- Life As Mom - http://lifeasmom.com -

This Week’s Dinners for $70 or Less (Bonus: Trader Joe’s Shopping Plan)

Posted By Jessica Fisher On March 23, 2014 @ 3:46 pm In Budget Living,Meal Planning | 52 Comments

Want to cook this week’s dinners for $70 or less? Check out this week’s meal plan.

This Week's Dinners for $70 or Less - Chicken plan that can be shopped exclusively at Trader Joe's if you like.

This post is going to be short and sweet. I’ve used all my brain cells creating this week’s meal plan document. Not only does the plan contain seven meals that will please kids and adults alike, but it also features a master prep list, a full-length peek at the week and how to mix and match ingredients, and a $70 price tag.

An added bonus is that everything (except yeast) can be purchased at Trader Joe’s. We used that store with the healthier ingredient guarantee as the basis of this plan’s cost analysis. Prices may vary from state to state, but they are generally pretty similar. I also know that you can probably find ingredients for less at lots of other stores or if you shop sales, so I’m feeling pretty confident about the pricing here.

Of course your mileage may vary. Be sure to read all. the. notes. I’ve included lots of little cheats to help you keep costs down as well as have an easy meal plan to work through during the week. The notes are where your cost and time savings will be explained. So read them! You can do a lot of the prep on one day and then simply assemble supper as the week progresses. At times, we veered from the recipe a tad in order to save you some coin.

Keep tabs on leftovers — don’t let your teenage sons steal them — as they will be all used up by the end of the week in different recipes. Waste not, want not.

This Week's Dinners for $70 or Less - Chicken plan that can be shopped exclusively at Trader Joe's if you like. [4]

The plan is formatted as a full-color pdf [4]. If you don’t want to use the colored ink, be sure to change the setting in your print window. Alternatively, save a tree and save the pdf to your iBooks or other pdf library on your tablet or phone. Just be sure to take your device to the store with you.

Recipes in the meal plan:

You can download the meal plan along with the grocery lists, prep instrux, and cheat sheet here [4].

In addition to the 40+ meal plans [15] already available on Life as MOM, we’re now preparing meal plans with a week’s worth of recipes that build on one another and that cost under $70 for the whole week of dinners [16].

Obviously this type of plan is a little more time-intensive to prepare than previous meal plans, so we won’t be posting them on a weekly basis, at least not at the start. Any constructive feedback you can offer as we work out the bugs, is greatly appreciated. You can leave a comment here or email janel(at)lifeasmom(dot)com or jessica(at)lifeasmom(dot)com. Thanks!


Article printed from Life As Mom: http://lifeasmom.com

URL to article: http://lifeasmom.com/2014/03/this-weeks-dinners-for-70-or-less-bonus-trader-joes-shopping-plan.html

URLs in this post:

[1] RSS feed: http://feeds.feedburner.com/lifeasmom/oGdA

[2] free updates via email: http://feedburner.google.com/fb/a/mailverify?uri=lifeasmom/oGdA

[3] my free seasonal newsletter: http://eepurl.com/q47Vb

[4] Image: http://lifeasmom.com/?attachment_id=39510

[5] Pulled Chicken Sliders: http://goodcheapeats.com/2013/04/pulled-chicken-sliders/

[6] Homemade Italian Rolls: http://goodcheapeats.com/2014/02/italian-sandwich-rolls/

[7] Chicken, Bean, and Cheese Burritos: http://goodcheapeats.com/2013/10/chicken-bean-and-cheese-burritos-for-the-freezer/

[8] Lemon and Herb Rice Pilaf: http://goodcheapeats.com/2014/02/lemon-and-herb-rice-pilaf/

[9] Salsa Verde Chicken: http://goodcheapeats.com/2012/09/salsa-verde-chicken/

[10] Basic Vinaigrette: http://goodcheapeats.com/2013/10/basic-vinaigrette/

[11] Tortellini Pasta Salad: http://goodcheapeats.com/2012/02/chick-food-for-bachelors-day-recipe-tortellini-pasta-salad/

[12] Thursday Night Soup: http://lifeasmom.com/2008/12/thursday-night-soup.html

[13] Basic Pizza Dough: http://goodcheapeats.com/2009/07/basic-homemade-pizza/

[14] Last-Minute Pizza Sauce: http://goodcheapeats.com/2013/04/last-minute-pizza-sauce/

[15] 40+ meal plans: http://lifeasmom.com/free-printable-meal-plans-grocery-lists

[16] cost under $70 for the whole week of dinners: http://lifeasmom.com/2014/03/coming-soon-this-weeks-dinners-for-70-or-less.html

Copyright © 2011 Life As Mom. All rights reserved.