- Life As Mom - http://lifeasmom.com -

Time to Get on Zone Defense

Posted By Jessica Fisher On January 6, 2014 @ 8:05 pm In Announcements,Home Management,Homekeeping | 10 Comments

Time to Get on Zone Defense - it's a game plan for organizing your home, room by room, to suit you in your current season of life.

Is it hard to find things in your house? Do you open a closet and cringe? Do you wish your housekeeping chores were just a little simpler and easier?

Well, you’re not alone, sister. I’m there, too. Every January I get a little burst of energy to set things to rights. Hubs has been reorganizing lots of storage spaces over the last month or two. The toy garage has been dismantled and replaced by a music/hockey cave. The library has moved to his former closet. And we’re moving stuff around, trying to make this space serve us better.

That’s the deal, really. Your home is there to serve you, not the other way around. But, often clutter and disorganization gets in the way of that, doesn’t it.

Join me on Zone Defense [4] again this year, as we start moving room by room to make our homes suit our season of life better than they did last year.

When I set up the Zone Defense home organization program [4] a couple years ago, I envisioned 12 zones, one for each month. But, let’s be real. We lose steam in November and December. At least I do. Don’t you?

So, I’m switching things up just a bit for the end of the year. Here’s the general game plan:

January

Assess your home’s strengths and areas to grow.
Organize your personal space.

February

Organize the kitchen.

March

Take care of laundry, linens, and general clothes care systems.

April

Organize and deep clean the living areas, entertainment areas, and the stuff that takes up space here.

May

Get ready for travel and day trips by organizing the camping stuff, the cars, and the travel gear.

June

Organize and clean the kids’ rooms, the play areas, and work on getting the kids involved. (We’ll be doing this last part all year, but will concentrate on this over the summer.)

July

Perform bathroom organization, deep cleaning, and improvements.

August

Organize office and paperwork.

September

Get prepared for emergencies.

October

Winterize the outdoor spaces. Organize the deep storage.

November/December

Plan for holiday upkeep and get organized for holiday events.

You can always tackle these steps in a different order. Read through the Zone Defense [4] plan and make your own adjustments.

Get started on your first zone.

Grab the Zone Defense worksheets [12] to help you think through the problem areas in your own and then check out these resources:

I’ll be reporting back on my own progress on these areas in the next week. Then we’ll move on to Personal Space in the second half of the month.


Article printed from Life As Mom: http://lifeasmom.com

URL to article: http://lifeasmom.com/2014/01/time-to-get-on-zone-defense.html

URLs in this post:

[1] RSS feed: http://feeds.feedburner.com/lifeasmom/oGdA

[2] free updates via email: http://feedburner.google.com/fb/a/mailverify?uri=lifeasmom/oGdA

[3] my free seasonal newsletter: http://eepurl.com/q47Vb

[4] Zone Defense: http://lifeasmom.com/2012/01/zone-defense-a-game-plan-for-organizing-your-home.html

[5] Organizing Your Personal Space: http://lifeasmom.com/2014/01/zone-defense-organizing-your-personal-space.html

[6] Check-In: Your Personal Space: http://lifeasmom.com/2014/01/zone-defense-check-in-your-personal-space.html

[7] Organizing the Kitchen: http://lifeasmom.com/2014/02/zone-defense-organizing-the-kitchen.html

[8] Check-In: The Kitchen: http://lifeasmom.com/2014/03/zone-defense-check-in-the-kitchen.html

[9] Getting A Laundry Game Plan in Action: http://lifeasmom.com/2014/03/zone-defense-getting-a-laundry-game-plan-in-action.html

[10] Check-In: The Laundry and Linen Cupboard: http://lifeasmom.com/2014/03/zone-defense-check-in-the-laundry-and-linen-cupboard.html

[11] Organizing the Living Spaces: http://lifeasmom.com/2014/04/zone-defense-organizing-the-living-spaces.html

[12] Grab the Zone Defense worksheets: http://lifeasmom.com/?attachment_id=23250

[13] Evaluate your home’s strengths.: http://lifeasmom.com/2012/01/evaluate-your-homes-strengths-zone-defense.html

[14] Zone Defense Pinboards: http://lifeasmom.com/2012/01/zone-defense-pinboards.html

[15] Get your equipment ready.: http://lifeasmom.com/2012/01/get-your-equipment-ready-zone-defense.html

[16] Dump or Donate?: http://lifeasmom.com/2012/01/dump-or-donate.html

[17] Good Reads for Organizing: http://lifeasmom.com/2012/02/good-reads-for-organizing.html

Copyright © 2011 Life As Mom. All rights reserved.