- Life As Mom - http://lifeasmom.com -

Plan a Staycation in YOUR Town

Posted By Jessica Fisher On May 24, 2011 @ 1:51 am In Budget Living,Summertime,Travel | 4 Comments

Yesterday I shared all sorts of great things to see and do in San Diego [4] — on a budget. But, if you don’t live here or haven’t already planned a trip to “America’s Finest City,” you might be interested in planning a staycation somewhere else, like YOUR town.

Don’t forget to read Amy’s tips for planning a great staycation [5] which apply to every locale. Then check out this doozy of a round-up, featuring cities all over the country, with a special thanks to The Happy Housewife [6] and Springs Bargains [7] for compiling it:

New England

Connecticut [8] – Parenting Miracles
Boston, Massachusetts [9] – ‎ Maven of Savin’
Manchester, New Hampshire [10] – Common Sense with Money
Western Maine [11] – Bubblegum and Lollipops

Mid-Atlantic

Erie, Pennsylvania [12] – Growing Kids Ministry
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania [13] – Somewhat Crunchy
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania [14] – Family Balance Sheet
Buffalo/Niagara Falls, New York [15] – Coupons, Deals and More
New Jersey [16] – Oh! Diane

Midwest

Cedar Rapids, Iowa [17] – Indoor Garden Musings
Mansfield, Ohio [18] – Live the Adventure
Cincinnati, Ohio [19] – Savings Lifestyle~Cincinnati
Mount Vernon, Ohio [20] – Living Better One Day at a Time
Dayton, Ohio [21] – Savings Lifestyle~Dayton
Grand Rapids, Michigan [22] – Kitchen Stewardship
Metro Detroit, Michigan [23] – “Cents”able Momma
Oakland County, Michigan [24] – Bargain Shopper Mom
Warren, Michigan [25] – Saving Dollars and Sense
Grand Forks, North Dakota [26] – Frugal Front Porch
Indianapolis, Indiana [27] – Bargain Briana
South Bend, Indiana [28] – Excuse The Mess
Kansas City, Kansas/Missouri [29] – Kansas City Mamas
St. Louis, Missouri [30] – The Pickledpigsfeet
Branson, Missouri [31] – Getting Freedom from Debt
Springfield, Missouri [32] – I Think I Can
Rochester, Minnesota [33] – Everyday Notions
York, Nebraska [34] – Heavenly Homemakers
Omaha, Nebraska [35] – Mom Endeavors
Madison, Wisconsin [36] – Many Little Blessings
Oshkosh, Wisconsin [37] – A Little Bit of This and That
Chicago, Illinois [38] – Chicagoland Homeschool Network
Champaign, Illinois [39] – Chambanamoms
Black Hills, South Dakota [40] – Little House on the Prairie Living

South Central

Checotah, Oklahoma [41] – Blessed With One Income
Tulsa, Oklahoma [42] – Lynn’s Kitchen Adventures
Gadsden, Alabama [43] – Aint Mimi
Dallas, Texas [44] – Funky Faith Girl
Dallas, Texas [45] – Grocery Shop For FREE
East Dallas, Texas [46] – Surviving The Stores
Fort Worth, Texas [47] – Smockity Frocks
Austin, Texas [48] – Stetted
Houston, Texas [49] – Moms Travel Tales
McKinney, Texas [50] – Wisdom Begun
East Texas [51] – The Full Pantry
Murfreesboro, Tennessee [52] – Life in a Barn
Nashville, Tennessee [53] – The Country Chic Cottage
Mobile, Alabama [54] – A Penny Saved is a Penny Earned
Birmingham, Alabama [55] – iGoBOGO
Brunswick & the Golden Isles, Georgia [56] – Teri Lynne Underwood
Alpharetta, Georgia [57] – Cuponeando
Atlanta, Georgia [58] – See Jamie Blog
Augusta, Georgia [59] – Hyperactive Lu
Athens, Georgia [60] and Mississippi [61] – Tractors and Tire Swings
Little Rock, Arkansas [62] – It’s Real Life

South Atlantic

Ft. Bragg, North Carolina [63] – Military Wives Saving
Charlotte, North Carolina [64] – The Carolina Clipper
Charleston, South Carolina [65] – The Tween & Me
Greensboro, North Carolina [66] – Mrs. Happy Homemaker
Jacksonville, Florida [67] – Saving The Family Money
Orlando, Florida [68] – Orlando’s Best Deals
Virginia Beach, Virginia [69] – The Singley Fam Blog
Richmond, Virginia [70] – Daily Dwelling
Hampton Roads, Virginia [71] – A Home Made by Kiki
Charlottesville, Virginia [72] – How to Have it All
Blackwater Falls State Park/Davis, West Virginia [73] – Holy Spirit Led Homeschooling
Treasure Coast, Florida [74] – The Cardamom’s Pod
Saint Augustine, Florida [75] – Jypsie Visions
Lake Norman, North Carolina [76] – Stretching Pennies Saving Dollars
Washington, DC [77] – The WiC Project
Baltimore, Maryland [78] – The Happy Housewife
Brunswick & the Golden Isles, Georgia [56], Teri Lynne Underwood

Mountain

Tucson, Arizona [79] – Saving with Pam
Phoenix, Arizona [80] – Mom Endeavors
Albuquerque, New Mexico [81] – The Chou Life
Kalispell, Montana [82] – Our Family Adventures
Salt Lake City, Utah [83] – Just the 2 of Us
Thermopolis, Wyoming [84] – The McDonald Family
Denver, Colorado [85] – Denver Bargains
Colorado Springs, Colorado [86] – Colorado Springs Bargains

Pacific

San Diego, California [87] – Life As Mom
Yosemite National Park, California [88] -Handbook of Nature Study
Seattle, Washington [89] – Queen Bee Coupons & Savings
Whidbey Island, Washington [90] – Manning the Homefront
Olympia, Washington [91] The Coupon Savant
Portland, Oregon [92] – Frugal Living NW
Willamette Valley, Oregon [93] – An Oregon Cottage

Frugal Vacation Tips

Vacation or Stay-cation: Eating without Busting the Budget [94] – Eat at Home


Article printed from Life As Mom: http://lifeasmom.com

URL to article: http://lifeasmom.com/2011/05/plan-a-staycation-in-your-town.html

URLs in this post:

[1] RSS feed: http://feeds.feedburner.com/lifeasmom/oGdA

[2] free updates via email: http://feedburner.google.com/fb/a/mailverify?uri=lifeasmom/oGdA

[3] my free seasonal newsletter: http://eepurl.com/q47Vb

[4] all sorts of great things to see and do in San Diego: http://bit.ly/iMtL6m

[5] planning a great staycation: http://lifeasmom.com/2011/03/planning-a-great-staycation.html

[6] The Happy Housewife: http://thehappyhousewife.com

[7] Springs Bargains: http://springsbargains.com

[8] Connecticut: http://www.parentingmiracles.net/2011/05/year-of-the-staycation-celebrating-connecticut/

[9] Boston, Massachusetts: http://www.mavenofsavin.com/2011/05/staycation-boston-frugal-fun-in-massachusetts.html

[10] Manchester, New Hampshire: http://www.commonsensewithmoney.com/?p=42195

[11] Western Maine: http://bubblegumandlollipops.com/?p=174

[12] Erie, Pennsylvania: http://www.growingkidsministry.com/?p=4563

[13] Gettysburg, Pennsylvania: http://www.crispy-not-crunchy.blogspot.com/2011/05/inexpensive-gettysburg-pa.html

[14] Harrisburg, Pennsylvania: http://www.familybalancesheet.org/2011/05/harrisburg-summer-activities.html

[15] Buffalo/Niagara Falls, New York: http://couponsdealsandmore.com/uncategorized/buffaloniagara-falls-cheap-staycation-ideas

[16] New Jersey: http://www.ohdiane.com/free-and-almost-free-things-to-do-in-new-jersey

[17] Cedar Rapids, Iowa: http://indoorgardenmusings.blogspot.com/2011/05/eastern-iowa-place-to-go.html

[18] Mansfield, Ohio: http://www.thetravelingpraters.com/2011/05/fun-and-inexpensive-staycation-ideas.html

[19] Cincinnati, Ohio: http://savingslifestyle.com/cincinnati/cincinnati-staycation-ideas/

[20] Mount Vernon, Ohio: http://livingbetteronedayatatime.blogspot.com/2011/05/summer-staycation-fun-in-mount-vernon_23.html

[21] Dayton, Ohio: http://savingslifestyle.com/dayton/staycation-ideas-summer-fun-in-dayton/

[22] Grand Rapids, Michigan: http://www.kitchenstewardship.com/2011/05/23/gas-prices-too-high-staycation-fun-ideas-for-grand-rapids-michigan

[23] Metro Detroit, Michigan: http://www.centsablemomma.com/2011/05/staycation-free-and-cheap-things-to-do-in-metro-detroit.html

[24] Oakland County, Michigan: http://www.bargainshoppermom.com/staycation-bargain-fun-in-oakland-county-mi

[25] Warren, Michigan: http://savingdollarsandsense.com/2011/05/23/frugal-summer-staycation.html

[26] Grand Forks, North Dakota: http://www.frugalfrontporch.com/2011/05/grand-forks-family-fun-staycation.html

[27] Indianapolis, Indiana: http://bargainbriana.com/staycation-fun-in-indianapolis

[28] South Bend, Indiana: http://www.excusethemess.net/2011/05/staycation-south-bend.html

[29] Kansas City, Kansas/Missouri: http://www.kansascitymamas.com/2011/05/kansas-city-staycation-ideas

[30] St. Louis, Missouri: http://thepickledpigsfeet.com/2011/05/st-louis-staycation-2011

[31] Branson, Missouri: http://www.gettingfreedom.net/2011/05/branson-staycation-ideas.html

[32] Springfield, Missouri: http://ithinkicansquared.blogspot.com/2011/05/staycation-2011-springfield-missouri.html

[33] Rochester, Minnesota: http://lauriesnotions.blogspot.com/2011/05/stay-cation-fun-things-to-do-around_20.html

[34] York, Nebraska: http://heavenlyhomemakers.com/staycation-in-nebraska

[35] Omaha, Nebraska: http://www.momendeavors.com/2011/05/staycation-enjoying-omaha-on-budget.html

[36] Madison, Wisconsin: http://www.manylittleblessings.com/2011/05/summer-staycation-madison-wisconsin/

[37] Oshkosh, Wisconsin: http://www.alittlebitofthisandthat.com/staycation

[38] Chicago, Illinois: http://chicagolandhomeschoolnetwork.com/field-trips/the-staycation-chicago-style/

[39] Champaign, Illinois: http://www.chambanamoms.com/2011/05/23/staycationchampaignurbana/

[40] Black Hills, South Dakota: http://www.littlehouseliving.com/2011/05/have-a-black-hills-summer-staycation.html

[41] Checotah, Oklahoma: http://blessedwithoneincome.blogspot.com/2011/05/where-69-meets-40.html

[42] Tulsa, Oklahoma: http://wp.me/pymyY-2YH

[43] Gadsden, Alabama: http://aintmimi.blogspot.com/2011/05/staycation-fun-in-gadsden-alabama.html

[44] Dallas, Texas: http://www.funkyfaithgirl.com/2011/05/year-of-the-staycation-dallas-texas.html

[45] Dallas, Texas: http://www.groceryshopforfree.com/2011/05/great-staycation-ideas-for-the-dfw-area/

[46] East Dallas, Texas: http://www.survivingthestores.com/staycation-in-east-dallas.html

[47] Fort Worth, Texas: http://www.smockityfrocks.com/2011/05/dfw-staycation-ideas.html

[48] Austin, Texas: http://www.stetted.com/index.php/2011/05/23/an-austin-staycation/

[49] Houston, Texas: http://momstraveltales.com/houston-staycation

[50] McKinney, Texas: http://wisdombegun.com/2011/05/23/the-year-of-the-staycation-mckinney-tx

[51] East Texas: http://thefullpantry.com/2011/05/23/staycation-fun-in-east-texas/

[52] Murfreesboro, Tennessee: http://www.ladyofthebarn.com/roundabout-murfreesboro

[53] Nashville, Tennessee: http://www.thecountrychiccottage.net/2011/05/nashville-tennessee-staycation-2011

[54] Mobile, Alabama: http://www.pennysaved-pennyearned.com/blog/2011/05/year-of-the-staycation-visit-mobile-alabama/

[55] Birmingham, Alabama: http://www.igobogo.com/Portal/featured-articles/staycationing-in-birmingham/

[56] Brunswick & the Golden Isles, Georgia: http://terilynneu.com/staycation-brunswick-ga

[57] Alpharetta, Georgia: http://www.cuponeando.net/Staycation-gozando-en-Alpharetta

[58] Atlanta, Georgia: http://seejamieblog.com/2011/05/staycation-atlanta/

[59] Augusta, Georgia: http://www.hyperactivelu.com/2011/05/staycation-in-csra.html

[60] Athens, Georgia: http://www.tractorsandtireswings.blogspot.com/2011/05/staycation-athens-ga.html

[61] Mississippi: http://www.tractorsandtireswings.blogspot.com/2011/05/staycation-mississippi.html

[62] Little Rock, Arkansas: http://triciagoyer.blogspot.com/2011/05/staycation-little-rock.html

[63] Ft. Bragg, North Carolina: http://www.militarywivessaving.com/saving-in-the-military/

[64] Charlotte, North Carolina: http://thecarolinaclipper.com/2011/05/staycation-fun-in-charlotte-north-carolina/

[65] Charleston, South Carolina: http://www.thetweenandme.com/2011/05/23/staycation-fun-in-charleston-south-carolina/

[66] Greensboro, North Carolina: http://www.mrshappyhomemaker.com/2011/05/year-of-staycation-greensboro-nc-area.html

[67] Jacksonville, Florida: http://savingthefamilymoney.com/jacksonville-florida-staycation-ideas-cheap-or-free/

[68] Orlando, Florida: http://www.orlandosbestdeals.com/2011/05/inexpensive-things-to-do-in-orlando-year-of-the-staycation/

[69] Virginia Beach, Virginia: http://singleyfam.blogspot.com/search/label/Staycation

[70] Richmond, Virginia: http://dailydwelling.com/staycation-ideas-for-richmond-va

[71] Hampton Roads, Virginia: http://ahomemadebykiki.blogspot.com/2011/05/hampton-roads-staycation.html

[72] Charlottesville, Virginia: http://www.howtohaveitall.net/2011/05/23/staycation-activities-in-charlottesville-virginia/

[73] Blackwater Falls State Park/Davis, West Virginia: http://www.holyspiritledhomeschooling.net/2011/05/blackwater-falls-wild-wonderful-and.html

[74] Treasure Coast, Florida: http://thecardamomspod.com/2011/05/staycation-ideas-for-floridas-treasure-coast/

[75] Saint Augustine, Florida: http://jypsievisions.blogspot.com/2011/05/staycation-saint-augustine-florida.html

[76] Lake Norman, North Carolina: http://stretchingpenniessavingdollars.blogspot.com/2011/05/lake-norman-staycation-fun.html

[77] Washington, DC: http://www.wicproject.com/everything-else/dc-staycation/

[78] Baltimore, Maryland: http://thehappyhousewife.com/frugal-living/staycation-exploring-maryland/

[79] Tucson, Arizona: http://www.savingwithpam.com/2011/05/23/cheap-staycation-fun-in-tucson/

[80] Phoenix, Arizona: http://www.momendeavors.com/2011/05/staycation-enjoying-phoenix-on-budget.html

[81] Albuquerque, New Mexico: http://thechoulife.com/2011/05/23/year-of-the-staycation-albuquerque/

[82] Kalispell, Montana: http://homeschoolblogger.com/martha/?p=783893

[83] Salt Lake City, Utah: http://linzandemma.blogspot.com/2011/05/utah-frugal-fun-staycation-locations.html

[84] Thermopolis, Wyoming: http://themcdonaldfamily-aneesa.blogspot.com/2011/05/in-wyoming-stay-cations-arent-easiest.html

[85] Denver, Colorado: http://denverbargains.com/2011/05/denver-budget-vacation/

[86] Colorado Springs, Colorado: http://springsbargains.com/2011/05/colorado-springs-budget-vacation-cheap-tips/

[87] San Diego, California: http://lifeasmom.com/2011/05/a-san-diego-staycation.html

[88] Yosemite National Park, California: http://handbookofnaturestudy.blogspot.com/2011/05/year-of-staycation-yosemite-national.html

[89] Seattle, Washington: http://queenbeecoupons.com/2011/05/staycation-fun-in-seattle-puget-sound

[90] Whidbey Island, Washington: http://manningthehomefront.com/2011/05/23/staycation-fun-on-whidbey-island-washington/

[91] Olympia, Washington: http://couponsavant.blogspot.com/2011/05/year-of-staycation-2011-olympia-lacey.html

[92] Portland, Oregon: http://www.frugallivingnw.com/local-events/year-of-the-staycation-portland/

[93] Willamette Valley, Oregon: http://www.anoregoncottage.com/2011/05/willamette-valley-ten-fun-thrifty.html

[94] Vacation or Stay-cation: Eating without Busting the Budget: http://eatathomecooks.com/2011/05/vacation-or-stay-cation-eating-without-busting-the-budget.html

Copyright © 2011 Life As Mom. All rights reserved.