- Life As Mom - http://lifeasmom.com -

Enjoy Pancakes Anytime!

Posted By Jessica Fisher On February 28, 2011 @ 12:00 pm In Good Eats | 13 Comments

[4]

I mentioned earlier that we are getting great practice at quick fix dinners around here. And one that I can usually pull off in a pinch are pancakes. I’ve been testing a few different pancake recipes lately. I’m wondering how many mornings in a row my kids will willingly eat chocolate chip pancakes as I work to get the recipe “just perfect.”

Next week is Mardi Gras, or Shrove Tuesday as it is also called. The church I grew up in always hosted a pancakes supper on Shrove Tuesday, but I had no idea why pancakes were associated with that day until a few years ago when I was researching Easter traditions for a magazine article.

Come to find out, in the middle ages, eggs and butter were foods to abstain from eating during Lent. So, on Mardi Gras, or Fat Tuesday, you’d use up your stores of rich fats. A good food to do that with are pancakes. Just picture those buttery, rich hot cakes.

Amen to that!

Not only are pancakes “tradition” at least once a year, but they are also very kid-friendly. I don’t think I’ve ever met anyone — young or old — who didn’t love pancakes.

Pancakes make a perfect breakfast, lunch, or dinner.

[5]

Here is a delicious round up of pancakes ideas, recipes, toppings, and more. Get flipping and enjoy a short stack with someone you love.

Serving Suggestions

Keys to a Successful Pancake Breakfast or Dinner [6]

Host a PJ Pancake Breakfast Bash [7]

Basic Pancake Recipes

Basic Bulk Batch Pancakes [8]

Easy Buttermilk Pancakes [9]

Swedish Pancakes [10]

Buckwheat, Cornmeal, and Whole Wheat Pancakes [11]

Healthy Pancakes

Whole Wheat Oatmeal Pancakes [12]

Multi-Grain Pancakes with Blueberries [13]

5-Grain Pancakes with Flax [14]

[15]

Fruity and Fancy Pancakes

Pancakes with Apples and Whipped Maple Butter [15]

Sour Cream Blueberry Pancakes [16]

Baked Apple Gingerbread Pancakes [17]

Cocoa Banana Pancakes [18]

Gingerbread Pancakes [19]

Lazy Sourdough Apple Pancakes [20]

Gluten-Free Pancakes

Gluten-Free Overnight Pancakes [21]

GF Pancakes [22]

Buckwheat Pancakes [23]

Topping It Off

5 Simple Homemade Pancake Syrups [24]

Apple Cider Syrup [25]

Strawberry Topping [26]

Got a great pancake tradition or recipe?

We’d love to hear it! Share it in the comments.


Article printed from Life As Mom: http://lifeasmom.com

URL to article: http://lifeasmom.com/2011/02/pancake-recipes-and-serving-suggestions.html

URLs in this post:

[1] RSS feed: http://feeds.feedburner.com/lifeasmom/oGdA

[2] free updates via email: http://feedburner.google.com/fb/a/mailverify?uri=lifeasmom/oGdA

[3] my free seasonal newsletter: http://eepurl.com/q47Vb

[4] Image: http://lifeasmom.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/05/Strawberry-Pancakes.jpg

[5] Image: http://lifeasmom.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/01/Blog-944.jpg

[6] Keys to a Successful Pancake Breakfast or Dinner: http://lifeasmom.com/2010/01/pancake-breakfast-or-dinner.html

[7] Host a PJ Pancake Breakfast Bash: http://www.momstoolbox.com/blog/2008/06/22/pj-pancake-breakfast-bash/

[8] Basic Bulk Batch Pancakes: http://goodcheapeats.com/2010/01/pancakes-easy-pantry-staple/

[9] Easy Buttermilk Pancakes: http://beautyandbedlam.com/easy-buttermilk-pancakes/

[10] Swedish Pancakes: http://beautyandbedlam.com/swedish-pancakes-tasty-tuesday/

[11] Buckwheat, Cornmeal, and Whole Wheat Pancakes: http://www.simplebites.net/three-favorite-pancake-recipes-buckwheat-cornmeal-whole-wheat/

[12] Whole Wheat Oatmeal Pancakes: http://thehappyhousewife.com/cooking/whole-wheat-oatmeal-pancakes/

[13] Multi-Grain Pancakes with Blueberries: http://goodcheapeats.com/2009/11/multi-grain-blueberry-pancakes/

[14] 5-Grain Pancakes with Flax: http://goodcheapeats.com/2010/03/5-grain-pancakes-with-flax-guest-post/

[15] Image: http://goodcheapeats.com/2010/11/pancakes-with-apples-and-whipped-maple-butter/

[16] Sour Cream Blueberry Pancakes: http://www.lynnskitchenadventures.com/2010/02/sour-cream-blueberry-pancakes.html

[17] Baked Apple Gingerbread Pancakes: http://www.simplebites.net/baking-with-kids-baked-apple-gingerbread-pancake/

[18] Cocoa Banana Pancakes: http://www.simplebites.net/three-easy-recipes-for-a-snow-day/

[19] Gingerbread Pancakes: http://foodformyfamily.com/recipes/gingerbread-pancakes-for-post-christmas-blues

[20] Lazy Sourdough Apple Pancakes: http://www.simplebites.net/sourdough-for-starters-recipe-lazy-sourdough-apple-pancakes/

[21] Gluten-Free Overnight Pancakes: http://lynnskitchenadventures.com/lra/gluten-free-overnight-pancakes/

[22] GF Pancakes: http://glutenfreehomemaker.com/2010/01/gluten-free-pancakes/

[23] Buckwheat Pancakes: http://glutenfreehomemaker.com/2009/04/buckwheat-pancakes/

[24] 5 Simple Homemade Pancake Syrups: http://www.simplebites.net/five-simple-natural-recipes-for-homemade-pancake-syrup/

[25] Apple Cider Syrup: http://www.goodlifeeats.com/2009/07/waffles-with-apple-cider-syrup-and-pecans.html

[26] Strawberry Topping: http://amysfinerthings.com/strawberry-topping

Copyright © 2011 Life As Mom. All rights reserved.