- Life As Mom - http://lifeasmom.com -

Banana Pecan Coffeecake

Posted By Jessica Fisher On April 24, 2013 @ 6:10 pm In Baking,Breads & Baked Goods,Desserts,Good Eats,Recipes | 2 Comments

Bananas and pecans add flavor, sweetness, and crunch to your standard crumb-topped coffeecake.

Banana Coffeecake with Pecanas

We go through a lot of bananas around here. I enjoy Monkey Salad [4] fairly often as it’s one of my favorite healthy sweet treats. FishBoy15 works out on a regular basis and bananas are a great post-workout snack for him. The rest of the crew enjoys them as a readily available fruit. Remember how thrilled they were with Magic Monkey Bananas [5]?!

I need to do that again.

I love to buy the small “lunchbox” size bananas. They are the perfect size for the littles, well, and for me to. Since bananas are always under $1 a pound, sometimes as low as 47 cents, they are a cheap fruit to keep on hand.

Inevitably though I can overbuy. We end up using the very ripe bananas in smoothies, like this Coconut Mango Banana [6] version or just freeze them sliced to stock the Smoothie Station [7].

Bananas are also the perfect baking ingredient, making a lovely appearance in Chocolate Banana Marble Cake [8],  Banana Cupcakes with Chocolate Cream Cheese Frosting [9] or Coconut Banana Bread with Chocolate Chips [10].

What is it with bananas and chocolate?!

Recently, I featured banana in one of our favorite coffeecake recipes. Yum! This crumb and nut-topped confection disappeared in a flash. You could add chocolate chips if you wanted. Ahem.

Banana Pecan Coffeecake

 


Article printed from Life As Mom: http://lifeasmom.com

URL to article: http://lifeasmom.com/2013/04/banana-pecan-coffeecake.html

URLs in this post:

[1] RSS feed: http://feeds.feedburner.com/lifeasmom/oGdA

[2] free updates via email: http://feedburner.google.com/fb/a/mailverify?uri=lifeasmom/oGdA

[3] my free seasonal newsletter: http://eepurl.com/q47Vb

[4] Monkey Salad: http://goodcheapeats.com/2013/02/monkey-salad/

[5] Magic Monkey Bananas: http://lifeasmom.com/2010/05/magic-monkey-bananas-evidence-that-i-can-be-a-yes-mom.html

[6] Coconut Mango Banana: http://goodcheapeats.com/2013/03/coconut-mango-banana-smoothie/

[7] Smoothie Station: http://goodcheapeats.com/2012/08/build-a-smoothie-station-make-ahead-and-freeze/

[8] Chocolate Banana Marble Cake: http://goodcheapeats.com/2009/07/chocolate-banana-marble-cake/

[9] Banana Cupcakes with Chocolate Cream Cheese Frosting: http://lifeasmom.com/2013/01/banana-cupcakes-with-chocolate-cream-cheese-frosting-urs-pantry-staples.html

[10] Coconut Banana Bread with Chocolate Chips: http://goodcheapeats.com/2010/09/coconut-banana-bread-with-chocolate-chips-bulk-baking/

Copyright © 2011 Life As Mom. All rights reserved.