- Life As Mom - http://lifeasmom.com -

Planning for the 4th of July

Posted By Jessica Fisher On July 1, 2013 @ 7:35 pm In Family Fun,Holidays,Summertime | 3 Comments

Looking to plan a party or a 4th of July event? Want to find some great fourth of July recipes? Simply want to learn the names of all fifty states? I gotcha covered.

If you want to experience a blast from my past, then click on the video above. It’s the song that we sang in my 6th grade Patriotic Program. I represented Texas with a white button-down shirt, red bandana, and a cowboy hat. My hair might have been in a French braid.

Forget the fact that I’ve never been to Texas — then or since — I was ready to do-see-do.

My sisters and I learned all fifty states — in ALPHABETICAL ORDER — thanks to this song. It’s been helpful for at least two things:

  1. driving my husband crazy
  2. winning a candy bar in 9th grade typing class as the first one who could type all the states. Forget the fact that I was hunting and pecking. I got them all right. The teacher was stunned.

As should you be. Yes, ma’am.

And if it didn’t drive my husband crazy, I would sing this song all week until my kids knew all the words — and therefore, all the states in the union. Maybe we’ll sing it while he’s at work…. We’ll plan a party for the 4th.

Looking for some things to do this Independence Day? Check out these past posts for inspiration:

williamsburg thomas jefferson

photo source: Heidi [4]

Fun Learning for the 4th of July [5]

jack and jessie in the corn sm
A California-Meets-Midwest Fourth of July Menu [6]

RWB Scones
Red, White, and Blue Scones (a 4th of July Ultimate Recipe Swap) [7]

Mixed Berry Pie served

Plan a Great 4th of July Menu [8]

typical plate

Throw a Spontaneous 4th of July BBQ – with FREE printable grocery list [9]

daniel boone
Camp Wannalaffalotta: The Good Ole’ USA [10]

Michael Caven cross

photo source: Michael Caven [11]

True Freedom [12]


Article printed from Life As Mom: http://lifeasmom.com

URL to article: http://lifeasmom.com/2013/07/planning-for-the-4th-of-july.html

URLs in this post:

[1] RSS feed: http://feeds.feedburner.com/lifeasmom/oGdA

[2] free updates via email: http://feedburner.google.com/fb/a/mailverify?uri=lifeasmom/oGdA

[3] my free seasonal newsletter: http://eepurl.com/q47Vb

[4] Heidi: http://mthopeacademy.blogspot.com/

[5] Fun Learning for the 4th of July: http://lifeasmom.com/2012/06/fun-learning-for-the-4th-of-july.html

[6] A California-Meets-Midwest Fourth of July Menu: http://lifeasmom.com/2011/06/a-california-meets-midwest-4th-of-july-menu-ultimate-recipe-swap.html

[7] Red, White, and Blue Scones (a 4th of July Ultimate Recipe Swap): http://lifeasmom.com/2010/06/4th-of-july-recipes-and-an-ultimate-recipe-swap.html

[8] Plan a Great 4th of July Menu: http://goodcheapeats.com/2012/07/plan-a-great-4th-of-july-meal/

[9] Throw a Spontaneous 4th of July BBQ – with FREE printable grocery list: http://goodcheapeats.com/2011/07/throw-a-spontaneous-4th-of-july-bbq/

[10] Camp Wannalaffalotta: The Good Ole’ USA: http://lifeasmom.com/2009/06/camp-wannalaffalotta-good-ole-usa.html

[11] Michael Caven: http://www.flickr.com/people/mcaven/

[12] True Freedom: http://lifeasmom.com/2010/07/true-freedom.html

Copyright © 2011 Life As Mom. All rights reserved.