- Life As Mom - http://lifeasmom.com -

Once a Month Meal Planning

Posted By Jessica Fisher On October 2, 2011 @ 11:21 am In Meal Planning | 26 Comments

This happens about this time every year. Every year. We transition from easy, laid-back summer into the craziness of school. And I realize that something’s gotta change. My time management. My coffee-intake. And my meal planning.

There’s just more to do than I could possibly do, so I have to switch gears. And about this time every year, I decide, forget this weekly meal planning thing, I need to do this once and make it last all month.

So, that is what I did Friday night. The girls and I were home watching, How to Train Your Dragon while the boys were at hockey. The girls and I had been at hockey. But, the fascination of watching the pink puck lasts only so long for three and four year olds, so I escorted my little ladies home. We did baths, beauty treatments (ie blow dry the long hair) and got settled with a movie.

And because I am in multi-tasking mode, I pulled up the monthly meal-planning sheet from OLAM on my laptop, and with my fall themes [3], I plotted our meals for the rest of the month while I watched adorable Hiccup struggle to do what’s right.

Oh, yes, yes, I did.

Critics will say numerous things from “That would bore me. I like to be spontaneous,” to “how will you know what’s on sale?”

Well, yeah, I know.

But, with freezer meal components, like pulled pork, meatballs, and taco meat, we won’t get too bored because I can switch those things around with different sauces and sides. And I can pretty much guesstimate what will go on sale. With a load of frozen meals made-ahead, I will also have a supply to rely on.

It’ll be okay. I promise. And it will work for you, too.

So, without further ado, our meal plan for the month:

  1. Pizza Night [4], ChiChi’s Salad [5], Apple Cider Floats [6]
  2. Football Food – Jalapeno Poppers Dip, Brats [7], Green Salad, Carrots
  3. Meatloaf [8]/Roast Turkey, Mashed Potatoes [9], Cranberry sauce, Green Beans
  4. Grilled Dijon Chicken [10], Rice Pilaf [11], Green Salad
  5. Bean and Rice Bowls [12], Homemade Pico de Gallo [13], Chips
  6. Chicken Noodle Soup [14], Popovers and Jam
  7. dinner out
  8. Enchiladas, Lawnmower Taco [15], Green Salad
  9. Lasagna [16], Garlic Bread [17], Green Salad
  10. Meatballs and Gravy, Mashed Potatoes [9], Steamed Veg
  11. Pizza on Focaccia [18], Green Salad
  12. dinner out
  13. Minestrone [19], Buttermilk Cornbread [20]
  14. Pasta with Red Sauce [21], Green Salad, Biscuits
  15. Bean and Rice Bowls [12], Homemade Pico de Gallo [13], Chips
  16. Garlic Brie Bread [17], Grilled Sausages, Green Salad
  17. Quesadillas [22], Veggie Dippers, Layered Fruit Salad [23]
  18. Pasta with Red Sauce [21], Green Salad, Garlic Bread
  19. Beef and Barley Soup, Popovers
  20. Grilled Fish, Quinoa Pilaf [24], Salad
  21. dinner out
  22. Pizza Night [25]
  23. Hamburgers [26], Fries, Green Salad
  24. Pasta with Red Sauce [21], Steamed Veg, Focaccia
  25. Grilled Chicken and Couscous Salad [27], Pita Breads [28], Salad (could morph into gyros) [29]
  26. Chihuahua Chili [30] and Buttermilk Cornbread [20]
  27. Chef’s choice (read= I ran out of ideas)
  28. dinner out
  29. Pizza Night [25]
  30. BBQ Pork Sandwiches [31], Side Salads [32]
  31. Taco Soup [33], Chips, Veggie Dippers

What’s cooking at your house?


Article printed from Life As Mom: http://lifeasmom.com

URL to article: http://lifeasmom.com/2011/10/once-a-month-meal-planning.html

URLs in this post:

[1] RSS feed: http://feeds.feedburner.com/lifeasmom/oGdA

[2] free updates via email: http://feedburner.google.com/fb/a/mailverify?uri=lifeasmom/oGdA

[3] fall themes: http://lifeasmom.com/2011/09/fall-theme-night-dinners-meal-planning.html

[4] Pizza Night: http://goodcheapeats.com/2011/09/have-an-at-home-pizza-night/

[5] ChiChi’s Salad: http://goodcheapeats.com/2009/10/chichis-italian-salad/

[6] Apple Cider Floats: http://www.rachaelraymag.com/recipes/rachael-ray-magazine-recipe-search/fast-recipes/apple-cider-floats?_mid=2282515&_rid=2282515.900900.400206

[7] Brats: http://goodcheapeats.com/2010/02/bratwurst-with-sauteed-peppers-and/

[8] Meatloaf: http://lifeasmom.com/2010/06/more-ground-beef-freezer-meals.html

[9] Mashed Potatoes: http://goodcheapeats.com/2010/06/meatballs-mashed-potatoes-and-gravy/

[10] Grilled Dijon Chicken: http://lifeasmom.com/2010/04/chicken-in-marinades.html

[11] Rice Pilaf: http://goodcheapeats.com/2010/11/simple-rice-pilaf/

[12] Bean and Rice Bowls: http://goodcheapeats.com/2009/06/good-cheap-eat-beans-and-rice/

[13] Homemade Pico de Gallo: http://goodcheapeats.com/2010/08/pico-de-gallo/

[14] Chicken Noodle Soup: http://lifeasmom.com/2009/10/ultimate-recipe-swap-soups-on.html

[15] Lawnmower Taco: http://lifeasmom.com/2010/06/freezer-cooking-with-ground-beef-and-turkey.html

[16] Lasagna: http://goodcheapeats.com/2011/09/fresh-basil-and-garlic-chive-lasagne/

[17] Garlic Bread: http://lifeasmom.com/2010/05/easy-make-ahead-garlic-bread-and-an-ultimate-recipe-swap.html

[18] Focaccia: http://www.goodcheapeats.com/2010/01/garlic-focaccia.html

[19] Minestrone: http://lifeasmom.com/2008/10/recipe-swap-harvest-time.html

[20] Buttermilk Cornbread: http://lifeasmom.com/2011/01/buttermilk-cornbread-other-whole-grain-recipes-ultimate-recipe-swap.html

[21] Red Sauce: http://lifeasmom.com/2010/04/homemade-croutons-shredded-chicken-and-red-sauce.html

[22] Quesadillas: http://lifeasmom.com/2010/10/easy-quesadillas-busy-night-dinners-an-ultimate-recipe-swap.html

[23] Layered Fruit Salad: http://goodcheapeats.com/2009/08/layered-fruit-salad/

[24] Quinoa Pilaf: http://goodcheapeats.com/2011/03/quinoa-pilaf/

[25] Pizza Night: http://lifeasmom.com/2010/09/tgif-make-pizza-yourself.html

[26] Hamburgers: http://lifeasmom.com/2011/09/5-ways-to-dress-up-a-burger.html

[27] Couscous Salad: http://goodcheapeats.com/2010/04/couscous-salad/

[28] Pita Breads: http://goodcheapeats.com/2010/11/homebaked-pita-bread/

[29] gyros): http://goodcheapeats.com/2010/11/grilled-steak-gyros/

[30] Chihuahua Chili: http://goodcheapeats.com/2009/06/chihuahua-chili/

[31] BBQ Pork Sandwiches: http://goodcheapeats.com/2009/09/bbq-pork-sandwiches/

[32] Side Salads: http://lifeasmom.com/2008/05/summer-salad-triumvirate.html

[33] Taco Soup: http://lifeasmom.com/2008/06/frugal-food-taco-soup.html

Copyright © 2011 Life As Mom. All rights reserved.