- Life As Mom - http://lifeasmom.com -

Want to be a Happier Mom?

Posted By Jessica Fisher On July 28, 2013 @ 4:29 am In Joyful Womanhood | 1 Comment

dumbo ride

A miserable heart means a miserable life;
a cheerful heart fills the day with song.
Proverbs 15:15, The Message [4]

I realized early on in parenting, that despite my overachiever tendencies — or maybe because of them, I could take this motherhood thing to such lengths that I found myself frustrated and impatient. I would overdo until the point of exhaustion.

Who cares if my kid has a great birthday party, complete with golden-scaled dragon, if I’m crabby before it’s even started?

I know that when I use a harsh tone or an impatient word, it seems to have a trickle down effect. Everyone feels it. I’m thankful for the lessons that God has lead me through. Usually they have to do with coming to grips with my faults and sins and realizing where I need to grow.

And sometimes it takes work. That picture up there? It’s me and two of the littles on the Dumbo Ride, one of the most overrated rides in the world. But, I went on it. Even though I’m scared of heights. Deathly afraid of heights.

Sometimes you have to bust out of your comfort zone.

Here is a list of 14 ways I identified as things that help me be a better mom, a happier and more joyful one. I put together a pretty long series a few years ago addressing each one. I’ve realized that it’s good for me to reread it at least once a year. You know what I’m reading this week.

  1. Get a Reality Check [5]
  2. Watch Your Words [6]
  3. Simplify Your Life [7]
  4. Count Your Blessings [8]
  5. Be All There [9]
  6. Get Outside [10]
  7. Get Out of the Kitchen [11]
  8. Be a Yes MOM [12]
  9. Take a Time Out [13]
  10. Live in the Now [14]
  11. Read a Good Book [15]
  12. Encourage Others [16]
  13. Get Thicker Skin [17]
  14. Lean on God [18]

What makes YOU a happier mom?


Article printed from Life As Mom: http://lifeasmom.com

URL to article: http://lifeasmom.com/2013/07/want-to-be-a-happier-mom.html

URLs in this post:

[1] RSS feed: http://feeds.feedburner.com/lifeasmom/oGdA

[2] free updates via email: http://feedburner.google.com/fb/a/mailverify?uri=lifeasmom/oGdA

[3] my free seasonal newsletter: http://eepurl.com/q47Vb

[4] Proverbs 15:15, The Message: http://www.biblegateway.com/passage/?search=proverbs%2015:15&version=MSG

[5] Get a Reality Check: http://lifeasmom.com/2010/05/to-be-more-joyful-get-a-reality-check.html

[6] Watch Your Words: http://lifeasmom.com/2010/05/to-be-more-joyful-watch-your-words.html

[7] Simplify Your Life: http://lifeasmom.com/2010/05/to-be-more-joyful-simplify-your-life.html

[8] Count Your Blessings: http://lifeasmom.com/2010/06/to-be-more-joyful-count-your-blessings.html

[9] Be All There: http://lifeasmom.com/2010/06/to-be-more-joyful-be-all-there.html

[10] Get Outside: http://lifeasmom.com/2010/06/to-be-more-joyful-get-outside.html

[11] Get Out of the Kitchen: http://lifeasmom.com/2010/07/to-be-more-joyful-get-out-of-the-kitchen.html

[12] Be a Yes MOM: http://lifeasmom.com/2010/07/to-be-more-joyful-be-a-yes-mom.html

[13] Take a Time Out: http://lifeasmom.com/2010/08/to-be-more-joyful-take-a-time-out.html

[14] Live in the Now: http://lifeasmom.com/2010/08/to-be-more-joyful-live-in-the-now.html

[15] Read a Good Book: http://lifeasmom.com/2010/08/to-be-more-joyful-read-a-good-book.html

[16] Encourage Others: http://lifeasmom.com/2010/08/to-be-more-joyful-encourage-others.html

[17] Get Thicker Skin: http://lifeasmom.com/2010/09/to-be-more-joyful-get-thicker-skin.html

[18] Lean on God: http://lifeasmom.com/2010/09/to-be-more-joyful-lean-on-god.html

Copyright © 2011 Life As Mom. All rights reserved.