- Life As Mom - http://lifeasmom.com -

Make Dinner in the Morning to Save Time Later

Posted By Jessica Fisher On October 14, 2013 @ 8:40 pm In Good Eats,Meal Planning,Time Management | 7 Comments

If you make dinner in the morning when you have a spare minute, you’ll save time later in the evening when you don’t.

Make dinner in the morning to save time

Saturday evening was full of hockey games. Full. In two cities. At dinner time.

I spent Saturday morning in the kitchen, making breakfast, lunch, and dinner. It was brilliant, if I do say so myself. I got lunch started in the slow cooker and in the bread machine, and then I started supper on the stove top. I was already in the kitchen; why not maximize my time?

It wasn’t anything extravagant, a 2-pound batch of pasta salad. I slid it into the fridge to chill and went about my day.

At 4:30 when I came home from hockey game #1, I was able to feed the crew in minutes. In minutes, I tell ya! The kids gobbled down plate after plate of pasta salad, telling me how wonderful it was, what a great mom I was, and would I please do this again?

Well, that was easy.

Here are some of our favorite make-ahead meals:

Make-ahead meals can save you loads of time. If you make dinner in the morning, dinner will happen in a matter of seconds. Like magic, but not.

Kitchen Time Savers series | Life as MOM [12]This post is part of the Kitchen Time Savers series [12]. You can follow along this month as we explore lots of ways to make more efficient use of our time in the kitchen.

Don’t want to miss a post in this series? Subscribe to 31 Days of Kitchen Time Savers here [13]. Get updates via email here [14].


Article printed from Life As Mom: http://lifeasmom.com

URL to article: http://lifeasmom.com/2013/10/make-dinner-in-the-morning-to-save-time-later.html

URLs in this post:

[1] RSS feed: http://feeds.feedburner.com/lifeasmom/oGdA

[2] free updates via email: http://feedburner.google.com/fb/a/mailverify?uri=lifeasmom/oGdA

[3] my free seasonal newsletter: http://eepurl.com/q47Vb

[4] Lawnmower Taco: http://lifeasmom.com/2010/06/freezer-cooking-with-ground-beef-and-turkey.html

[5] Fresh Basil and Garlic Chive Lasagne: http://goodcheapeats.com/2011/09/fresh-basil-and-garlic-chive-lasagne/

[6] Easiest Mac and Cheese: http://lifeasmom.com/2009/01/recipe-swap-comfort-food.html

[7] Chicken and Wild Rice Bake: http://goodcheapeats.com/2010/02/chicken-and-wild-rice-bake/

[8] Bacon Cheddar Egg Bake: http://goodcheapeats.com/2009/07/bacon-cheddar-egg-bake/

[9] Chicken, Bean, and Cheese Burritos: http://goodcheapeats.com/2013/10/chicken-bean-and-cheese-burritos-for-the-freezer/

[10] Easy Chicken and Cheese Flautas: http://goodcheapeats.com/2013/10/easy-chicken-and-cheese-flautas/

[11] Pesto and Feta Pasta Salad with Cranberries: http://goodcheapeats.com/2011/03/pesto-feta-pasta-salad-with-cranberries/

[12] Image: http://lifeasmom.com/2013/09/kitchen-time-savers.html

[13]  here: http://feeds.feedburner.com/LifeAsMom31DaysKitchenTimeSavers

[14] here: http://feedburner.google.com/fb/a/mailverify?uri=LifeAsMom31DaysKitchenTimeSavers&loc=en_US

Copyright © 2011 Life As Mom. All rights reserved.