- Life As Mom - http://lifeasmom.com -

Meal Planning: End of Summer, Cookbook Edits, & a Produce Box

Posted By Jessica Fisher On August 28, 2011 @ 11:19 am In Meal Planning | 10 Comments

This week marks the end of our summer. We start school the day after Labor Day. At the time I was building our school calendar [4], I had no real reason for picking that date. But, God did. He knew that my cookbook would be coming back for edits this weekend, even though I didn’t know. It fits perfectly that I’ll finish those up, sleep all of Labor Day, and start school the next day. Yeah, God!

That said, it’s going to be a busy week for me with less cooking and more time at the computer. Last week I battened down the hatches by stocking the pantry and prepping a lot of meals for the freezer. While it’s not all cooked, a lot of it is ready to go into the oven, in the crockpot, or on the grill.

Lots of Fresh Produce!

In other meal planning news, we’re going into our second week of membership to an organic produce coop [5]. Last week’s haul was pretty good and I was so glad that I had time to get stuff processed for the freezer. Now, we have corn and green beans — on ice — that I can add to meals for quick side dishes in the coming weeks. I see Garlic Green Beans [6] and Corn Salad [7] in our future.

One of the things that I LOVE about this produce co-op is that they give a lot of advance notice about what’s coming in the box. As early as Friday, I knew what I was going to be getting this week, so that helped me immensely in my meal planning. This week’s box includes: green beans, lettuce, tomatoes and cherry tomatoes, slicing cucumbers, corn, melon, grapes, squash, basil, hot peppers, asian pears, eggplant, and seasonal fruit.

I am planning on processing the green beans and corn again this week like I did last week as well as making roasted peppers to freeze. That’s a few fewer items to worry about spoiling before we use them up. And then I can serve them at my leisure.

Here’s our meal plan for the week:

Baked Oatmeal [8]

Breakfasts

served with fresh fruit, probably grapes, melon, and pears

Smoothies [9] and Muffins
Baked Oatmeal [8] — with Blueberries (experimenting as a freezer meal)
Scrambled Eggs and Toast
Yogurt and Toppings [10] (like honey, maple syrup, granola, nuts, or fruit)
Rice or Oatmeal with Toppings [11]
Cinnamon Zucchini Waffles [12]
Maple Granola [13]
Pancakes [14]

Lunches

served with fruit and veggies

Sunbutter or Turkey Sandwiches
Cheese and Crackers [15]
DIY Pasta Salad [16]
Beans and Rice [17]
Leftovers
Salads for me

Cilantro Shrimp Pasta [18]

Dinners

served with green salad and seasonal vegetables from our new produce co-op  [19]

Cilantro Shrimp Pasta [18]
Grilled Fish and Quinoa Pilaf [20]
Poblano Pork and Beans – new freezer friendly recipe
Hamburgers on homemade buns [21]
Pasta with Meat Sauce – new freezer friendly recipe
Roast Chicken [22] and Potatoes – didn’t get to it last week
Pizza Night
take-out  – let’s be real

[23]Zucchini Bread [23]

Snacks

White Chocolate Cookies [24] (no nuts) — from the freezer
Veggies and Trader Joe’s Hummus (yes, I know I could make homemade)
Crackers and Cheese
Sunbutter and Rice Cakes
Chocolate Zucchini Cupcakes [25]
Zuccchini Bread [23]
whatever else comes in our produce box this week

PS. Last week I shared my Weekly Meal Planning checklist [26]. Per a reader’s suggestion, I’ve created a completely blank form as well. Head here for the details [26] and to download one or both sheets. Both are perfect compliments to your rocking personal planner [27]. You made one, right?

What do YOU got cooking this week?


Article printed from Life As Mom: http://lifeasmom.com

URL to article: http://lifeasmom.com/2011/08/meal-planning-end-of-summer-cookbook-edits-a-produce-box.html

URLs in this post:

[1] RSS feed: http://feeds.feedburner.com/lifeasmom/oGdA

[2] free updates via email: http://feedburner.google.com/fb/a/mailverify?uri=lifeasmom/oGdA

[3] my free seasonal newsletter: http://eepurl.com/q47Vb

[4] building our school calendar: http://lifeasmom.com/2011/08/getting-started-in-homeschooling-building-your-academic-calendar.html

[5] an organic produce coop: http://abundantharvestorganics.com

[6] Garlic Green Beans: http://goodcheapeats.com/2011/04/easy-garlic-green-beans-whats-on-your-plate/

[7] Corn Salad: http://goodcheapeats.com/2010/09/corn-salad-give-leftovers-new-life/

[8] Baked Oatmeal: http://goodcheapeats.com/2011/07/raspberry-baked-oatmeal/

[9] Smoothies: http://lifeasmom.com/2010/05/diy-smoothie-bar.html

[10] Yogurt and Toppings: http://goodcheapeats.com/2011/03/maple-yogurt-parfait/

[11] Oatmeal with Toppings: http://lifeasmom.com/2010/03/ultimate-recipe-swap-whole-grains.html

[12] Cinnamon Zucchini Waffles: http://lifeasmom.com/2011/08/cinnamon-zucchini-waffles-urs-zucchini.html

[13] Maple Granola: http://goodcheapeats.com/2010/03/maple-granola-with-oats-nuts-and-seeds/

[14] Pancakes: http://goodcheapeats.com/2010/01/pancakes-easy-pantry-staple/

[15] Cheese and Crackers: http://lifeasmom.com/2009/06/snacky-lunch-its-whats-on-menu.html

[16] DIY Pasta Salad: http://goodcheapeats.com/2009/04/diy-pasta-salad/

[17] Beans and Rice: http://goodcheapeats.com/2009/06/good-cheap-eat-beans-and-rice/

[18] Cilantro Shrimp Pasta: http://goodcheapeats.com/2011/08/cilantro-shrimp-pasta/

[19] seasonal vegetables from our new produce co-op : http://lifeasmom.com/2011/08/recipes-from-the-garden-ultimate-recipe-swap.html

[20] Quinoa Pilaf: http://goodcheapeats.com/2011/03/quinoa-pilaf/

[21] homemade buns: http://goodcheapeats.com/2009/07/homemade-hot-dog-buns/

[22] Roast Chicken: http://goodcheapeats.com/2009/10/good-cheap-eat-roast-chicken/

[23] Image: http://goodcheapeats.com/2010/07/bulk-baking-zucchini-bread/

[24] White Chocolate Cookies: http://lifeasmom.com/2010/03/recipes-that-use-flour-an-ultimate-recipe-swap.html

[25] Chocolate Zucchini Cupcakes: http://lifeasmom.com/2009/04/ruths-chocolate-zucchini-cake.html

[26] Weekly Meal Planning checklist: http://lifeasmom.com/2011/08/meal-planning-weekly-meal-prep-a-free-planning-page.html

[27] your rocking personal planner: http://lifeasmom.com/2011/08/how-to-make-a-personal-planner-that-rocks.html

Copyright © 2011 Life As Mom. All rights reserved.