- Life As Mom - http://lifeasmom.com -

Heart Shaped Brownies (Ultimate Recipe Swap: Valentine’s Day)

Posted By Jessica Fisher On February 10, 2010 @ 8:04 pm In Desserts,Good Eats,Recipes,URS,Valentine's Day,Valentine's Day | 34 Comments

Ultimate Recipe Swap [3]

I have fond memories of Valentine’s Day as a child. My mother, whose “love language” is most definitely gifts and words of encouragement, always had a little something special for us to open. Recently, I came across a box full of gold heart charms, a collection that she began for me many years ago. What a wonderful heritage she passed on to me.

Since I’m too stingy  frugal for gifts to be my “love language,” I choose to show my affection through food. So, when I saw these Conversation Heart Brownies [4] from Duncan Hines, I was inspired to make heart-shaped brownies for my peeps.

[5]

With FishBoy5′s help, I whipped up a batch of Cocoa Brownies [6] and baked them in a parchment-lined, 9×13 pan, instead of the regular 8-inch square. I baked them for 20 minutes instead of the prescribed 25-30. Using a larger pan made the brownies thinner and gave me a larger surface area to work with for cutting. Baking them on parchment paper allowed me to remove the brownies from the pan more easily and to cool them on a rack quickly. Once they cooled, I simply cut them out with a cookie cutter. And there were quite a few trimmings to, um, dispose of. No problem there!

Brownies are simple enough to make, but putting a little more effort into their shape made them just a little cuter and certainly fanciful. Easy peasy. Gild the lily by sprinkling with powdered sugar or frosting them the way Duncan Hines does [4].

What do you do to make Valentine’s Day a little sweeter?

Share your recipe in the comments or by linking up below. Please submit only Valentine’s-themed recipes and ideas.

Five participants will each win a free product coupon from Duncan Hines [7].

Giveaway is open until Sunday night at 8 pm, PST. Winners to be chosen at random. Please leave contact info in your comment so I can find you if you win. This giveaway is now closed.

1. Sherry @ Lamp Unto My Feet (Sweetheart Jamwiches) [8]
2. Food with Kid Appeal (Apple Volcanoes- Love eruption) [9]
3. Mary Jo @ Covenant Homemaking (BEST chocolate cake!) [10]
4. Kingdom First Mom (Homemade Yogurt) [11]
5. TheFrugalGirls.com {Easy Cake Truffles ~ also called Valentine Bombs!!} [12]
6. HoosierHomemade{Raspberry Whoopie Pies} [13]
7. Gospel Homemaking (Love in a Cup) [14]
8. Amy-Cutting Coupons in KC (Homemade Chocolate Buttercreams) [15]
9. Alison @ Hospitality Haven (Middle Eastern Meal) [16]
10. Colie’s Kitchen (Turtle Brownies) [17]
11. The Coupon Basics- Valentines Breakfast [18]
12. Good & Cheap Eats – Breakfast Cookies [19]
13. 24/7 MOMS 7 Sweets and Treats For Valentines Day [20]
14. 24/7 MOMS Lunch TIme Fun on Valentines Day [21]
15. 24/7 MOMS Breakfast Full Of Hearts [22]
16. Kitchen Stewardship (Heart-Shaped Healthy Fruit Pizza) [23]
17. A Heart for Home: Gourmet Drizzle Popcorn ~ A Valentine’s Treat [24]
18. Lisette (Cake Balls) [25]
19. Susie’s Homemade [26]
20. A Busy Mom of Two (Heart Shaped Finger Jello) [27]
21. Nancy @ 3BlondesandtheLaw (spinach orzo salad) [28]
22. TidyMom (Chocolate Puffcorn=LOVE} [29]
23. TidyMom (Sweetheart Cherry Cake} [30]
24. Miss Organics Kitchen (Valentine Napoleans) [31]
25. Melissa @ Mom’s Plans (Valentine’s Cake) [32]
26. Kelly Morris revives Dump Cake [33]
27. Newlyweds (Cherry Mini Cakes) [34]
28. LovePeaceandSaving~OREO BALLS [35]
29. A Romantic Dinner – Grilled Lime Chicken w/ Mango Red Pepper Salsa [36]
30. Tess @ Kipfl and Fudge (Candy Cane heart FAIL) [37]
31. Mama Bird’s Nest {Lollipops} [38]
32. Kim- Brownie Kiss Cupcakes [39]
33. Lynns Kit Adv (choc desserts) [40]
34. The King’s Missus (2 Homemade Pizza Tips) [41]
35. Lindsey (Valentine Fun#1) [42]
36. Lindsey (Valentine Fun #2) [43]
37. Rena (cut-out cookies) [44]
38. goodLife {eats} Valentine’s Day Cut Out Cookies [45]
39. goodLife {eats} Cherry Chocolate Pudding [46]
40. Cherry Chocolate Pudding [46]
41. Brandy [47]
42. annies home – valentine treats for the family to make together [48]
43. The Prudent Homemaker ~ Shortbread Heart Sandwich Cookies [49]
44. Our Life as a Military Family – Crockpot Chocolate Cake [50]
45. Swappin’ Spoons -(Valentine’s Day Dessert – Angel Lush) [51]
46. Rachel @ Frugal & Simple Living (Dark Chocolate Brownies!) [52]
47. Homemaker’s Cottage- Valentine Sweeties [53]
48. Recipes for Moms – Heart Spritz Cookies [54]
49. Meg’s Cooking Corner (Pesto Pizza at home) [55]
50. Homemade Vanilla Ice Cream WITHOUT the Machine! [56]
51. MomReviewTB-Heart Shaped Fruit Pizza [57]
52. Mary @ Passionate Perseverance [58]
53. Jami @ An Oregon Cottage (hubs new favorite meal) [59]
54. Tara @ Feels Like Home (heart-shaped banana pancakes) [60]
55. live once juicy (carrot marmalade and a giveaway) [61]
56. Julie @ Chocolate and Motherhood (Heart Pancakes and V-day Fun!) [62]
57. Nikki (whole family Valentine’s day) [63]
58. Leftovers On Purpose (Broccoli-Ramen Salad) [64]
59. Thrifty Tips From Tiff ( Vlog about homemade V-Day gifts!) [65]
60. For the Love of Naps – Valentine’s day breakfast [66]
61. The Little Brown House – Death by Chocolate [67]
62. Michelle @ Navigating Domesticity- Cut Out Cookie Advice [68]
63. Finding Joy in My Kitchen (Dark Chocolate Cherry Bark) [69]
64. Katie @ The Cutting Back Kitchen – Valentine’s Day Packaging [70]
65. Crispy Waffles [71]
66. White Chocolate peppermint popcorn- Coupon Cutting Diva [72]
67. Lisa @ SimplyThingsFamily [73]
68. My Heart My Home (Chocolate Covered Cherries) [74]
69. Simply Sweet Home (Valentine Dessert Roundup) [75]
70. The King’s Missus (Slacker Fudge) [76]
71. Anjanette @ Eat From Your Pantry (truffles and muffins) [77]
72. Julie Anne – mom2priceboys makes shortbread [78]

Powered by… Mister Linky’s Magical Widgets [79].


Article printed from Life As Mom: http://lifeasmom.com

URL to article: http://lifeasmom.com/2010/02/ultimate-recipe-swap-valentines-day-treats-and-a-giveaway.html

URLs in this post:

[1] RSS feed: http://feeds.feedburner.com/lifeasmom/oGdA

[2] free updates via email: http://feedburner.google.com/fb/a/mailverify?uri=lifeasmom/oGdA

[3] Image: http://lifeasmom.com/2010/01/vegetables-for-a-healthier-you-an-ultimate-recipe-swap.html/urs

[4] Conversation Heart Brownies: http://www.duncanhines.com/recipes/brownies/dh/conversation-heart-brownies

[5] Image: http://lifeasmom.com/2010/02/ultimate-recipe-swap-valentines-day-treats-and-a-giveaway.html/small-heart-brownies

[6] Cocoa Brownies: http://www.goodcheapeats.com/2009/12/cocoa-brownies.html

[7] Duncan Hines: http://duncanhines.com

[8] Sherry @ Lamp Unto My Feet (Sweetheart Jamwiches): http://lampuntomyfeetandalightuntomypath.blogspot.com/2010/02/sweetheart-jamwiches.html

[9] Food with Kid Appeal (Apple Volcanoes- Love eruption): http://foodwithkidappeal.blogspot.com/2010/02/apple-volcanoes-healthy-valentines-day.html

[10] Mary Jo @ Covenant Homemaking (BEST chocolate cake!): http://www.covenanthomemaking.com/2010/02/decadent-chocolate-cake-with-chocolate.html

[11] Kingdom First Mom (Homemade Yogurt): http://kingdomfirstmom.com/2010/02/easy-homemade-yogurt-on-the-stove.html

[12] TheFrugalGirls.com {Easy Cake Truffles ~ also called Valentine Bombs!!}: http://www.thefrugalgirls.com/2010/02/easy-cake-truffles-recipe-valentine-bombs.html

[13] HoosierHomemade{Raspberry Whoopie Pies}: http://hoosierhomemade.com/raspberry-whoopie-pies/

[14] Gospel Homemaking (Love in a Cup): http://wp.me/pKbuB-8T

[15] Amy-Cutting Coupons in KC (Homemade Chocolate Buttercreams): http://cuttingcouponsinkc.blogspot.com/2010/02/homemade-chocolate-buttercreams.html

[16] Alison @ Hospitality Haven (Middle Eastern Meal): http://alison.blogsome.com/2010/02/10/middle-eastern-meal/

[17] Colie’s Kitchen (Turtle Brownies): http://www.colieskitchen.com/2010/02/john-davidson-turtle-brownies.html

[18] The Coupon Basics- Valentines Breakfast: http://thecouponbasics.blogspot.com/2010/02/valentines-day-tradition.html

[19] Good & Cheap Eats – Breakfast Cookies: http://www.goodcheapeats.com/2010/02/breakfast-cookies.html

[20] 24/7 MOMS 7 Sweets and Treats For Valentines Day: http://247moms.blogspot.com/2010/01/7-simple-valentine-sweets-and-treats.html

[21] 24/7 MOMS Lunch TIme Fun on Valentines Day: http://247moms.blogspot.com/2010/01/valentines-lunch-time-fun.html

[22] 24/7 MOMS Breakfast Full Of Hearts: http://247moms.blogspot.com/2010/01/breakfast-full-of-hearts-this.html

[23] Kitchen Stewardship (Heart-Shaped Healthy Fruit Pizza): http://www.kitchenstewardship.com/2009/07/28/recipe-connection-a-healthy-and-tasty-version-of-fruit-pizza/

[24] A Heart for Home: Gourmet Drizzle Popcorn ~ A Valentine’s Treat: http://a-heart4home.blogspot.com/2010/02/gourmet-drizzle-popcorn-valentines-day.html

[25] Lisette (Cake Balls): http://buyonsaleandsavethedifference.blogspot.com/2010/01/sugar-coma-cake-balls.html

[26] Susie’s Homemade: http://susieshomemade.blogspot.com/2010/02/friday-foto-fun-with-valentines-cookies.html

[27] A Busy Mom of Two (Heart Shaped Finger Jello): http://abusymomoftwo.blogspot.com/2010/02/valentines-day-treats.html

[28] Nancy @ 3BlondesandtheLaw (spinach orzo salad): http://3blondesandthelaw.blogspot.com/2010/02/spinach-and-orzo-salad.html

[29] TidyMom (Chocolate Puffcorn=LOVE}: http://www.tidymom.net/2010/02/puffcorn-and-chocolate-love.html

[30] TidyMom (Sweetheart Cherry Cake}: http://www.tidymom.net/2010/01/sweetheart-cherry-cake-and-giveaway.html

[31] Miss Organics Kitchen (Valentine Napoleans): http://missorganicskitchen.blogspot.com/2010/02/special-valentine-treat.html

[32] Melissa @ Mom’s Plans (Valentine’s Cake): http://momsplans.blogspot.com/2010/02/frugal-valentines-day.html

[33] Kelly Morris revives Dump Cake: http://www.themorristribe.net/2010/02/old-favorite-still-hit-with-tribe.html

[34] Newlyweds (Cherry Mini Cakes): http://www.newlyweds-blog.com/2010/02/09/cherry-mini-cakes/

[35] LovePeaceandSaving~OREO BALLS: http://lovepeaceandsaving.blogspot.com/2010/02/oreo-balls.html

[36] A Romantic Dinner – Grilled Lime Chicken w/ Mango Red Pepper Salsa: http://www.familybalancesheet.org/2010/02/grilled-lime-chicken-with-mango-red.html

[37] Tess @ Kipfl and Fudge (Candy Cane heart FAIL): http://kipflandfudge.blogspot.com/2010/02/candy-cane-heart-fail.html

[38] Mama Bird’s Nest {Lollipops}: http://www.mamabirdnest.com/2010/02/valentines-suckers.html

[39] Kim- Brownie Kiss Cupcakes: http://www.adventuresofastayathomemom.com/2009/10/cupcake-tuesday-brownie-kiss-cupcakes.html

[40] Lynns Kit Adv (choc desserts): http://www.lynnskitchenadventures.com/2010/02/valentines-day-and-chocolate-dessert.html

[41] The King’s Missus (2 Homemade Pizza Tips): http://thekingsmissus.blogspot.com/2010/02/two-pizza-tips.html

[42] Lindsey (Valentine Fun#1): http://thekingsmissus.blogspot.com/2008/02/valentine-fun-1.html

[43] Lindsey (Valentine Fun #2): http://thekingsmissus.blogspot.com/2008/02/valentine-fun.html

[44] Rena (cut-out cookies): http://elderjr2.blogspot.com/2010/02/valentines-day-cookies.html

[45] goodLife {eats} Valentine’s Day Cut Out Cookies: http://blog.craftzine.com/archive/2010/02/valentines_day_vanilla_cut-out.html

[46] goodLife {eats} Cherry Chocolate Pudding: http://www.pauladeen.com/index.php/food_section_articles/view2/double_layer_cherry_chocolate_pudding_for_the_whole_family/

[47] Brandy: http://omahacouponclipper.blogspot.com/

[48] annies home – valentine treats for the family to make together: http://shopannies.blogspot.com/2010/02/valentine-treats-for-family-to-make.html

[49] The Prudent Homemaker ~ Shortbread Heart Sandwich Cookies: http://theprudenthomemaker.com/shortbreadheartsandwichcookies.aspx

[50] Our Life as a Military Family – Crockpot Chocolate Cake: http://marineswife.wordpress.com/2010/02/11/crockpot-chocolate-chip-cake/

[51] Swappin’ Spoons -(Valentine’s Day Dessert – Angel Lush) : http://swappinspoons.blogspot.com/2010/02/valentines-day-dessert-angel-lush.html

[52] Rachel @ Frugal & Simple Living (Dark Chocolate Brownies!): http://frugalandsimple.com/2010/02/09/dark-chocolate-brownies/

[53] Homemaker’s Cottage- Valentine Sweeties: http://homemakerscottage.blogspot.com/2010/02/valentine-sweeties.html

[54] Recipes for Moms – Heart Spritz Cookies: http://www.recipesformoms.com/2008/12/spritz-cookies.html

[55] Meg’s Cooking Corner (Pesto Pizza at home): http://megscookingcorner.blogspot.com/2010/02/pesto-pizza.html

[56] Homemade Vanilla Ice Cream WITHOUT the Machine!: http://familystampingfood.blogspot.com/2010/02/recipe-homemade-ice-cream-without.html

[57] MomReviewTB-Heart Shaped Fruit Pizza: http://www.momreviewtb.com/index.php/category/ultimate-recipe-swap-thursday/

[58] Mary @ Passionate Perseverance: http://passionateperseverance.blogspot.com/2010/02/barefoot-bloggers-coconut-cupcakes.html

[59] Jami @ An Oregon Cottage (hubs new favorite meal): http://www.anoregoncottage.com/2010/02/spicy-beef-tomato-and-corn-stew.html

[60] Tara @ Feels Like Home (heart-shaped banana pancakes): http://www.feelslikehomeblog.com/2010/02/heart-shaped-banana-pancakes-with-chocolate-chips-and-peanut-butter/

[61] live once juicy (carrot marmalade and a giveaway): http://liveoncejuicy.wordpress.com/2010/02/07/seasonal-cooki…rrot-marmalade/

[62] Julie @ Chocolate and Motherhood (Heart Pancakes and V-day Fun!): http://chocolateandmotherhood.blogspot.com/2010/02/valentine-school-fun.html

[63] Nikki (whole family Valentine’s day): http://nikkianddanny.blogspot.com/2010/02/valentines-day-for-tightwad.html

[64] Leftovers On Purpose (Broccoli-Ramen Salad): http://leftoversonpurpose.blogspot.com/2010/02/broccoli-ramen-salad.html

[65] Thrifty Tips From Tiff ( Vlog about homemade V-Day gifts!): http://thriftytipsfromtiff.blogspot.com/2010/02/thrifty-valentines-day-ideas.html

[66] For the Love of Naps – Valentine’s day breakfast: http://fortheloveofnaps.blogspot.com/2010/02/breakfast-love.html

[67] The Little Brown House – Death by Chocolate: http://thelittlebrownhouse.us/2010/02/08/tasty-tuesday-death-by-chocolate/

[68] Michelle @ Navigating Domesticity- Cut Out Cookie Advice: http://navigatingdomesticity.blogspot.com/2010/02/decorated-cutout-cookies-part-i-cookie.html

[69] Finding Joy in My Kitchen (Dark Chocolate Cherry Bark): http://joyinmykitchen.blogspot.com/2009/12/chocolate-cherry-bark.html

[70] Katie @ The Cutting Back Kitchen – Valentine’s Day Packaging: http://cuttingbackkitchen.blogspot.com/2010/02/frugal-valentines-container.html

[71] Crispy Waffles: http://www.savingabundle.com/2010/02/crispy-waffles.html

[72] White Chocolate peppermint popcorn- Coupon Cutting Diva: http://www.couponcuttingdiva.com/?p=251

[73] Lisa @ SimplyThingsFamily: http://simplythingsfamily.blogspot.com/2010/02/weekend-family-activities-valentines.html

[74] My Heart My Home (Chocolate Covered Cherries): http://paulasponderings.typepad.com/paulas-ponderings/2010/02/valentines-day-treat.html

[75] Simply Sweet Home (Valentine Dessert Roundup): http://simplysweethome.blogspot.com/2010/02/sweet-thursday-valentines-edition.html

[76] The King’s Missus (Slacker Fudge): http://thekingsmissus.blogspot.com/2010/02/slacker-fudge.html

[77] Anjanette @ Eat From Your Pantry (truffles and muffins): http://eatfromyourpantry.blogspot.com/2010/02/my-favorite-valentine.html

[78] Julie Anne – mom2priceboys makes shortbread: http://mom2priceboys.blogspot.com/2010/02/shortbread-cookies.html

[79] Mister Linky’s Magical Widgets: http://www.blenza.com/linkies/

Copyright © 2011 Life As Mom. All rights reserved.