- Life As Mom - http://lifeasmom.com -

February’s Good Cheap Eats

Posted By Janel On February 27, 2013 @ 8:01 pm In Good and Cheap Eats,Good Eats | 4 Comments

Need some good cheap eats? I gotcha covered.

I’ve always been fascinated by food. As soon as I could write, I copied recipes out of my mom’s recipe collection. I made fudge at age seven and a lemon meringue pie at age 10. I loved to eat, so I was happy to cook.

Washing dishes is a different story.

And it’s been like that for 40+ years now.

I started blogging here at Life as MOM back in 2008. I started Good Cheap Eats [4] in 2009 as a way to process our food experience, finding tasty and healthful meals on a budget. And so, I have two blogs.

If you don’t regularly read my other blog Good Cheap Eats [4], here’s what you might have missed in February:

Healthier Living

healthy fats avocado coconut

My Whole 30 Eating Log [5] - I am on an elimination diet for 30+  days to see if I can troubleshoot some aches and pains that don’t wanna go away. So far I feel pretty good. The best improvement has been sleep. I sleep better and awake more easily. After 15 years of motherhood and the accompanying sleepless nights, it’s almost a miracle right there!

I’ve been logging this “diet” journey every day, so if you’re curious about what you CAN eat when you’re going soy-, dairy-, sugar-, grain-, gluten-, and alcohol-free, hop on over [5]. (It’s called The Whole 30 program [6].)

Meal Planning

Meal planning has definitely been tricky for the last two weeks. My family has not been doing The Whole 30. I’ve tried to overlap where I can, but anyone with food allergies in the house will know it’s a challenge. Here’s what I’ve learned:

Grocery Geek

I have always loved the grocery store. My first job [10] was at a grocery store! I didn’t plan to tackle this diet until the month had already started, so I did go over our regular spending this month. I am not worried about it; we saved a ton in the pantry challenge [11], so it all works out.

Here’s how I’ve been shopping in February:

Kitchen Tools and Gadgets

I’ve begun a weekly series on the small kitchen appliances that I know and love. I’d like to think that I have a spartan kitchen, but I don’t. I have several kitchen tools that make feeding a small army much easier. This is just the start:

Good Cheap Eats

My mission is to eat well and healthfully all while “acting my wage”. We currently spend an average of $800/month on groceries to feed our family of 8 in Southern California. Groceries are not that expensive here. (Gas and real estate? Different story.)

I try to share recipes that I think will be economical wherever you live. Here are recent recipes:

Fajita Omelet [17] - a hearty way to start the day

Artichoke Chile Dip [18] - I could eat the whole bowl.

Wholesome Energy Bars [19] - freezer friendly awesomeness

Turkey Cheddar Melt with Grilled Onions and Spicy Mayo [20] - amazing flavor with simple ingredients

 

Monkey Salad [21] - super yum, super simple.


Article printed from Life As Mom: http://lifeasmom.com

URL to article: http://lifeasmom.com/2013/02/februarys-good-cheap-eats.html

URLs in this post:

[1] RSS feed: http://feeds.feedburner.com/lifeasmom/oGdA

[2] free updates via email: http://feedburner.google.com/fb/a/mailverify?uri=lifeasmom/oGdA

[3] my free seasonal newsletter: http://eepurl.com/q47Vb

[4] Good Cheap Eats: http://goodcheapeats.com

[5] My Whole 30 Eating Log: http://goodcheapeats.com/my-whole-30-eating-plan/

[6] The Whole 30 program: http://whole9life.com/2012/08/the-whole30-program/

[7] Meal Planning for a Special Diet: http://goodcheapeats.com/2013/02/meal-planning-for-a-special-diet/

[8] What in the World Will I Eat this Week?: http://goodcheapeats.com/2013/02/what-in-the-world-will-i-eat-this-week-meal-planning/

[9] Meal Planning for A Busy Week, Mardi Gras, and Valentine’s Day: http://goodcheapeats.com/2013/02/meal-planning-for-a-busy-week-mardi-gras-and-valentines-day/

[10] My first job: http://lifeasmom.com/2009/06/win-100-california-albertsons-gift-card.html

[11] saved a ton in the pantry challenge: http://lifeasmom.com/2013/01/lessons-learned-from-a-pantry-challenge-eat-well-and-spend-less.html

[12] Grocery Geek: Sometimes You Feel Like a Nut: http://goodcheapeats.com/2013/02/grocery-geek-sometimes-you-feel-like-a-nut/

[13] Grocery Geek: I’m Back!: http://goodcheapeats.com/2013/02/grocery-geek-im-back/

[14] Why I Love My Food Processor: http://goodcheapeats.com/2013/02/why-i-love-my-food-processor/

[15] Why I Love My Bread Machine: http://goodcheapeats.com/2013/02/why-i-love-my-bread-machine/

[16] Why I Love My Immersion Blender: http://goodcheapeats.com/2013/02/why-i-love-my-immersion-blender/

[17] Fajita Omelet: http://goodcheapeats.com/2013/02/fajita-omelet/

[18] Artichoke Chile Dip: http://goodcheapeats.com/2013/02/artichoke-chile-dip/

[19] Wholesome Energy Bars: http://goodcheapeats.com/2013/02/wholesome-energy-bars/

[20] Turkey Cheddar Melt with Grilled Onions and Spicy Mayo: http://goodcheapeats.com/2013/02/turkey-cheddar-melt-with-grilled-onions-and-spicy-mayo/

[21] Monkey Salad: http://goodcheapeats.com/2013/02/monkey-salad/

Copyright © 2011 Life As Mom. All rights reserved.