- Life As Mom - http://lifeasmom.com -

Easy Cakes You Can Decorate Yourself

Posted By Jessica Fisher On May 16, 2012 @ 1:18 am In Birthdays,Budget Living,Cakes | 6 Comments

Decorating a cake you’ve baked at home is not difficult. In fact, it’s a great way to customize it for taste and birthday party theme — without paying a high price. You CAN have your cake and eat it, too!

If I can decorate a home baked cake, so can you! I am not all that gifted in this area, but my kids are always happy. And that is what counts!

Here are some ideas to get you started.

(I once wrote a couple ebooks full of cake decorating ideas. But, these are no longer for sale. My apologies in advance — there may be dead links in some of these posts.)
Here are some cool themes, anyway!

Sports Cakes

LA Kings Cake [7]

Disc Golf [8]

Surfer Cake [9]

Movie Cakes

Indiana Jones [10]

and another Indiana Jones [11]

Cars 2 Cake [12]

Captain Jack, Pirates of the Caribbean [13]

Death Star, Star Wars [14]

Rapunzel, Tangled Cake [15]

Buzz Lightyear, Toy Story [16]

A Drive-in Movie Theatre [17]

Book Cakes

Narnia – Voyage of the Dawn Treader [18]

Fancy Nancy [19]

Character Cakes

Dora the Explorer [20]

Bob the Builder [21]

Sonic the Hedgehog [22]

Lego Bionicle Thornax [23]

Pokeball and Pikachu [24]

Shamu [25]

Cakes for Grownups

cash envelopes

Dave Ramsey [26]

What’s your favorite out of all your birthday cakes, past or present?

 


Article printed from Life As Mom: http://lifeasmom.com

URL to article: http://lifeasmom.com/2012/05/cakes-you-can-decorate-yourself.html

URLs in this post:

[1] RSS feed: http://feeds.feedburner.com/lifeasmom/oGdA

[2] free updates via email: http://feedburner.google.com/fb/a/mailverify?uri=lifeasmom/oGdA

[3] my free seasonal newsletter: http://eepurl.com/q47Vb

[4] A Cake Decorating Tutorial: http://lifeasmom.com/2008/05/bake-your-cake-and-eat-it-too.html

[5] Decorating Cakes with Playmobil: http://lifeasmom.com/2011/01/decorating-cakes-with-playmobil.html

[6] Cake Decorating for Normal People: http://food.yourway.net/cake-decorating-for-normal-people/

[7] LA Kings Cake: http://lifeasmom.com/2012/02/la-kings-hockey-birthday-cake-a-birthday-cake-round-up.html

[8] Disc Golf: http://lifeasmom.com/2011/04/disc-golf-birthday-cake.html

[9] Surfer Cake: http://lifeasmom.com/2008/07/lifes-beach-birthday-cake.html

[10] Indiana Jones: http://lifeasmom.com/2008/05/presenting-indiana-jones-birthday-cake.html

[11] another Indiana Jones: http://lifeasmom.com/2009/05/another-indiana-jones-birthday-cake.html

[12] Cars 2 Cake: http://lifeasmom.com/2011/06/a-cars-2-birthday-cake-easy-party-ideas.html

[13] Captain Jack, Pirates of the Caribbean: http://lifeasmom.com/2011/05/captain-jack-pirates-of-the-caribbean-cake.html

[14] Death Star, Star Wars: http://lifeasmom.com/2010/05/a-death-star-birthday-cake.html

[15] Rapunzel, Tangled Cake: http://lifeasmom.com/2010/11/a-tangled-birthday-cake-idea.html

[16] Buzz Lightyear, Toy Story: http://lifeasmom.com/2010/06/toy-story-3-birthday-cake.html

[17] A Drive-in Movie Theatre: http://lifeasmom.com/2009/07/fun-birthday-cake-952-drive-in-movie.html

[18] Narnia – Voyage of the Dawn Treader: http://lifeasmom.com/2011/01/a-narnia-cake-the-voyage-of-the-dawn-treader.html

[19] Fancy Nancy: http://lifeasmom.com/2009/01/cakes-you-can-make-fancy-nancy.html

[20] Dora the Explorer: http://lifeasmom.com/2010/08/a-very-dora-birthday-cake.html

[21] Bob the Builder: http://lifeasmom.com/2009/11/bob-builder-birthday-cake.html

[22] Sonic the Hedgehog: http://lifeasmom.com/2011/06/two-easy-fun-themed-birthday-cakes-for-kids.html

[23] Lego Bionicle Thornax: http://lifeasmom.com/2009/11/lego-bionicle-thornax-birthday-cake.html

[24] Pokeball and Pikachu: http://lifeasmom.com/2008/11/poke-ball-cake-you-could-make.html

[25] Shamu: http://lifeasmom.com/2009/06/whale-of-cake.html

[26] Dave Ramsey: http://lifeasmom.com/2010/01/birthday-cake-round-up-a-dave-ramsey-cake.html

Copyright © 2011 Life As Mom. All rights reserved.