URLs in this post:

[1] RSS feed: http://feeds.feedburner.com/lifeasmom/oGdA

[2] free updates via email: http://feedburner.google.com/fb/a/mailverify?uri=lifeasmom/oGdA

[3] my free seasonal newsletter: http://eepurl.com/q47Vb

[4] Image: http://2.bp.blogspot.com/_89L9ZoBsR08/SiL2U5nagZI/AAAAAAAAFCc/7WLqyQzkIFY/s1600-h/URS.jpg

[5] a month-long meal plan: http://www.lifeasmom.com/2009/11/meal-planning-planning-more-than-one.html

[6] cook a bunch of meals ahead of time: http://www.lifeasmom.com/2009/11/freezer-cooking-day-2-end-result.html

[7] Image: http://2.bp.blogspot.com/_89L9ZoBsR08/SvIRRtrj2zI/AAAAAAAAGcE/TObT5Q8KNd4/s1600-h/2009+October+099.jpg

[8] let kids help me bake: http://www.lifeasmom.com/2009/11/how-to-cook-with-kids-or-inspite-of.html

[9] here: http://www.lifeasmom.com/2008/08/that-mr-linky-thing.html

[10] this week’s giveaway: http://lifeasmomreviews.blogspot.com/

[11] Amy @ Simply Sugar & Gluten-Free (My 1st Baking Day! Loved it!) : http://www.simplysugarandglutenfree.com/a-day-baking-gluten-free-sugar-free/

[12] SwappinSpoons – Better than – - – Dessert: http://tinyurl.com/ykbfc7z

[13] SwappinSpoons – Corn Pudding : http://tinyurl.com/yha98kj

[14] SwappinSpoons – Pumpkin cream cheese bars : http://tinyurl.com/yjxv5m6

[15] SwappinSpoons – Lasagna and a snowman made of cheese : http://tinyurl.com/ykjropw

[16] Marie@Beginning, Meet End: http://www.beginningmeetend.com/2009/11/make-ahead-or-make-it-fast-haystacks.html

[17] HoosierHomemade(Baking Day-Prep Work): http://hoosierhomemade.com/baking-day-prep-work/

[18] Leaving Excess (Hot Cocoa Mix): http://www.leavingexcess.com/2009/11/hot-cocoa-mix.html

[19] Christian Frugal Mama (Slow Cooker Kielbasa & Beans): http://christianfrugalmama.blogspot.com/2009/11/recipe-of-week-black-beans-and-kielbasa.html

[20] Melissa @ Mom’s Plans (Freezer Burritos): http://momsplans.blogspot.com/2009/06/freezer-burritos-frugal-recipe-makeover.html

[21] Mother Hen (Crockpot Applesauce): http://shipfullofpirates.com/2009/11/crockpot-applesauce/

[22] Beth@TheNaturalMommy (Easy Peasy Granola Bars): http://www.thenaturalmommy.com/2009/11/04/easy-peasy-granola-bar-recipe/

[23] Beth@TheNaturalMommy (Half-Whole-Wheat Zucchini Flax Bread): http://www.thenaturalmommy.com/2009/11/04/half-whole-wheat-zucchini-flax-bread/

[24] Beth@TheNaturalMommy (Cinnamon Crunch Granola): http://www.thenaturalmommy.com/2008/08/14/recipe-swap-cinnamon-crunch-granola/

[25] Beth@TheNaturalMommy (Applesauce): http://www.thenaturalmommy.com/2009/11/03/baking-day-update-3-things-are-being-finished/

[26] Gretchen @ EOL (Zesty BBQ Chicken used 3 ways): http://extraordinaryordinarylife.wordpress.com/2009/11/05/freezer-meal-wrap-up-and-recipe/

[27] Amanda (1st baking day – prepping for baby!): http://www.amanda.fakeginger.com/?p=881

[28] Life as a Friedrich- Prep for Baby!: http://friedrichkc.blogspot.com/search?q=cooking edition

[29] Ann Marie (1st baking day – apples, squash, and potatoes oh my!): http://annmariedetavernier.blogspot.com/2009/11/baking-day.html

[30] Sidnie [Muffins & Soup]: http://green-enough.blogspot.com/2009/11/make-ahead-recipes.html

[31] The Prudent Pantry (Chicken Marbella): http://theprudentpantryblog.blogspot.com/2009/09/chicken-marbella.html

[32] Kitchen Stewardship (Apple Squares for Breakfast or Dessert?): http://www.kitchenstewardship.com/2009/11/05/recipe-connection-apple-squares-as-freezer-food/

[33] A Busy Mom of Two (Spaghetti and Meatballs): http://abusymomoftwo.blogspot.com/2009/11/spaghetti-and-meatballs.html

[34] Fancy Frugalista! (Whole Wheat Banana Bread): http://buyonsaleandsavethedifference.blogspot.com/2009/10/wont-last-long-whole-wheat-banana-bread.html

[35] MasonDixonMagnolia: http://masondixonmagnolia.blogspot.com/2009/11/black-bean-chicken-chili.html.blogspot.com

[36] MasonDixonMagnolia (Black Bean Chicken Chili): http://masondixonmagnolia.blogspot.com/2009/11/black-bean-chicken-chili.html

[37] Cara @ The Picky Apple (Favorite Freezer Friendly Meals): http://www.thepickyapple.com/blog/2009/11/05/some-of-my-favorite-freezer-friendly-meals/

[38] Cents to Get Debt Free (Beef and Broccoli): http://www.gettingfreedom.net/2009/11/freezer-meals.html

[39] SnoWhite @ Joy in My Kitchen (Flexible Make Ahead Muffins): http://joyinmykitchen.blogspot.com/2009/09/cinnamon-zucchini-muffins.html

[40] Linda @ Gluten-Free Homemaker (breakfast casserole): http://www.glutenfreehomemaker.com/2009/04/breakfast-casserole.html

[41] SwappinSpoons – Walnut & Chocolate Chip Cookies : http://swappinspoons.blogspot.com/2009/10/walnut-chocolate-chip-cookies.html

[42] Hannah @ Mulberry Spot (Sweet Potato Burritos): http://mulberryspot.blogspot.com/2009/11/sweet-potato-burritos.html

[43] Lucky @ Making My Own Luck Fall Harvest Muffins: http://cookingluck.blogspot.com/2009/11/fall-harvest-muffins.html

[44] Sarah @ Mum In Bloom (Pumpkin Muffins): http://muminbloom.blogspot.com/2009/11/recipe-pumpkin-muffins.html

[45] sara (wild rice quiche for freezer): http://cookwithsara.blogspot.com/2009/06/wild-rice-quiche.html

[46] sweetjeanette Grilling Day Steaks: http://sweetjeanette.blogspot.com/2009/11/freezer-meals.html

[47] Laura @ Brand New Housewife (Easy Italian Pasta Bake): http://brandnewhousewife.blogspot.com/2009/11/ultimate-recipe-swap-easy-italian-pasta.html

[48] Deidra (Cook Ahead Roast): http://deidrasheart.blogspot.com/2009/11/cook-ahead-roast.html

[49] Jimi @ What’s Cooking: http://sharingrecipes.blogspot.com/2009/11/make-ahead-meal.html

[50] Shannon (grain-free garlic & rosemary crackers): http://www.nourishingdays.com/?p=2345

[51] annies home – : http://shopannies.blogspot.com/2009/10/make-ahead-meals-for-busy-moms-review.html#comments

[52] LFinn (perfect for freezer baked ziti): http://lfinndesigns.blogspot.com/2009/11/perfect-for-freezer-baked-ziti.html

[53] Holly @ A Mommy’s Blessings (Kids won’t eat spinach? Make this!): http://mommysblessings.blogspot.com/2009/11/little-ones-wont-eat-spinach-then-make.html

[54] Rebecca at Turned Loose (easy cream of chicken dry soup mix): http://looseendshere.blogspot.com/2009/08/casserole-sauce-mix.html

[55] Recipes for Moms (Overnight Coffee Cake): http://www.recipesformoms.com/2008/10/overnight-coffee-cake.html

[56] Adventure Mom Janna ~ Monkey Pancakes: http://theadventureofmotherhood.blogspot.com/2009/05/marvelous-monkey-pancakes.html

[57] Anne (Make-Ahead Hot Chocolate): http://quickeasycheaphealthy.blogspot.com/2009/11/different-approach-to-instant-hot.html

[58] The Domestic Contessa – Easy Freezer Meal!: http://domesticcontessa.blogspot.com/2009/11/quick-and-easy-freezer-meal.html

[59] Couponing 101 – Cinnamon Rolls, Stuffed Bread Sticks & More!: http://www.couponing101.com/2009/11/baking-day-part-3-the-results.html

[60] Tara @ Feels like home (crock pot mashed potatoes): http://www.feelslikehomeblog.com/2009/11/easy-thanksgiving-recipes-crock-pot-mashed-potatoes/

[61] ElizabethG (Vegetable Soup): http://amoderngal.com/2009/10/19/roasted-veggie-soup/

[62] Janel (The Best Lasagna): http://jandbpiersma.blogspot.com/2009/11/best-lasagna.html

[63] Megan @ Smidgen of a Kitchen (Golabki – Stuffed Cabbage!): http://smidgenkitchen.blogspot.com/2009/11/how-to-make-golabki-step-by-step.html

[64] Stephanie (Hamburger Vegetable Soup): http://ahighandnoblecalling.com/2009/11/freezer-recipe-hamburger-vegetable-soup/

[65] Good (&Cheap) Eats – Multi Grain Blueberry Pancake Mix: http://www.goodcheapeats.com/2009/11/multi-grain-blueberry-pancakes.html

[66] Micha @ Cookin’ Mimi (Enchilada Stuffed Shells): http://cookingmimi.wordpress.com/2009/11/07/enchilada-stuffed-shells/

[67] Mister Linky’s Magical Widgets: http://www.blenza.com/linkies/

Copyright © 2011 Life As Mom. All rights reserved.