- Life As Mom - http://lifeasmom.com -

The Weekly Ramble

Posted By Jessica Fisher On March 22, 2014 @ 10:06 am In Announcements | 1 Comment

The weekly ramble: where I blog like it’s 2004.

juicing girl

All week long I’ve thought of the different things I would tell you in my weekly ramble. Now while I sit here with fingers to keyboard, all those funny and brilliant things have flown out the window. I look over my instagram [4] of the last week and I come up empty there, too. I guess I was pretty quiet, eh?

What did I do all week?!

Oh yeah, I ran eight-tenths of a mile on Tuesday. RAN. Not walked fast. RAN. This is monumental. I haven’t RUN in over 20 years. This may not seem monumental to some, but when this guy [5] is your brother (see #19 on the top list) and your dad and your other brother are both running fanatics as well, it’s kinda embarrassing if you can only walk fast. So, that was a monumental feat for me. I’m not sure if I’ll be able to do it again, but I’m going to try.

I also had our preliminary tax meeting which wasn’t as painful as I expected. We had good news (since FishPapa is getting up there in years, he can put more away in an IRA – Whoohoo!) and some notsogood news (when your child turns 17 you no longer get a child tax credit.) What gives, Mr. Tax Man?! The kid eats more food than a baby! A lot more.

You learn something new every day, don’t you?

In other news, there’s been a convergence of sorts here as I am recipe testing for a book coming out next spring, wrapping up touches on a book coming out this fall, and getting ready to see a new book of mine [6] on the shelves next month. What a whirlwind! How did I get here? (If you’ve bought book 1 [7] or book 2 [6], thank you! I so appreciate your support!)

book signing

Speaking of which, I’m going to be signing books in May at the Barnes and Noble in Santa Clarita, CA. I’d love to meet you! Save the date if you’re within a half hour’s drive, eh?

In the kitchen, our sugar fast [8]is coming along nicely. We’re getting into a groove; no one’s complaining; and we’re eating well. I can’t really complain. The kids have been SUCH good sports about this little experiment. We’ve even completely replaced hockey snacks with no-added-sugar items. I’m amazed that my little guy has been so cheerful about foregoing Gatorade. I’m a blessed woman to be sure.

I guess that’s enough of my rambling. My desk is messy. I need to clean it [9]. Carry on, ladies!

Meanwhile, here’s what’s been happening on Life as MOM:

Here’s what’s been happening on Good Cheap Eats:

Coming next week:

  • Make Healthy Meals Happy Ones
  • Adding a Third Child to the Mix
  • Lessons in Friendship
  • The Power of Play

Be sure to let me know what stories and articles are helpful to you and what you’d like to see more of in the coming weeks. I want to make your “life as MOM” as fun and as easy as possible.


Article printed from Life As Mom: http://lifeasmom.com

URL to article: http://lifeasmom.com/2014/03/the-weekly-ramble-24.html

URLs in this post:

[1] RSS feed: http://feeds.feedburner.com/lifeasmom/oGdA

[2] free updates via email: http://feedburner.google.com/fb/a/mailverify?uri=lifeasmom/oGdA

[3] my free seasonal newsletter: http://eepurl.com/q47Vb

[4] instagram: http://instagram.com/jessicagfisher

[5] this guy: http://brandosblog.weebly.com/hs-all-time-track-lists.html

[6] a new book of mine: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/1558328297/ref=as_li_ss_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=390957&creativeASIN=1558328297&linkCode=as2&tag=oflwtf-20

[7] book 1: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/1558327568/ref=as_li_ss_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=390957&creativeASIN=1558327568&linkCode=as2&tag=oflwtf-20

[8] our sugar fast : http://goodcheapeats.com/our-familys-sugar-fast/

[9] I need to clean it: http://lifeasmom.com/2014/03/5-no-fail-tips-for-a-clean-clutter-free-productive-desk-when-you-work-from-home.html

[10] Leaning Godwards: http://lifeasmom.com/2014/03/leaning-godwards.html

[11] Playing a Game of Chopped for Kids: http://lifeasmom.com/2014/03/playing-a-game-of-chopped-for-kids.html

[12] Coming Soon! This Week’s Dinners for $70 or Less: http://lifeasmom.com/2014/03/coming-soon-this-weeks-dinners-for-70-or-less.html

[13] 10 Great School Volunteer Opportunities: http://lifeasmom.com/2014/03/10-great-school-volunteer-opportunities.html

[14] 9 Ways to Get a Jump on the Day: http://lifeasmom.com/2014/03/9-ways-to-get-a-jump-on-the-day.html

[15] Free Resources Featuring the Disney Movie Frozen: http://lifeasmom.com/2014/03/free-resources-featuring-the-disney-movie-frozen.html

[16] How Changing Our Diet is Saving Us Money (Frugal Friday): http://lifeasmom.com/2014/03/how-changing-our-diet-is-saving-us-money-frugal-friday.html

[17] Free Bible Games for Kids: http://lifeasmom.com/2014/03/free-bible-games-for-kids.html

[18] Cooking for a Smaller Family: http://goodcheapeats.com/2014/03/cooking-for-a-smaller-family/

[19] 5-Ingredient Pizza: http://goodcheapeats.com/2014/03/5-ingredient-pizza/

[20] Make It Meatless: http://goodcheapeats.com/2014/03/make-it-meatless/

[21] Buttermilk Corn Waffles: http://goodcheapeats.com/2014/03/buttermilk-corn-waffles/

Copyright © 2011 Life As Mom. All rights reserved.