- Life As Mom - http://lifeasmom.com -

30 Recipes for a Whole 30

Posted By Jessica Fisher On May 20, 2014 @ 4:40 pm In Good Eats,Health and Safety,Joyful Womanhood,Meal Planning | 16 Comments

Interested in taking the Whole 30 Challenge? Here are 30 family-friendly, budget-minded recipes that will help you pull it off.

This post does include affiliate links. If you make a purchase through those links, I am paid a small amount in way of advertising fees. Your price does not change, but your purchase indirectly helps support this site. So thanks!

30 Recipes for a Whole 30 - Interested in taking the Whole 30 Challenge? Here are 30 family-friendly, budget-minded recipes that will help you pull it off.

About a year ago when my chronic hip pain was giving me fits, I decided to bite the bullet. I did a Whole 30, a 30-day elimination diet and nutritional reset to see if there was something that I was eating that was causing the pain. First I read the book, It Starts with Food [4], and then I jumped right in.

For 30 days, I omitted dairy, grain, gluten, soy, sugar, and alcohol from my diet, and I lived to tell the tale. If you’re wondering what I ate, I blogged my entire Whole 30 meal plan [5].

At the end of the 30 days, I still had horrible hip pain, but I had experienced amazing energy and alertness. I literally could hop out of bed at 4 am with energy to run a marathon. I’m looking forward to doing that again sometime, and maybe changing up my eating habits in general [6] based on what I learned during the Whole 30 challenge [7].

In case you’re thinking of doing a Whole 30 yourself, know that it takes a little planning and forethought. There are so many things that you have to cross off your list, that it can be tricky when you’re hangry (hungry + angry) and can’t find something convenient to eat.

Here are a myriad of family-friendly, budget recipes that will help you pull it off with ease. If you have the time, I highly recommend doing some freezer cooking in advance so that you’re not scrambling in the kitchen. These two freezer cooking plans should help you out:

Note the adaptations here to make sure the recipe is compliant with the diet. Some of these recipes may include butter for sauteing or optional toppings like cheese or sour cream. To make them Whole 30 approved, substitute the butter for ghee, olive oil, coconut oil, or other vegetable oil and omit the dairy toppings. The same goes for the freezer plans above.

30 Recipes for a Whole 30 - Interested in taking the Whole 30 Challenge? Here are 30 family-friendly, budget-minded recipes that will help you pull it off.

Beef

Pot Roast in the CrockPot [10]
Portabella Burgers [11] (omit cheese)
Seasoned Beef with Vegetables [12]
Vegetable Bolognese with Eggplant [13] (serve over spaghetti squash)
Easy Taco Salad [14] (omit tortilla chips, cheese, and sour cream) add Easy Homemade Guacamole [15]
Crockpot Shredded Beef [16]
Slow Cooker Beef Ragu with Mushrooms [17] (serve over spaghetti squash as noodles)

30 Recipes for a Whole 30 - Interested in taking the Whole 30 Challenge? Here are 30 family-friendly, budget-minded recipes that will help you pull it off.

Chicken

Asian Chicken [18] (sub out soy sauce – try tamari or coconut aminos)
Salsa Verde Chicken [19] (check salsa can/jar for ingredients)
Dijon Mustard Chicken [18]
Spicy Southwest Chicken [18] (sub out soy sauce – try tamari or coconut aminos)
Chicken seasoned with Spicy Chicken Rub [20]make a bunch for the freezer [21]
Chicken seasoned with Jamie’s Spice Mix [22]
Chicken Salad Wraps [23]

30 Recipes for a Whole 30 - Interested in taking the Whole 30 Challenge? Here are 30 family-friendly, budget-minded recipes that will help you pull it off.

Pork

Bratwurst with Sauteed Peppers and Onions [24] (omit hot dog buns, check bratwurst label)
Sauerkraut and Spareribs [25] (omit boiled potatoes)
Skillet Pork Chops [26]
Spice-Rubbed Pork Tenderloin [27]

Fish & Seafood

Cilantro Shrimp [28] (omit pasta)
Warm & Spicy Fish Rub [29]

30 Recipes for a Whole 30 - Interested in taking the Whole 30 Challenge? Here are 30 family-friendly, budget-minded recipes that will help you pull it off.

Eggs

Denver Scramble [30] (sub out butter)
Skillet Poached Eggs with Spinach, Pea Tendrils, and Leeks [31] (sub out butter)
Fajita Omelet [32] (omit optional cheese and sour cream)

30 Recipes for a Whole 30 - Interested in taking the Whole 30 Challenge? Here are 30 family-friendly, budget-minded recipes that will help you pull it off.

Veggies

Jessika’s Roasted Vegetables [33]
Grilled Vegetable Kebabs [34]
Sauteed Yu Choy with Mushrooms, Onions, and Squash [35] (top with chicken to make main dish)
Cumin-Scented Cabbage Salad [36] – add chicken and cashews to make this a main dish

Soups:

Roasted Vegetable Soup with Fresh Oregano [37]
Spring Vegetable Soup [38] (use olive or coconut oil for butter)
Thursday Night Soup [39] (don’t use leftover rice or potatoes)
Vegetable Beef Soup [40]

What’s been YOUR experience with the Whole 30?

This post does include affiliate links. If you make a purchase through those links, I am paid a small amount in way of advertising fees. Your price does not change, but your purchase indirectly helps support this site. So thanks!


Article printed from Life As Mom: http://lifeasmom.com

URL to article: http://lifeasmom.com/2014/05/30-recipes-for-a-whole-30.html

URLs in this post:

[1] RSS feed: http://feeds.feedburner.com/lifeasmom/oGdA

[2] free updates via email: http://feedburner.google.com/fb/a/mailverify?uri=lifeasmom/oGdA

[3] my free seasonal newsletter: http://eepurl.com/q47Vb

[4] It Starts with Food: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B008C20TDG/ref=as_li_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=390957&creativeASIN=B008C20TDG&linkCode=as2&tag=oflwtf-20&linkId=XC4RDVHHHTE3KDVH

[5] Whole 30 meal plan: http://goodcheapeats.com/my-whole-30-eating-plan/

[6] eating habits in general: http://goodcheapeats.com/2014/04/good-eating-habits-from-the-whole-30/

[7] I learned during the Whole 30 challenge: http://goodcheapeats.com/2013/03/what-i-learned-from-the-whole-30/

[8] Protein-Style Dinners: http://lifeasmom.com/2013/03/protein-style-dinners-free-downloadable-freezer-cooking-plan.html

[9] Protein-Power in an Hour: http://lifeasmom.com/2014/01/freezer-cooking-protein-power-in-an-hour.html

[10] Pot Roast in the CrockPot: http://goodcheapeats.com/2011/11/how-to-cook-a-pot-roast-in-the-slow-cooker/

[11] Portabella Burgers: http://goodcheapeats.com/2012/10/go-protein-style-with-portabellas/

[12] Seasoned Beef with Vegetables: http://goodcheapeats.com/2012/08/seasoned-beef-and-vegetables/

[13] Vegetable Bolognese with Eggplant: http://goodcheapeats.com/2010/10/vegetablebolognese-with-eggplant/

[14] Easy Taco Salad: http://lifeasmom.com/2010/09/easy-taco-salad-to-feed-a-crowd-ultimate-recipe-swap.html

[15] Easy Homemade Guacamole: http://lifeasmom.com/2009/01/fresh-guacamole-its-fine-thing.html

[16] Crockpot Shredded Beef: http://lifeasmom.com/2010/08/favorite-crockpot-recipe-shredded-beef.html

[17] Slow Cooker Beef Ragu with Mushrooms: http://goodcheapeats.com/2014/01/slow-cooker-beef-ragu-with-mushrooms-and-peppers/

[18] Asian Chicken: http://lifeasmom.com/2010/04/chicken-in-marinades.html

[19] Salsa Verde Chicken: http://goodcheapeats.com/2012/09/salsa-verde-chicken/

[20] Spicy Chicken Rub: http://lifeasmom.com/2011/05/spicy-chicken-rub-urs-chicken-recipes.html

[21] make a bunch for the freezer: http://goodcheapeats.com/2012/07/grilled-chicken-for-the-freezer/

[22] Jamie’s Spice Mix: http://goodcheapeats.com/2013/04/jamies-spice-mix/

[23] Chicken Salad Wraps: http://goodcheapeats.com/2013/04/chicken-salad-wraps/

[24] Bratwurst with Sauteed Peppers and Onions: http://goodcheapeats.com/2010/02/bratwurst-with-sauteed-peppers-and/

[25] Sauerkraut and Spareribs: http://lifeasmom.com/2008/08/recipe-swap-whats-in-your-crockpot.html

[26] Skillet Pork Chops: http://goodcheapeats.com/2011/09/easy-skillet-pork-chops/

[27] Spice-Rubbed Pork Tenderloin: http://goodcheapeats.com/2012/08/spice-rubbed-grilled-pork-tenderloin/

[28] Cilantro Shrimp: http://goodcheapeats.com/2011/08/cilantro-shrimp-pasta/

[29] Warm & Spicy Fish Rub: http://goodcheapeats.com/2011/10/warm-spicy-fish-rub-whats-on-your-plate/

[30] Denver Scramble: http://lifeasmom.com/2012/07/denver-scramble-ultimate-recipe-swap-pork.html

[31] Skillet Poached Eggs with Spinach, Pea Tendrils, and Leeks: http://goodcheapeats.com/2012/03/eat-your-spinach-recipe-skillet-poached-eggs-with-spinach-pea-tendrils-and-leeks/

[32] Fajita Omelet: http://goodcheapeats.com/2013/02/fajita-omelet/

[33] Jessika’s Roasted Vegetables: http://goodcheapeats.com/2014/01/jessikas-roasted-vegetables/

[34] Grilled Vegetable Kebabs: http://lifeasmom.com/2011/07/grilled-vegetable-kabobs-ultimate-recipe-swap.html

[35] Sauteed Yu Choy with Mushrooms, Onions, and Squash: http://goodcheapeats.com/2011/10/sauteed-yu-choy-with-mushrooms-onions-and-squash/

[36] Cumin-Scented Cabbage Salad: http://goodcheapeats.com/2013/01/cumin-scented-cabbage-salad/

[37] Roasted Vegetable Soup with Fresh Oregano: http://goodcheapeats.com/2011/09/roasted-vegetable-soup-with-fresh-oregano/

[38] Spring Vegetable Soup: http://goodcheapeats.com/2012/05/spring-vegetable-soup/

[39] Thursday Night Soup: http://lifeasmom.com/2008/12/thursday-night-soup.html

[40] Vegetable Beef Soup: http://goodcheapeats.com/2013/03/vegetable-beef-soup/

Copyright © 2011 Life As Mom. All rights reserved.