- Life As Mom - http://lifeasmom.com -

Movie Review Roundup: Monsters University

Posted By Jessica Fisher On November 1, 2013 @ 8:06 am In Family Fun | 1 Comment

This post does include Amazon affiliate links. If you make a purchase through those links, I am paid a small amount in way of advertising fees.

MonstersUniversity3DBlurayComboArt

Earlier this week Monsters University [3] was released on Blu-Ray and DVD. Our family got the chance to preview it last weekend. It was a super fun flick. Pixar rarely disappoints, ya know?

While not as good as its predecessor, Monsters, Inc [4] — there were some slow spots — it was a film that our whole family watched and enjoyed.

The film tells the story of how Mike and Sully made it to the Scarers Floor of Monsters Incorporated. Their back story is peppered with humor, compassion, friendship, and a few surprises.

monsters univMonsters University [3] is the pre-quel, if you will, of Monsters, Inc. The tale starts when Mike Wazowski is just a young kid on a school field trip. He’s inspired by a particular Scarer and falls in love with the idea of attending Monsters University.

I was surprised by Mike’s character. I don’t want to spoil it. But, I misjudged him in Monsters, Inc [4]. I thought he was all about goofing off and breaking the rules. I think I need to watch it again because maybe his deeper self was there and I just missed it.

Over all, the film was a fun flick. Here are some thoughts from the kiddos:

Thoughts from the FishKids:

[spoilers removed]

FishChick5: It was pretty good. My favorite part was when they were doing the scaring of the humans.

FishChick6: I thought it was a very caring thing when Mike and Sully were trying to help each other.

FishBoy9: I thought it was a great family movie. My favorite part was the hiding part. That parts funny.

FishBoy11: My favorite part was when they used their differences to their advantage and when they worked together.

FishBoy12: I appreciated how it added more character debt to Mike. (Is he like his mother, or what?!)

Here’s a short clip from the film:

Ways to Find Good Family Films

Good family films are hard to find these days. Here are some resources to help you find a good match for your family:

Disclosure: I received a review copy of the film. All opinions are my own.


Article printed from Life As Mom: http://lifeasmom.com

URL to article: http://lifeasmom.com/2013/11/movie-review-roundup-monsters-university.html

URLs in this post:

[1] RSS feed: http://feeds.feedburner.com/lifeasmom/oGdA

[2] free updates via email: http://feedburner.google.com/fb/a/mailverify?uri=lifeasmom/oGdA

[3] Monsters University: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B008JFUPOY/ref=as_li_ss_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=390957&creativeASIN=B008JFUPOY&linkCode=as2&tag=oflwtf-20

[4] Monsters, Inc: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00005JKDR/ref=as_li_ss_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=390957&creativeASIN=B00005JKDR&linkCode=as2&tag=oflwtf-20

[5] How to Choose Good Family Films: http://lifeasmom.com/2010/08/how-to-choose-good-family-films.html

[6] Enjoying Family Movie Nights: http://lifeasmom.com/2010/03/enjoying-family-movie-nights.html

[7] 3 Children’s Movies that Made Me Weep: http://lifeasmom.com/2011/02/3-childrens-movies-that-made-me-weep.html

[8] Fun New Disney DVDs: http://lifeasmom.com/2013/03/fun-new-disney-dvds.html

[9] 6 Classic Flicks: http://lifeasmom.com/2009/03/family-fun-6-classic-flicks.html

[10] Earth-Friendly Flicks: http://lifeasmom.com/2009/04/family-fun-earth-friendly-flicks.html

[11] Family Movie Round-Up for Early Nights: http://lifeasmom.com/2013/01/family-movie-round-up-for-these-early-nights.html

[12] New DVD and Blu-Ray Movie Round-up: http://lifeasmom.com/2013/10/new-dvd-blu-ray-movie-round-up.html

[13] New Family Movies on DVD: http://lifeasmom.com/2013/08/new-family-movies-on-dvd.html

[14] 5 Favorite Holiday Films: http://lifeasmom.com/2010/11/5-favorite-holiday-films.html

Copyright © 2011 Life As Mom. All rights reserved.