- Life As Mom - http://lifeasmom.com -

3.14 = A Good Excuse for Pie

Posted By Jessica Fisher On March 13, 2013 @ 11:46 am In Baking,Good and Cheap Eats,Good Eats,Meal Planning | 8 Comments

March 14th is also known as Pi Day. You, know, 3.14? I think it’s a great excuse to eat pie.

Chocolate cream pie

I love pie. I would much rather eat pie than almost any other dessert in the world. I think part of my affection for the pie is thanks to the wonderful memories I have of my Gramma John, making pies in her basement “baking” kitchen in Owatonna, Minnesota or at my parents’ house when she would come to visit. Pies always graced the dessert table at our family get-togethers.

Cake just doesn’t do it for me in the same way.

This week I can’t have pie; I’m still on my Whole 30. But, just as soon as I’m cleared to indulge in butter and flour, you can bet that I’ll be busting out the Mixed Berry Pie with Cinnamon and Lemon [4] I’ve got stashed in the freezer.

If you’re not doing some crazy elimination diet right now, then I think tomorrow, 3.14, March 14th, is an excellent day to bake — and eat — a pie or two.

stone fruit tart

Here are some of my favorites:

Pie Basics

Dinner Pies

Dessert Pies


Article printed from Life As Mom: http://lifeasmom.com

URL to article: http://lifeasmom.com/2013/03/3-14-a-good-excuse-for-pie.html

URLs in this post:

[1] RSS feed: http://feeds.feedburner.com/lifeasmom/oGdA

[2] free updates via email: http://feedburner.google.com/fb/a/mailverify?uri=lifeasmom/oGdA

[3] my free seasonal newsletter: http://eepurl.com/q47Vb

[4] Mixed Berry Pie with Cinnamon and Lemon: http://goodcheapeats.com/2012/03/mixed-berry-pie-with-cinnamon-and-lemon/

[5] How to Make Homemade Pie Crust: http://lifeasmom.com/2009/09/homemade-pie-crust-finer-thing.html

[6] Gramma John’s Pie Crust: http://lifeasmom.com/2009/04/gramma-johns-pie-crust.html

[7] How to Make a Great Apple Pie: http://goodcheapeats.com/2009/09/making-of-great-apple-pie/

[8] Chicken Pot Pie: http://lifeasmom.com/2009/09/ultimate-recipe-swap-favorite-fall.html

[9] Black Bean and Cheese Pie: http://lifeasmom.com/2008/07/black-bean-and-cheese-pie.html

[10] Bacon and Spinach Quiche: http://goodcheapeats.com/2010/03/ultimate-recipe-swap-bacon-and-spinach/

[11] Easy Greens Tart with Feta Cheese: http://lifeasmom.com/2012/03/easy-greens-tart-with-feta-cheese.html

[12] Slab Apple Pie: http://lifeasmom.com/2009/11/slab-apple-pie-perfect-for-fall-perfect.html

[13] Sweet Cherry Pie: http://goodcheapeats.com/2009/07/sweet-cherry-pie/

[14] Lemon Meringue Pie: http://lifeasmom.com/2009/02/urs-your-signature-dish.html

[15] Streusel Topped Pumpkin Pie: http://goodcheapeats.com/2009/11/streusel-topped-pumpkin-pie/

[16] Nanna’s Toffee Dream Pie: http://lifeasmom.com/2008/07/nannas-toffee-dream-pie.html

[17] Macaroon Crunch Pie: http://lifeasmom.com/2008/07/macaroon-crunch-pie.html

[18] Big Puffy Heart Tarts: http://lifeasmom.com/2013/02/diy-on-a-dime-big-puffy-heart-tarts.html

[19] Homemade Chocolate Cream Pie: http://lifeasmom.com/2012/11/homemade-chocolate-cream-pie-ultimate-recipe-swap-pies.html

Copyright © 2011 Life As Mom. All rights reserved.