- Life As Mom - http://lifeasmom.com -

The Weekly Ramble

Posted By Jessica Fisher On April 5, 2014 @ 8:06 pm In Announcements | 12 Comments

The weekly ramble: where I blog like it’s 2004.

This girl? She’s going to be an amazing cook someday. She’s seven. She has an internal radar that goes off the minute I set foot at the stove or in the kitchen for that matter. She is desperate/eager/passionate to help and to learn.

In by-gone days, cooking was my therapy. The kitchen was typically a quiet place where I could go to be alone, much like the shower. I could think, I could create, and I could muse over whatever was bothering me.

I say by-gone, because that season has passed. My daughter wants to help me. She wants to learn. She wants to be with me. I would squander those precious gifts if I didn’t make the most of them in the here and now. They might not always be there. She might cease to be so enthusiastic someday, especially if I shun her now when she’s most eager.

As a food writer and cookbook author there are times when I don’t really know what I’m making until it’s made. Those are the times when I give her a different task, like setting the table “fancy”.

I’ll confess having a helper is sometimes hard for me. I can work faster and cleaner if I do it on my own. I miss that time all by myself.

At the same time, I see the greater good here. I see that this is my opportunity for shaping her character as a woman and a home cook. It’s a picture of motherhood in general, we give up a little bit of ourselves in order to help build a better life for our kids. And that’s a good thing. It’s an honor and a privilege.

I’ll have plenty of time alone in the kitchen someday. Probably too much. So, I’m going to welcome my daughter as my helper, plan things she can do on her own.

And make sure I get a bubble bath a little more often.

take a bubble bath

Meanwhile, here’s what’s been happening on Life as MOM:

Here’s what’s been happening on Good Cheap Eats:

Coming next week:

  • Another This Week’s Dinners for $70 or Less [17] Meal Plan
  • Making Juices for Kids at Home
  • How to Eat Better on a Budget
  • Having Your First Baby?
  • The 15-Minute Morning Routine that Rocks

Be sure to let me know what stories and articles are helpful to you and what you’d like to see more of in the coming weeks. I want to make your “life as MOM” as fun and as easy as possible.


Article printed from Life As Mom: http://lifeasmom.com

URL to article: http://lifeasmom.com/2014/04/the-weekly-ramble-26.html

URLs in this post:

[1] RSS feed: http://feeds.feedburner.com/lifeasmom/oGdA

[2] free updates via email: http://feedburner.google.com/fb/a/mailverify?uri=lifeasmom/oGdA

[3] my free seasonal newsletter: http://eepurl.com/q47Vb

[4] What Did You Think of the New Meal Plan?: http://lifeasmom.com/2014/03/what-did-you-think-of-the-new-meal-plan.html

[5] March Booking It: French Women Don’t Get Facelifts, The Monuments Men, & My Berlin Kitchen: http://lifeasmom.com/2014/03/march-booking-it-french-women-dont-get-facelifts-the-monuments-men-my-berlin-kitchen.html

[6] Zone Defense Check-In: The Laundry and Linen Cupboard : http://lifeasmom.com/2014/03/zone-defense-check-in-the-laundry-and-linen-cupboard.html

[7] A “Faith that Sticks” Giveaway from Tyndale House: http://lifeasmom.com/2014/04/a-faith-that-sticks-giveaway-from-tyndale-house.html

[8] A Pirate Fairy Tea Party: http://lifeasmom.com/2014/04/a-pirate-fairy-tea-party.html

[9] Fun Ways to Celebrate Easter: http://lifeasmom.com/2014/04/fun-ways-to-celebrate-easter.html

[10] Frugal Friday: Passover on a Budget: http://lifeasmom.com/2014/04/passover-on-a-budget-frugal-friday.html

[11] Grocery Geek: March Ends Already?: http://goodcheapeats.com/2014/03/grocery-geek-march-ends-already/

[12] Our Meal Plan for the Week: http://goodcheapeats.com/2014/03/our-meal-plan-for-the-week-2/

[13] Velvety Vegetable Soup: http://goodcheapeats.com/2014/03/velvety-vegetable-soup/

[14] Quick Meat Sauce for Pasta: http://goodcheapeats.com/2014/04/quick-meat-sauce-for-pasta/

[15] Egg Plus Salad Sandwich: http://goodcheapeats.com/2014/04/egg-plus-salad-sandwiches/

[16] Good Eating Habits from the Whole 30: http://goodcheapeats.com/2014/04/good-eating-habits-from-the-whole-30/

[17] This Week’s Dinners for $70 or Less: http://lifeasmom.com/2014/03/coming-soon-this-weeks-dinners-for-70-or-less.html

Copyright © 2011 Life As Mom. All rights reserved.