- Life As Mom - http://lifeasmom.com -

Kitchen Time Savers

Posted By Jessica Fisher On September 30, 2013 @ 4:19 pm In Good Eats | 5 Comments

Want to save time in the kitchen, but still enjoy good eats. Well, this month is the month to learn 31 new Kitchen Time Savers.

kitchen-time-savers

Yesterday, we had three hockey games: 1:30, 4:30, and 7:30. It was a challenge to feed my people an evening meal. The second game was supposed to get out at 5:30, but my crew needed to be back at the rink about 30 minutes before the next game, at 7 pm. That left me a short 90 minutes to get home, get supper cooked, get folks fed, and then shoo them out the door again.

It wasn’t a perfect meal, but I pulled off roasted green beans, grilled fish, and steamed rice. Thanks to a few time-saving strategies it all came together. (Please note that this is not always the case, but when it is, it’s a pretty sweet experience.)

I’m realizing that as much as I love to cook, I really can’t afford to futz around too much. There are some days when it’s okay to take my time, and there are other days when I really do need to scurry.

Is it like that at your house, too?

Kitchen Time Savers

I’m really excited about my challenge for the next month. I’ve dared myself to find 31 ways that I could save time in the kitchen. I love being in the kitchen, but I also don’t like to waste. So, saving in the kitchen has to be a good thing, right?

    1. Plan Your Meals [4]
    2. Use a Countertop Trash Receptacle [5]
    3. Simplify Your Meals [6]
    4. Three Handy Tools for the Kitchen [7]
    5. Use Spice Blends [8]
    6. Make a Reusable Grocery List [9]
    7. Keep Your Fridge Clean [10]
    8. Do Freezer Cooking [11]
    9. Make a Salad Bar [12]
    10. Make Quick Fix Meals [13]
    11. Shop at One Store [14]
    12. Clean the Kitchen before You Go to Bed [15]
    13. Slow Cooking Saves Time [16]
    14. Clean as You Go [17]
    15. Make Dinner in the Morning [18]
    16. Get the Morning Beverages Ready the Night Before [19]
    17. Serve a Breakfast Bar to Save Time [20]
    18. Label the Pantry Shelves to Save Time [21]
    19. Use Sharp Knives [22]
    20. Prep Veggies for the Week [23]
    21. Make Breakfast Ahead of Time [24]
    22. Make It a Sandwich Night [25]
    23. Use the Big Pot [26]
    24. Set up Your Cooking Space [27]
    25. Get Some Help [28]
    26. Dejunk the Kitchen [29]
    27. Build Your Meals from Like Ingredients [30]
    28. Have a Back-Up Plan [31]
    29. Buy It If It’s Better Already Made [32]
    30. Make Lunch ahead of Time [33]

In October, I’ll be participating in once again in The Nester’s 31 Days series [34] where hundreds of folks are sharing their 31-day challenges. I did this last year on both blogs and it was a lot of fun. If you missed those posts, you can still find them in the archives: 31 Days of Freezer Cooking [35] and 31 Days to Stop and Smell the Roses [36].

This year over at Good Cheap Eats, I’ll be blogging 31 Days of DIY Convenience Foods [37]. Check out both series, and hopefully we’ll both learn some new tricks in the kitchen.

Go ahead and bookmark, pin, tweet, or share this post as it will be updated throughout the month with all the posts in the series. It will be your one stop shop for saving time in the kitchen.

Don’t want to miss a post in this series? Subscribe to 31 Days of Kitchen Time Savers here [38]. Get updates via email here [39].


Article printed from Life As Mom: http://lifeasmom.com

URL to article: http://lifeasmom.com/2013/09/kitchen-time-savers.html

URLs in this post:

[1] RSS feed: http://feeds.feedburner.com/lifeasmom/oGdA

[2] free updates via email: http://feedburner.google.com/fb/a/mailverify?uri=lifeasmom/oGdA

[3] my free seasonal newsletter: http://eepurl.com/q47Vb

[4] Plan Your Meals: http://lifeasmom.com/2013/09/plan-your-meals-to-save-time-in-the-kitchen.html

[5] Use a Countertop Trash Receptacle: http://lifeasmom.com/2013/10/have-a-trash-bowl-at-the-ready-to-save-time-in-the-kitchen.html

[6] Simplify Your Meals: http://lifeasmom.com/2013/10/simplify-your-meals-to-save-time-in-the-kitchen.html

[7] Three Handy Tools for the Kitchen: http://lifeasmom.com/2013/10/3-handy-tools-to-help-you-save-time-in-the-kitchen.html

[8] Use Spice Blends: http://lifeasmom.com/2013/10/use-spice-blends-to-save-time-in-the-kitchen.html

[9] Make a Reusable Grocery List: http://lifeasmom.com/2013/10/make-a-reusable-grocery-list-to-save-time-in-the-kitchen.html

[10] Keep Your Fridge Clean: http://lifeasmom.com/2013/10/save-time-with-a-clean-fridge.html

[11] Do Freezer Cooking: http://lifeasmom.com/2013/10/freezer-cooking-will-save-you-time.html

[12] Make a Salad Bar: http://lifeasmom.com/2013/10/make-a-salad-bar-to-save-time.html

[13] Make Quick Fix Meals: http://lifeasmom.com/2013/10/make-quick-fix-meals-to-save-time.html

[14] Shop at One Store: http://lifeasmom.com/2013/10/shop-at-one-store-to-save-time.html

[15] Clean the Kitchen before You Go to Bed: http://lifeasmom.com/2013/10/clean-the-kitchen-before-you-go-to-bed-to-save-time.html

[16] Slow Cooking Saves Time: http://lifeasmom.com/2013/10/slow-cooking-saves-time-in-the-kitchen.html

[17] Clean as You Go: http://lifeasmom.com/2013/10/clean-as-you-go-and-save-time-in-the-kitchen.html

[18] Make Dinner in the Morning: http://lifeasmom.com/2013/10/make-dinner-in-the-morning-to-save-time-later.html

[19] Get the Morning Beverages Ready the Night Before: http://lifeasmom.com/2013/10/get-the-morning-beverages-ready-the-night-before.html

[20] Serve a Breakfast Bar to Save Time: http://lifeasmom.com/2013/10/serve-a-breakfast-bar-to-save-time.html

[21] Label the Pantry Shelves to Save Time: http://lifeasmom.com/2013/10/label-the-pantry-shelves-to-save-time.html

[22] Use Sharp Knives: http://lifeasmom.com/2013/10/use-sharp-knives-to-save-time-in-the-kitchen.html

[23] Prep Veggies for the Week: http://lifeasmom.com/2013/10/prep-vegetables-for-the-week.html

[24] Make Breakfast Ahead of Time: http://lifeasmom.com/2013/10/5-make-ahead-breakfasts.html

[25] Make It a Sandwich Night: http://lifeasmom.com/2013/10/make-it-a-sandwich-night.html

[26] Use the Big Pot: http://lifeasmom.com/2013/10/use-the-big-pot-to-save-time.html

[27] Set up Your Cooking Space: http://lifeasmom.com/2013/10/set-up-your-cooking-space-to-save-time-in-the-kitchen.html

[28] Get Some Help: http://lifeasmom.com/2013/10/get-some-help-and-save-time-in-the-kitchen.html

[29] Dejunk the Kitchen: http://lifeasmom.com/2013/10/dejunk-the-kitchen-and-save-time.html

[30] Build Your Meals from Like Ingredients: http://lifeasmom.com/2013/10/build-your-meals-from-like-ingredients-to-save-time.html

[31] Have a Back-Up Plan: http://lifeasmom.com/2013/10/have-a-backup-plan-save-time-in-the-kitchen.html

[32] Buy It If It’s Better Already Made: http://lifeasmom.com/2013/10/buy-it-if-its-better-already-made.html

[33] Make Lunch ahead of Time: http://lifeasmom.com/2013/10/make-lunches-ahead-of-time.html

[34] The Nester’s 31 Days series: http://www.thenester.com/2013/09/2013-31days-categories.html

[35] 31 Days of Freezer Cooking: http://goodcheapeats.com/tag/31-days/

[36] 31 Days to Stop and Smell the Roses: http://lifeasmom.com/tag/31-days

[37] 31 Days of DIY Convenience Foods: http://goodcheapeats.com/2013/09/diy-convenience-foods/

[38]  here: http://feeds.feedburner.com/LifeAsMom31DaysKitchenTimeSavers

[39] here: http://feedburner.google.com/fb/a/mailverify?uri=LifeAsMom31DaysKitchenTimeSavers&loc=en_US

Copyright © 2011 Life As Mom. All rights reserved.