- Life As Mom - http://lifeasmom.com -

California on a Budget

Posted By Jessica Fisher On May 15, 2010 @ 11:21 am In Budget Living,CA on a Budget | 10 Comments

[3]

Two years FishPapa and I decided to go for the gusto and make the big move back [4] to our homestate of California. We had lived in the Midwest for five years and while there were many wonderful things about life in Middle America, our hearts longed for the West and to be closer to family. So, despite the odds, we moved to California, five years older and three kids richer than when we had left.

While “California or Bust” was NOT our motto, we knew that we would have to be pretty careful in order to live in the Golden State on one income. It’s been an amazing adventure. One we feel very blessed to have been able to travel.

I realize that California life may not be for everyone. I get that. For many, “it’s a nice place, but you wouldn’t want to live here.” I totally understand that.

Besides, there isn’t room for us all to live here.

But, I do get questions on a weekly basis from readers who for one reason or another are relocating, or even vacationing in California and wonder about how to live or travel on a budget within the Golden State. It can be done! We feed, clothe, and house 8 people on one income of about 60K per year.

Posts in the Series

Get Outside [5]

The Santa Barbara Maritime Museum [6]

Disneyland on a Dime [7]

Find a Family Style Restaurant [8]

Have a Fun & Frugal Day at the Fair [9]

Another West Coast Perspective [10]

How to Vacation with Children without Losing Your Mind [11]

Grocery Shopping Basics [12]

Learning is Everywhere: The San Diego Zoo & a Panda Adventure [13]

Visiting the Monterey Bay Aquarium [14]

Saving Money on Food in Southern California [15]

A Visit to the San Diego Wild Animal Park [16]

The California on a Budget series is designed to address any questions you might have. I’ve received many already, but I thought I’d give you a chance to ask some more. Feel free to email me your question (lifeasmom at sbcglobal dot net) or simply submit it in this form [17]. If you are a writer or blogger and would like to write a California-themed guest post, you can submit your contact in this form as well.

Disclaimer: Neither the California Board of Tourism nor the California Realtors’ Association have ever heard of me. I freely offer up my opinions regarding life in the Golden State. I represent the experiences of one family who has lived in four different California counties. My opinion is just that — my opinion. Feel free to disagree. Your mileage may vary.


Article printed from Life As Mom: http://lifeasmom.com

URL to article: http://lifeasmom.com/2010/05/california-on-a-budget.html

URLs in this post:

[1] RSS feed: http://feeds.feedburner.com/lifeasmom/oGdA

[2] free updates via email: http://feedburner.google.com/fb/a/mailverify?uri=lifeasmom/oGdA

[3] Image: http://lifeasmom.com/2010/05/california-on-a-budget.html/california_budget2

[4] go for the gusto and make the big move back: http://lifeasmom.com/2008/09/either-speed-up-or-slam-on-brakes.html

[5] Get Outside: http://lifeasmom.com/2010/06/california-on-a-budget-get-outside.html

[6] The Santa Barbara Maritime Museum: http://lifeasmom.com/2010/03/the-santa-barbara-maritime-museum.html

[7] Disneyland on a Dime: http://lifeasmom.com/2010/06/disneyland-on-a-dime.html

[8] Find a Family Style Restaurant: http://lifeasmom.com/2010/06/california-on-a-budget-find-a-family-style-restaurant.html

[9] Have a Fun & Frugal Day at the Fair: http://lifeasmom.com/2010/06/california-on-a-budget-have-a-fun-and-frugal-day-at-the-fair.html

[10] Another West Coast Perspective: http://lifeasmom.com/2010/09/california-on-a-budget-another-west-coast-perspective.html

[11] How to Vacation with Children without Losing Your Mind: http://lifeasmom.com/2010/10/how-to-vacation-with-children-without-losing-your-mind.html

[12] Grocery Shopping Basics: http://lifeasmom.com/2010/11/california-on-a-budget-grocery-shopping.html

[13] Learning is Everywhere: The San Diego Zoo & a Panda Adventure: http://lifeasmom.com/2010/08/learning-is-everywhere-the-san-diego-zoo-a-panda-adventure.html

[14] Visiting the Monterey Bay Aquarium: http://lifeasmom.com/2010/09/visiting-the-monterey-bay-aquarium.html

[15] Saving Money on Food in Southern California: http://lifeasmom.com/2011/04/saving-money-on-food-in-southern-california.html

[16] A Visit to the San Diego Wild Animal Park: http://lifeasmom.com/2011/05/a-visit-to-the-san-diego-zoo-safari-park.html

[17] this form: https://spreadsheets.google.com/viewform?hl=en&formkey=dEEzT0VubS03aXlENldMLUltU0l0OGc6MQ#gid=0

Copyright © 2011 Life As Mom. All rights reserved.