- Life As Mom - http://lifeasmom.com -

Grilled Turkey & Brie (Ultimate Recipe Swap: Quick Winter Dinners)

Posted By Jessica Fisher On December 10, 2009 @ 3:07 am In Main Dishes,Recipes,URS,Winter | 14 Comments

[3]

Wintertime calls for hot, filling meals that warm you up and keep you energized. And it seems that family life is super busy during winter as well. You know what that means. The family cook needs some quick, cozy menu ideas.

At our house it might be beans and rice or a bowl of chili. But, one of my go-to meals is grilled cheese and soup. Not all my kids love grilled cheese sandwiches, but that’s okay. He makes himself toast. Sometimes I make soup from scratch; other times I pop open a can. Either way, we enjoy the meal.

[4]
Most of the kids prefer your standard cheddar cheese in their sandwich. But, recently, I thought I’d bust out and try something different. How does Grilled Turkey and Brie on Whole Grain Bread sound? It’s still a grilled cheese sandwich, just notched up a bit. It was very tasty. Unbelievably, the kid who doesn’t love standard grilled cheese, really liked this one.
[5]

Grilled Turkey and Brie on Whole Grain Bread
for each sandwich you’ll need:

2 slices bread
softened butter
1 slice roasted turkey
sliced Brie to cover the bread
thinly sliced red onion (optional)

Heat fry pan or griddle. Butter one side of each piece of bread. (When assembling, I stack two pieces, buttered sides together on a work surface and build my sandwiches. Then when I place them on the griddle, I put the bottom slice on top, buttered side up.) On the plain side of one piece of bread, stack turkey, red onion, and Brie slices. Place sandwich on hot griddle and cook until cheese is melted, turkey is hot, and bread is toasted. Flip as needed. Serve with a bowl of soup.

Now, it’s your turn. What’s a Quick Fix Meal that you serve during Winter?
Share it in the comments or post your link below. Everyone who participates will be entered in my Campbells/V-8 Fusion Giveaway [6].

1. Kitchen Stewardship (Cream of Potato/Vegetable Soup) [7]
2. Ann Marie @ Household6Diva (Continental Chicken Casserole) [8]
3. Swappin’ Spoons – MAC and CHEESE SOUP (quick and easy) [9]
4. A Busy Mom of Two (Cheeseburger Pizza) [10]
5. Money Saving Maine-iac, Butter Bean Chowder [11]
6. Tara @ Feels like home (cajun style beans & rice) [12]
7. Joy in My Kitchen (Pot Pie) [13]
8. Fancy Frugalista (My Mom’s Sugar Cookies) [14]
9. Rachel [15]
10. ElizabethG (Quick Skillet Meal) [16]
11. Melissa @ Mom’s Plans (BBQ Smoked Sausage & Lima Beans) [17]
12. Family Balance Sheet (Chunky Potato & Leek Soup) [18]
13. Leaving Excess (Sausage, Beans & Rice) [19]
14. MasonDixonMagnolia (“Leftovers” Hearty Ranch Beans) [20]
15. Lynns Kit Adv(easy rice dinner) [21]
16. Hannah @ Mulberry Spot (Easy Rice & Beans) [22]
17. Sarah (My Kind of Meal!) [23]
18. Sarah (My Kind of Meal!) [24]
19. Cheesy Chicken Soup (Homemaker’s Cottage) [25]
20. Marsha @ Taste and See (Cheeseburger Rice) [26]
21. LovePeaceandSaving~SPICEY CHICKEN STEW. HMMMM….. [27]
22. LovePeaceandSaving~THE EASIEST SOUP EVER. TACO SOUP [28]
23. Amy @ Raising Arrows (WINTER SOUP) [29]
24. Sara (Mexi-Mac Skillet) [30]
25. Favorites and Things- Thai Peanut Noodle [31]
26. The Prudent Homemaker (Minestrone Soup) [32]
27. The Prudent Homemaker (Meatless Chicken Fried Steak) [33]
28. Amy-Cutting Coupons in KC (Easy Crockpot Sunday Roast) [34]
29. Lucky @ Making My Own Luck — Hamburger Steak With Peppers and Onions [35]
30. Hallee the Homemaker – Kentucky Kreamed Turkey [36]
31. Janine (Chicken & Black Bean Tortilla Soup) [37]
32. Mary Jo @ Covenant Homemaking [38]
33. Karen @ MuffinFixation [Hamburger Gravy] [39]
34. Jenny @ The Zepf Life (Laundry detergent) [40]
35. Melodie (Cocoa, Sundae Sauce, Chocolate Pecan, Cranberry Clusters) [41]
36. Becca at Lovely In Pink (chicken enchilda soup) [42]
37. Miss Q’s Southern Green Beans [43]
38. Holly @ A Mommy’s Blessings (chunky cheese soup) [44]
39. angie @ annies velvetta cheesy pasta dinner [45]
40. Newlyweds (Friendship Casserole) [46]
41. Crockpot White Chili – delicious! [47]
42. Jimi @ What’s Cooking (pepperoni cheese tortellini) [48]
43. Adventure Mom Janna- Chicken Spinach Calzones [49]
44. The Local Cook (Potato Soup) [50]
45. Bringing Basics Back (Strawberries’n'cream oatmeal -VS- Quaker’s version!) [51]
46. Candi @ Family stamping food (Easy Chicken & Rice Soup) [52]
47. Casie @ Saving and Sharing – Buffalo Chicken [53]
48. Charlene (Sausage cooked 5 ways) [54]
49. Amanda @ Coping with Frugality(Calamari with Tomatoes and Capers over Quinoa) [55]
50. Twila Broccoli soup and Italian bread wedges) [56]
51. Amber: Healthier Cheeseburger Soup [57]
52. Leftovers On Purpose (Quick Bread) [58]
53. Kristen@ Hope Abound: Chicken & Noodles [59]

Powered by… Mister Linky’s Magical Widgets [60].

Next week on URS: Holiday Desserts


Article printed from Life As Mom: http://lifeasmom.com

URL to article: http://lifeasmom.com/2009/12/ultimate-recipe-swap-quick-winter.html

URLs in this post:

[1] RSS feed: http://feeds.feedburner.com/lifeasmom/oGdA

[2] free updates via email: http://feedburner.google.com/fb/a/mailverify?uri=lifeasmom/oGdA

[3] Image: http://2.bp.blogspot.com/_89L9ZoBsR08/SiL2U5nagZI/AAAAAAAAFCc/7WLqyQzkIFY/s1600-h/URS.jpg

[4] Image: http://2.bp.blogspot.com/_89L9ZoBsR08/Sx--xCtsbmI/AAAAAAAAGsw/ecWu8Xci6m4/s1600-h/2009+December+183.jpg

[5] Image: http://3.bp.blogspot.com/_89L9ZoBsR08/Sx--mrt_n5I/AAAAAAAAGso/lfGQX4RvmKk/s1600-h/2009+December+175.jpg

[6] Campbells/V-8 Fusion Giveaway: http://www.lifeasmom.com/2009/12/campbells-kids-soups-and-v-8-fusion.html

[7] Kitchen Stewardship (Cream of Potato/Vegetable Soup): http://www.kitchenstewardship.com/2009/10/27/my-first-roux-and-a-cream-of-potato-soup-recipe/

[8] Ann Marie @ Household6Diva (Continental Chicken Casserole): http://www.household6diva.com/2009/12/continental-chicken-casserole.html

[9] Swappin’ Spoons – MAC and CHEESE SOUP (quick and easy): http://swappinspoons.blogspot.com/2009/09/mac-n-cheese-soup.html

[10] A Busy Mom of Two (Cheeseburger Pizza): http://abusymomoftwo.blogspot.com/2009/12/cheeseburger-pizza.html

[11] Money Saving Maine-iac, Butter Bean Chowder: http://www.moneysavingmaineac.com/2009/11/around-honeyoon-table-butter-bean.html

[12] Tara @ Feels like home (cajun style beans & rice): http://www.feelslikehomeblog.com/2009/12/cajun-style-red-beans-and-rice/

[13] Joy in My Kitchen (Pot Pie): http://joyinmykitchen.blogspot.com/2009/09/chicken-pot-pie.html

[14] Fancy Frugalista (My Mom’s Sugar Cookies): http://buyonsaleandsavethedifference.blogspot.com/2009/12/hammys-sugar-cookies.html

[15] Rachel: http://4kowboys.blogspot.com/2008/07/71808-breakfast-for-supper.html

[16] ElizabethG (Quick Skillet Meal): http://amoderngal.com/2009/11/23/ham-and-cabbage-skillet/

[17] Melissa @ Mom’s Plans (BBQ Smoked Sausage & Lima Beans): http://momsplans.blogspot.com/2009/06/feed-family-of-4-for-4-barbecued-smoked.html

[18] Family Balance Sheet (Chunky Potato & Leek Soup): http://www.familybalancesheet.org/2009/12/chunky-potato-leek-soup.html

[19] Leaving Excess (Sausage, Beans & Rice): http://www.leavingexcess.com/2009/12/sausage-beans-rice.html

[20] MasonDixonMagnolia (“Leftovers” Hearty Ranch Beans): http://masondixonmagnolia.blogspot.com/2009/12/great-cold-weather-use-for-leftovers.html

[21] Lynns Kit Adv(easy rice dinner): http://www.lynnskitchenadventures.com/2009/12/quick-and-easy-beef-and-rice.html

[22] Hannah @ Mulberry Spot (Easy Rice & Beans): http://mulberryspot.blogspot.com/2008/10/busy-mamas-rice-and-beans.html

[23] Sarah (My Kind of Meal!): http://www.islandmomsarah.wordpress.com

[24] Sarah (My Kind of Meal!): http://islandmomsarah.wordpress.com/2009/05/20/my-kind-of-meal/

[25] Cheesy Chicken Soup (Homemaker’s Cottage): http://homemakerscottage.blogspot.com/2009/12/quick-winter-time-favorite-cheesy.html

[26] Marsha @ Taste and See (Cheeseburger Rice): http://tasteandseegodsgoodness.blogspot.com/2009/11/beefits-whats-for-dinner.html

[27] LovePeaceandSaving~SPICEY CHICKEN STEW. HMMMM…..: http://lovepeaceandsaving.blogspot.com/2009/12/spicey-chicken-stew.html

[28] LovePeaceandSaving~THE EASIEST SOUP EVER. TACO SOUP: http://lovepeaceandsaving.blogspot.com/2009/10/taco-soup.html

[29] Amy @ Raising Arrows (WINTER SOUP): http://raising-arrows.blogspot.com/2009/11/winter-soup.html

[30] Sara (Mexi-Mac Skillet): http://journeytojoyfulness.blogspot.com/2009/12/mexi-mac-skillet.html

[31] Favorites and Things- Thai Peanut Noodle: http://favoritesandthings.blogspot.com/2009/12/delicious-thai-peanut-noodle.html

[32] The Prudent Homemaker (Minestrone Soup): http://theprudenthomemaker.com/minestronesoup.aspx

[33] The Prudent Homemaker (Meatless Chicken Fried Steak): http://theprudenthomemaker.com/mockchickenfriedsteak.aspx

[34] Amy-Cutting Coupons in KC (Easy Crockpot Sunday Roast): http://cuttingcouponsinkc.blogspot.com/2009/12/ultimate-recipe-swap-easy-sunday-roast.html

[35] Lucky @ Making My Own Luck — Hamburger Steak With Peppers and Onions: http://cookingluck.blogspot.com/2009/11/make-ahead-hamburger-steak-with-peppers.html

[36] Hallee the Homemaker – Kentucky Kreamed Turkey: http://www.halleethehomemaker.com/2009/11/kentucky-kreamed-turkey/

[37] Janine (Chicken & Black Bean Tortilla Soup): http://cheapcookinmama.blogspot.com/2009/12/chicken-black-bean-tortilla-soup.html

[38] Mary Jo @ Covenant Homemaking: http://covenanthomemaking.blogspot.com/2009/12/yummy-winter-dinner-white-chili.html

[39] Karen @ MuffinFixation [Hamburger Gravy]: http://muffinfixation.blogspot.com/2009/12/almost-like-moms-hamburger-gravy.html

[40] Jenny @ The Zepf Life (Laundry detergent): http://thezepflife.blogspot.com/2009/12/homemade-laundry-detergent.html

[41] Melodie (Cocoa, Sundae Sauce, Chocolate Pecan, Cranberry Clusters): http://www.breastfeedingmomsunite.com/2009/12/easy-handmade-gifts-chocolate-lovers-sampler/

[42] Becca at Lovely In Pink (chicken enchilda soup): http://lovelyinpinkbecca.blogspot.com/2009/12/ultimate-recipe-swap-thursday-quick-fix.html

[43] Miss Q’s Southern Green Beans: http://missq.wordpress.com/2009/12/10/table-for-one-southern-green-beans/

[44] Holly @ A Mommy’s Blessings (chunky cheese soup): http://mommysblessings.blogspot.com/2009/12/chunky-cheese-soup.html

[45] angie @ annies velvetta cheesy pasta dinner: http://shopannies.blogspot.com/2009/12/velveeta-cheesy-pasta-casserole.html

[46] Newlyweds (Friendship Casserole): http://www.newlyweds-blog.com/2009/12/08/friendship-casserole/

[47] Crockpot White Chili – delicious!: http://www.thedomesticcontessa.com/around-the-house/from-the-kitchen/quick-and-easy-freezer-meal/

[48] Jimi @ What’s Cooking (pepperoni cheese tortellini): http://sharingrecipes.blogspot.com/2009/12/pepperoni-cheese-tortellini.html

[49] Adventure Mom Janna- Chicken Spinach Calzones: http://theadventureofmotherhood.blogspot.com/2009/12/chicken-spinach-calzones.html

[50] The Local Cook (Potato Soup): http://thelocalcook.com/2009/12/10/potato-soup/

[51] Bringing Basics Back (Strawberries’n'cream oatmeal -VS- Quaker’s version!): http://bringingbasicsback.blogspot.com/2009/12/homemade-strawberries-n-cream-oatmeal.html

[52] Candi @ Family stamping food (Easy Chicken & Rice Soup): http://familystampingfood.blogspot.com/2009/10/recipe-chicken-and-rice-soup.html

[53] Casie @ Saving and Sharing – Buffalo Chicken: http://savingandsharing.blogspot.com/2009/12/ultimate-recipe-swap-buffalo-chicken.html

[54] Charlene (Sausage cooked 5 ways): http://www.secretsofasouthernkitchen.com/2009/12/bryan-foods-review-and-giveaway.html

[55] Amanda @ Coping with Frugality(Calamari with Tomatoes and Capers over Quinoa): http://copingwithfrugality.blogspot.com/2009/12/calamari-with-tomatoes-and-capers-over.html

[56] Twila Broccoli soup and Italian bread wedges): http://ilovecooking.xanga.com/580127925/recipe-of-the-week/

[57] Amber: Healthier Cheeseburger Soup: http://simoneysavers.com/2009/12/11/healthier-cheeseburger-soup/

[58] Leftovers On Purpose (Quick Bread): http://leftoversonpurpose.blogspot.com/2009/12/quick-bread.html

[59] Kristen@ Hope Abound: Chicken & Noodles: http://hopeabound.blogspot.com/2009/12/things-i-love-thursdaytwo-things-at.html

[60] Mister Linky’s Magical Widgets: http://www.blenza.com/linkies/

Copyright © 2011 Life As Mom. All rights reserved.