- Life As Mom - http://lifeasmom.com -

Cranberry Orange Granola (Ultimate Recipe Swap: Food Gifts)

Posted By Jessica Fisher On December 3, 2009 @ 2:42 am In Gift Ideas,Main Dishes,Meal Planning,Recipes,URS | 39 Comments

[4] I love browsing in chi-chi food boutiques. I don’t like the prices they charge. So, instead, I’ve chosen to make my own delicious gifts to give to friends and family. I’ve shared the muffin kit [5] with you. Today’s gift of good taste is one the boys and I experimented with just this morning. We took our standard granola recipe and doctored it up with some fresh orange zest and dried cranberries. Delish!

[6]

Cranberry-Orange Granola

5 cups rolled oats
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 Tablespoon cinnamon
1 cup brown sugar
1/4 cup water
1/2 cup canola oil
1/2 cup powdered nonfat milk
zest of one orange
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 cup chopped nuts
1 cup dried cranberries

Preheat oven to 300°. In saucepot combine salt, cinnamon, brown sugar, water, oil, powdered milk, orange zest, and vanilla. Heat until well blended. Pour over oats and nuts in large mixing bowl, stirring to combine. Spread on large greased cookie sheet. Bake for 40-45 minutes, stirring every 10-15 minutes. Cool.

For longest storage, store the cooled granola in an airtight container in the freezer.

I’ve noticed that dried fruit gets a little hard when it’s mixed into the granola. So, I’d recommend packaging it separately. Like this:

[7]

The dried cranberries are in a snack size bag, resting atop the granola in a larger treat bag. Tie with a bow and you have a great gift!

Do you have a great food gift idea? Share it with us! Leave a comment or link up your post below.

1. Lynns Kit Adv (five ideas for food gifts) [8] 2. A Busy Mom of Two (Mint Chocolate Cookies and Brutzel Bars) [9] 3. Mama Bird’s {Pepper Jelly} [10] 4. Susie’s Homemade [11] 5. Leaving Excess (Pumpkin Praline Cheesecake!) [12] 6. Centsable Momma – Jar Mix gifts [13] 7. goodLife {eats} Cranberry Crumb Bars [14] 8. Family stamping food (Mexican Hot Cocoa) [15] 9. Amy-Cutting Coupons in KC (Homemade Bagels as gifts) [16] 10. ElizabethG (Spicy Nuts) [17] 11. HoosierHomemade(Christmas Cookies) [18] 12. The King’s Missus (Super Easy Popcorn Balls) [19] 13. Hannah @ Mulberry Spot (Cranberry Zucchini Bread) [20] 14. MasonDixonMagnolia (Homemade Apple Syrup and Cinnamon Pecan Pancake Mix) [21] 15. Geri@heartnsoulcooking(orange-cranberry bread) [22] 16. The Frugal Girls! {Chocolate Chip Cream Cheese Cupcakes!!} [23] 17. Angie @ Many Little Blessings (Goodie Platter Gifts) [24] 18. Kitchen Stewardship (Homemade Salad Dressings 100% EVOO) [25] 19. Janel (Pizza Night Kit) [26] 20. A Few Short Cuts ( Grandmas Waffle Cookies) [27] 21. Tara @ Feels like home (double choc pecan cookies) [28] 22. Fancy Frugalista (Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Bars) [29] 23. Jill @ Love from the Kitchen (Garlic Pull Apart Bread) [30] 24. Swqappin’ Spoons – (Banana Bread) the best recipe EVER!!! [31] 25. Finding Joy in My Kitchen (Orange Cranberry Muffins) [32] 26. Sara (chocolate glazed almond bars) [33] 27. Our Changing Reflection (Edible Gift Ideas and Tips) [34] 28. Sarah’s Musings – Coconut Macaroons [35] 29. Marsha @ Taste and See (Sweet Chex mix – 2 versions) [36] 30. Newlyweds (Jalapeno Jelly) [37] 31. Lucy Marie – Soup in a Jar [38] 32. Faithful Provisions (Homemade Christmas Gifts!) [39] 33. Jimi @ What’s Cooking (cookie dough truffles) [40] 34. Lynn@queenofthecastlerecipes (addictive sugar and spice nuts) [41] 35. BrownThumbMama (English Muffin Bread) [42] 36. The Prudent Homemaker (Rosemary Olive Oil Bread) [43] 37. Hallee the Homemaker – Delicious Cranberry Nut Bread [44] 38. Homemake Peanut Brittle [45] 39. Leftovers On Purpose (Apple Stuffing) [46] 40. Christmas w/o breaking the bank [47] 41. Lucky @ Making My Own Luck (Cranberry-Apple Ring) [48] 42. Susieqtpies Scraps of Life Holidaze Fudge [49]

Powered by… Mister Linky’s Magical Widgets [50].

PS. Don’t forget to pop over to Simply Sugar and Gluten Free [51] on Thursday for this week’s installment of the Holiday Food Fest [52]. Amy is rounding up all sorts of cocktails, mocktails, and appetizers. Great giveaways are available as well.


Article printed from Life As Mom: http://lifeasmom.com

URL to article: http://lifeasmom.com/2009/12/ultimate-recipe-swap-food-gifts.html

URLs in this post:

[1] RSS feed: http://feeds.feedburner.com/lifeasmom/oGdA

[2] free updates via email: http://feedburner.google.com/fb/a/mailverify?uri=lifeasmom/oGdA

[3] my free seasonal newsletter: http://eepurl.com/q47Vb

[4] Image: http://2.bp.blogspot.com/_89L9ZoBsR08/SiL2U5nagZI/AAAAAAAAFCc/7WLqyQzkIFY/s1600-h/URS.jpg

[5] the muffin kit: http://www.lifeasmom.com/2009/11/make-muffin-kit-download-available.html

[6] Image: http://2.bp.blogspot.com/_89L9ZoBsR08/Sxb8UTXsNOI/AAAAAAAAGow/8e6RX1uZdOE/s1600-h/2009+December+029.jpg

[7] Image: http://1.bp.blogspot.com/_89L9ZoBsR08/Sxb8LiU2-NI/AAAAAAAAGoo/puq75JhmBVk/s1600-h/2009+December+034.jpg

[8] Lynns Kit Adv (five ideas for food gifts): http://www.lynnskitchenadventures.com/2009/12/homemade-food-gift-ideas.html

[9] A Busy Mom of Two (Mint Chocolate Cookies and Brutzel Bars): http://abusymomoftwo.blogspot.com/2009/12/food-gifts.html

[10] Mama Bird’s {Pepper Jelly}: http://mamabirdsnest.blogspot.com/2009/11/food-gifts-1-memas-pepper-jelly.html

[11] Susie’s Homemade: http://susieshomemade.blogspot.com/2009/11/gifts-of-good-taste.html

[12] Leaving Excess (Pumpkin Praline Cheesecake!): http://www.leavingexcess.com/2009/12/pumpkin-praline-cheesecake.html

[13] Centsable Momma – Jar Mix gifts: http://www.centsablemomma.com/2008/10/frugal-friday-homemade-christmas-gifts_17.html

[14] goodLife {eats} Cranberry Crumb Bars: http://www.goodlifeeats.com/2009/10/cranberry-crumb-bars.html

[15] Family stamping food (Mexican Hot Cocoa): http://familystampingfood.blogspot.com/2009/12/recipe-mexican-hot-cocoa-mix.html

[16] Amy-Cutting Coupons in KC (Homemade Bagels as gifts): http://cuttingcouponsinkc.blogspot.com/2009/12/homemade-bagels-as-gift.html

[17] ElizabethG (Spicy Nuts): http://amoderngal.com/2009/11/17/healthier-homemade-gifts/

[18] HoosierHomemade(Christmas Cookies): http://hoosierhomemade.com/christmas-cookieschocolate-crinklesday-3/

[19] The King’s Missus (Super Easy Popcorn Balls): http://thekingsmissus.blogspot.com/2009/12/grandmas-popcorn-balls.html

[20] Hannah @ Mulberry Spot (Cranberry Zucchini Bread): http://mulberryspot.blogspot.com/2009/12/cranberry-zucchini-bread.html

[21] MasonDixonMagnolia (Homemade Apple Syrup and Cinnamon Pecan Pancake Mix): http://masondixonmagnolia.blogspot.com/2009/11/apple-syrup-and-cinnamon-pecan-pancake.html

[22] Geri@heartnsoulcooking(orange-cranberry bread): http://heartnsoulcooking.blogspot.com/2009/11/orange-cranberry-bread-with.html

[23] The Frugal Girls! {Chocolate Chip Cream Cheese Cupcakes!!}: http://www.thefrugalgirls.com/2009/11/chocolate-chip-cream-cheese-cupcakes.html

[24] Angie @ Many Little Blessings (Goodie Platter Gifts): http://www.manylittleblessings.net/2009/11/home-baked-christmas-gifts.html

[25] Kitchen Stewardship (Homemade Salad Dressings 100% EVOO): http://www.kitchenstewardship.com/2009/11/19/simple-homemade-gifts-healthy-salad-dressings-and-more/

[26] Janel (Pizza Night Kit): http://jandbpiersma.blogspot.com/2009/11/make-it-monday-pizza-night-kit.html

[27] A Few Short Cuts ( Grandmas Waffle Cookies): http://afewshortcuts.com/2009/11/snackurday-grandmas-waffle-cookies/

[28] Tara @ Feels like home (double choc pecan cookies): http://www.feelslikehomeblog.com/2009/12/double-chocolate-pecan-cookies/

[29] Fancy Frugalista (Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Bars): http://buyonsaleandsavethedifference.blogspot.com/2009/11/pumpkin-chocolate-chipbars.html

[30] Jill @ Love from the Kitchen (Garlic Pull Apart Bread): http://moneysavindiva-lovefromthekitchen.blogspot.com/2009/12/garlic-pull-apart-bread.html

[31] Swqappin’ Spoons – (Banana Bread) the best recipe EVER!!!: http://swappinspoons.blogspot.com/2009/12/homemade-gifts-for-christmas.html

[32] Finding Joy in My Kitchen (Orange Cranberry Muffins): http://joyinmykitchen.blogspot.com/2009/05/orange-cranberry-muffins.html

[33] Sara (chocolate glazed almond bars): http://cookwithsara.blogspot.com/2009/05/chocolate-glazed-almond-bars.html

[34] Our Changing Reflection (Edible Gift Ideas and Tips): http://changingreflection.blogspot.com/2009/11/edible-gifts.html

[35] Sarah’s Musings – Coconut Macaroons: http://sarahs-musings.blogspot.com/2009/12/coconut-macaroons.html

[36] Marsha @ Taste and See (Sweet Chex mix – 2 versions): http://tasteandseegodsgoodness.blogspot.com/2009/12/chex-mix-two-sweet-versions.html

[37] Newlyweds (Jalapeno Jelly) : http://www.newlyweds-blog.com/2009/07/14/jalapeno-jelly/

[38] Lucy Marie – Soup in a Jar: http://lucyskitchen.blogspot.com/2009/12/soup-in-jar.html

[39] Faithful Provisions (Homemade Christmas Gifts!): http://www.faithfulprovisions.com/2009/12/02/freezer-cooking-day-im-done/

[40] Jimi @ What’s Cooking (cookie dough truffles): http://sharingrecipes.blogspot.com/2009/12/most-wonderful-time-of-year.html

[41] Lynn@queenofthecastlerecipes (addictive sugar and spice nuts): http://queenofthecastlerecipes.blogspot.com/2009/11/homemade-food-gifts-part-three.html

[42] BrownThumbMama (English Muffin Bread): http://www.brownthumbmama.com/2009/08/english-muffin-bread_31.html

[43] The Prudent Homemaker (Rosemary Olive Oil Bread): http://theprudenthomemaker.com/rosemaryoliveoilbread.aspx

[44] Hallee the Homemaker – Delicious Cranberry Nut Bread: http://www.halleethehomemaker.com/2009/11/delicious-cranberry-nut-bread/

[45] Homemake Peanut Brittle: http://homemakerscottage.blogspot.com/2009/11/learning-to-make-homemade-peanut.html

[46] Leftovers On Purpose (Apple Stuffing): http://leftoversonpurpose.blogspot.com/2009/12/apple-stuffing.html

[47] Christmas w/o breaking the bank: http://ilovemy5kids.blogspot.com/2009/11/buying-christmas-presents-have-merry.html

[48] Lucky @ Making My Own Luck (Cranberry-Apple Ring): http://cookingluck.blogspot.com/2009/12/holiday-cranberry-apple-coffee-ring.html

[49] Susieqtpies Scraps of Life Holidaze Fudge: http://cafescrapper-scrapsoflife.blogspot.com/2008/12/suzies-holidaze-fudge-ive-been-making.html

[50] Mister Linky’s Magical Widgets: http://www.blenza.com/linkies/

[51] Simply Sugar and Gluten Free: http://www.simplysugarandglutenfree.com/

[52] Holiday Food Fest: http://www.simplysugarandglutenfree.com/holiday-food-fest-join-in-the-fun/

Copyright © 2011 Life As Mom. All rights reserved.