- Life As Mom - http://lifeasmom.com -

How to Get Your Family to Eat More Whole Grains

Posted By Jessica Fisher On February 10, 2014 @ 7:43 am In Good Eats,Health and Safety,Meal Planning | 19 Comments

Want to improve your family’s diet [3]? Give whole grains (as opposed to processed) a bigger piece of the pie.

How to Get Your Family to Eat More Whole Grains - Want to improve your family’s diet? Give whole grains (as opposed to processed) a bigger piece of the pie.

See that? That sweet, spicy, delicious cherry crumble [4]? That my friends is chock full of fruit and whole grains. Yes, really. And it is absolutely delicious.

I know that there’s much debate about grains and nutrition. I am not a scientist or a nutritionist. I’ve done some reading, I’ve tried elimination diets, I’ve done a lot of eating. So, I’m going with my gut — both literally and figuratively.

I like grains!

But, first a disclosure: This year I’m working with one of my very favorite brands, Bob’s Red Mill [5], to develop whole grain recipes and family-friendly kitchen inspiration here, on Good Cheap Eats [6], and on Bob’s Blog [7].

(Having read Bob’s biography [8], I’m pretty thrilled at the opportunity to work with such a great company.)

Since Bob’s products are such an integral part of my kitchen and my efforts to improve my family’s diet, it made perfect sense that this post, all about whole grains, include some of my favorite Bob’s Red Mill products.

Know that we’ve been using the products for years and that I take these kind of “ambassadorships” pretty seriously, especially now that I’m trying to clean up our family’s diet. I’m not going to talk about a product that I wouldn’t spend hard-earned money on. I have to feel good about feeding it to my family.

How to Get Your Family to Eat More Whole Grains - Want to improve your family’s diet? Give whole grains (as opposed to processed) a bigger piece of the pie.

Grains typically are filling and low cost, making them a great way to stretch the budget and still eat tasty food.

I feel better and my digestion seems to work better when I eat whole grains instead of processed ones. I think a diet with plenty of vegetables and whole grains is a good one. (Exceptions, of course, would be for those who know that they have celiac disease or some other intolerance to gluten or other grains.)

Generally speaking, I don’t believe that any food God made is inherently bad. I do question, however, what we do to the food in the producing and processing of it. As I work to improve my family’s diet [3], I’m working on substituting more whole grains for the processed ones.

While it’s easy to carbo-load on white bread, white pasta, and all kinds of decadent, highly processed sweets, those aren’t the kinds of grains I’m stomping for.

No, I’m talking about stuff that hasn’t been messed with too much. In addition to baking our favorite breads and desserts at home, we also enjoy “straight grains” like popcorn, oats (in morning oatmeal as well as in granola bars and energy bites [9]), and rice as a way to stretch our grocery funds and supplement our diets.

How to Get Your Family to Eat More Whole Grains - Want to improve your family’s diet? Give whole grains (as opposed to processed) a bigger piece of the pie.

Years ago after FishPapa got a bad report from the doctor regarding cholesterol and blood pressure, I switched much of my baking supplies to whole wheat. I found through trial and error the things that my family enjoyed and those which were a little hard to swallow.

I regularly order cases of oats, popcorn, and whole wheat flour from Amazon [10] since it’s cheaper than buying it at my local store. It’s not always cheaper to buy whole grains, but I know the investment is worth it.

Here are some of the things I’ve learned about helping my family eat and enjoy more whole grains.

1. Let your kids explore and learn.

Recently, Bob (as he’s known at our house) sent us a variety of different products to try out. I set them down in the kitchen and walked away. But, I also eavesdropped on my teenage sons as they read labels and discussed the various items. They didn’t know what farina was, but they looked it up.

How to Get Your Family to Eat More Whole Grains - Want to improve your family’s diet? Give whole grains (as opposed to processed) a bigger piece of the pie.

Likewise, when our produce box included popcorn on the cob, I let the kids rub off the kernels. By learning and exploring the grains hands-on, they get a better understanding of the food they are eating.

We regularly eat at least three different kinds of oats: quick, old fashioned, and steel-cut. We’ve talked about the different ways that oats are prepared for eating. I need to get some groats so they can see the raw product, but regardless, they have a basic knowledge of some of these grains.

Kids love to learn, so include them in your grain exploration.

2. Go halvsies.

When I originally made the switch to whole wheat pasta, it didn’t go over well. It was a little too wheaty. I realized that going halvsies worked. I now regularly cook half white and half whole wheat pasta for our dinner.

When I bake, I try to substitute about half the flour with whole wheat. If I’m baking a yeast recipe, I use white whole wheat or regular whole wheat flour.

If I’m making a pie or a quick bread (recipes without yeast), I use whole wheat pastry flour. In fact, recently I made a Slab Apple Pie [11], Chocolate Mint Bars [12], and the Cherry Crumble [4] all with whole wheat pastry flour. No one was the wiser!

Whenever I can I throw some oats into the mix [13], too, slipping them into pancake batter, waffles, and streusel topping.

How to Get Your Family to Eat More Whole Grains - Want to improve your family’s diet? Give whole grains (as opposed to processed) a bigger piece of the pie.

3. Try it, you’ll like it.

You’ll never know if your family likes it, unless you try it. The same goes for you. I wasn’t too sure about the 8-Grain Hot Cereal [14] Bob sent for us to try, but I found out that I love it! Cooked with a bit of cream and maple syrup, it makes a perfect hot breakfast for cold winter mornings.

Buy a small bag of something and try it out. Try it out a few times, Mama. We don’t always like things first thing. Give it a fair shot.

4. Do the side step.

Whole grains often make up the main dish at breakfast, but they can easily play a supporting role at other times of the day. Cooked rice, quinoa, polenta, and barley make wonderful side dishes. I regularly stir up a pot of one of those to serve at dinner time. Polenta is my new favorite.

5. Snack on.

You’d be surprised how many snacks you can enrich with whole grains. Popcorn and homemade granola bars are easy to make yourself. Rice cakes are an inexpensive snack to buy. We love it spread with sunbutter.

fruit and nut energy bites

Removing processed grains from your diet and replacing them with their whole version is a great way to add fiber and extra nutrition to your family’s diet. They taste great, and can really enhance your dinner table experience.

What’s your best trick for eating more whole grains?

BRMLogoVectorFull4CProBob ESOPThis post is sponsored by Bob’s Red Mill [39], a distinctive stone grinding miller of whole grain natural foods. Bob’s offer the widest selection of natural, organic and gluten free flours, cereals, and baking mixes. Check out the Bob’s Red Mill product line [39].

Improve Your Family's Diet (series)This post is part of a longer series on how to improve your family’s diet [3]. Next week, we’ll be talking about how to make junk food yourself [40].


Article printed from Life As Mom: http://lifeasmom.com

URL to article: http://lifeasmom.com/2014/02/how-to-get-your-family-to-eat-more-whole-grains.html

URLs in this post:

[1] RSS feed: http://feeds.feedburner.com/lifeasmom/oGdA

[2] free updates via email: http://feedburner.google.com/fb/a/mailverify?uri=lifeasmom/oGdA

[3] improve your family’s diet: http://lifeasmom.com/2014/01/how-to-improve-your-familys-diet.html

[4] cherry crumble: http://lifeasmom.com/2014/02/personal-cherry-crumbles.html?preview=true

[5] Bob’s Red Mill: http://www.bobsredmill.com/

[6] Good Cheap Eats: http://goodcheapeats.com

[7] on Bob’s Blog: http://blog.bobsredmill.com/featured-articles/introductions/

[8] Bob’s biography: http://lifeasmom.com/2014/01/january-booking-it-guernsey-neither-here-nor-there-people-before-profit.html

[9] energy bites: http://lifeasmom.com/2014/02/fruit-and-nut-energy-bites.html

[10] order cases of oats, popcorn, and whole wheat flour from Amazon: http://lifeasmom.com/2014/01/grocery-shopping-on-amazon.html

[11] Slab Apple Pie: http://lifeasmom.com/2009/11/slab-apple-pie-perfect-for-fall-perfect.html

[12] Chocolate Mint Bars: http://lifeasmom.com/2014/02/chocolate-mint-bars.html

[13] throw some oats into the mix: http://goodcheapeats.com/2014/02/oatmeal-waffles/

[14] 8-Grain Hot Cereal: http://www.bobsredmill.com/8-grain-hot-cereal.html

[15] 5-Grain Pancakes with Flax: http://goodcheapeats.com/2010/03/5-grain-pancakes-with-flax-guest-post/

[16] Breakfast Cookies: http://goodcheapeats.com/2010/02/breakfast-cookies/

[17] Whole Grain Cinnamon Rolls: http://goodcheapeats.com/2009/10/whole-grain-cinnamon-rolls/

[18] Whole Wheat Cranberry Rolls: http://goodcheapeats.com/2013/11/whole-wheat-cranberry-rolls/

[19] Whole Wheat Soft Pretzels: http://goodcheapeats.com/2011/03/whole-wheat-soft-pretzels-easter/

[20] Whole Wheat Snickerdoodles: http://goodcheapeats.com/2009/08/whole-wheat-snickerdoodles/

[21] Wholesome Energy Bars: http://goodcheapeats.com/2013/02/wholesome-energy-bars/

[22] White Whole Wheat Sub Rolls: http://goodcheapeats.com/2013/10/homemade-white-whole-wheat-sub-rolls/

[23] Simple Rice Pilaf: http://goodcheapeats.com/2010/11/simple-rice-pilaf/

[24] Chicken and Wild Rice Bake: http://goodcheapeats.com/2010/02/chicken-and-wild-rice-bake/

[25] How to Make Not-Mushy Oatmeal: http://lifeasmom.com/2010/03/ultimate-recipe-swap-whole-grains.html

[26] How to Make Instant Oatmeal Packets: http://lifeasmom.com/2010/03/frugal-friday-making-my-own-instant-oatmeal.html

[27] Cinnamon Apple Oat Cakes: http://lifeasmom.com/2012/03/cinnamon-apple-oat-cakes-urs-grains.html

[28] Cranberry Sunflower Oatmeal & an Oatmeal Bar: http://lifeasmom.com/2013/11/cranberry-sunflower-oatmeal-and-an-oatmeal-bar.html

[29] Morning Yogurt and Oats: http://goodcheapeats.com/2012/08/morning-yogurt-and-oats/

[30] Cranberry Orange Granola: http://lifeasmom.com/2009/12/ultimate-recipe-swap-food-gifts.html

[31] Not Too Sweet Granola: http://goodcheapeats.com/2014/01/not-too-sweet-granola/

[32] Maple Granola: http://goodcheapeats.com/2009/04/maple-granola/

[33] Maple Granola with Oats, Nuts, and Seeds: http://goodcheapeats.com/2010/03/maple-granola-with-oats-nuts-and-seeds/

[34] Maple Vanilla Almond Granola: http://goodcheapeats.com/2012/05/maple-vanilla-almond-granola/

[35] Buttermilk Cornbread: http://lifeasmom.com/2011/01/buttermilk-cornbread-other-whole-grain-recipes-ultimate-recipe-swap.html

[36] Cinnamon Popcorn: http://lifeasmom.com/2012/10/make-cinnamon-popcorn-watch-a-show-together.html

[37] Homemade Popcorn: http://lifeasmom.com/2012/08/easy-homemade-popcorn-ultimate-recipe-swap-afterschool-snacks.html

[38] Escalloped Corn and Corn Souffle: http://lifeasmom.com/2008/11/recipe-swap-thanksgiving-vegetables.html

[39] Bob’s Red Mill: http://bobsredmill.com

[40] make junk food yourself: http://lifeasmom.com/2014/03/make-junk-food-yourself.html

Copyright © 2011 Life As Mom. All rights reserved.