- Life As Mom - http://lifeasmom.com -

Getting Ready for Back to School

Posted By Jessica Fisher On July 20, 2014 @ 6:00 pm In BTS Inspiration,Homeschooling,Learning,Public Schooling | 2 Comments

Back to School? Say it ain’t so! Indeed, it’s time. But, you can rock the rentree with these fun tips and tricks.

Getting Ready for Back to School | Life as MOM

It is hard to believe that summer is on the downhill slope. My friend Andrea’s kids do school year-round so they’ve got only six weeks of summer. Our local school go back the first week of August which by last count is only two weeks away. I sure thought summer just started.

And I would swear that summer dragged on when I was a kid. Someone turned up the speed of Life, didn’t they?

While we’ve been doing a loose school schedule all summer long, it’s about time that we change gears a bit and get the machine revving at a higher speed. I spent the bulk of yesterday afternoon sorting through two years’ worth of school papers. I guess I fudged on that last summer; I found a basket full of the previous year’s work that needed to be sorted and filed. Oh boy!

The good thing about doing it so late in the game is that I’m reminded of what good bookkeeping and bad bookkeeping look like. Hopefully, I will do more of the former and less of the latter.

Last year was my first year teaching all six kids (k, 2, 4, 6, 8, and 11). This year will be my last (1, 3, 5, 7, 9, and 12). I’m guessing this will be the most challenging; we never will have more than 2 in high school at a time, so here’s hoping!

If you’re needing a refresh in school prep and all the things that go with going back to school, check out these past posts from the archives:

Back to School Tips | Life as MOM

Tips for Back to School

Back to School and the Budget | Life as MOM

Back to School and the Budget

Back to School Meal Planning | Life as MOM

Back to School Meal Inspiration

Back to School Tips for Public Schooling | Life as MOM

Back to School Tips for Public Schooling

Back to School Tips for Homeschooling | Life as MOM

Back to School Tips for Homeschooling

What new and exciting thing are you embarking on with your kids this year? We’d love to hear about it. Let’s chat in the comments.


Article printed from Life As Mom: http://lifeasmom.com

URL to article: http://lifeasmom.com/2014/07/getting-ready-for-back-to-school.html

URLs in this post:

[1] RSS feed: http://feeds.feedburner.com/lifeasmom/oGdA

[2] free updates via email: http://feedburner.google.com/fb/a/mailverify?uri=lifeasmom/oGdA

[3] my free seasonal newsletter: http://eepurl.com/q47Vb

[4] How to Make The School Year Less Stressful: http://lifeasmom.com/2014/07/how-to-make-the-school-year-less-stressful.html

[5] Getting Children Back on Track for the School Year: http://lifeasmom.com/2013/08/getting-children-back-on-track-for-the-school-year.html

[6] Making a Smooth Back to School Transition: http://lifeasmom.com/2011/08/making-a-smooth-back-to-school-transition.html

[7] Back to School Traditions: http://lifeasmom.com/2010/08/back-to-school-traditions-2.html

[8] FREE Grade Level Printable Signs: http://lifeasmom.com/2012/08/back-to-school-grade-level-printables.html

[9] 12 Ways to Save on School Stuff: http://lifeasmom.com/2012/08/12-ways-to-save-on-school-stuff.html

[10] Clothing Your Kids without Losing Your Shirt: http://lifeasmom.com/2010/08/clothing-your-kids-without-losing-your-shirt-frugal-friday.html

[11] How to Spend Those Back to School Dollars: http://lifeasmom.com/2012/07/how-to-spend-those-back-to-school-dollars.html

[12] Can You Afford to Homeschool?: http://lifeasmom.com/2011/09/can-you-afford-to-homeschool-frugal-friday.html

[13] 5 Packable Lunches and a Printable Grocery List: http://lifeasmom.com/2013/09/5-packable-lunches-a-printable-grocery-list.html

[14] Make-Ahead Lunches and a FREE Love Note Printable: http://lifeasmom.com/2012/08/make-ahead-school-lunches-a-free-printable-for-lunch-box-love-notes.html

[15] Meal Planning for the School Daze: http://lifeasmom.com/2010/08/meal-planning-for-the-school-daze.html

[16] Helping Your Child Have a (Socially) Successful School Year : http://lifeasmom.com/2012/08/helping-your-child-have-a-socially-successful-school-year.html

[17] Ensuring a Good Teacher Fit: http://lifeasmom.com/2012/06/ensuring-a-good-teacher-fit.html

[18] So You Don’t Like Your School: http://lifeasmom.com/2013/02/so-you-dont-like-your-school.html

[19] Planning for Preschool: http://lifeasmom.com/2012/03/planning-for-preschool.html

[20] Preparing Your Child for Public Kindergarten: http://lifeasmom.com/2010/08/preparing-your-child-for-public-kindergarten.html

[21] Getting Started in Homeschooling: http://lifeasmom.com/features/getting-started-in-homeschooling

[22] Building Your Academic Calendar: http://lifeasmom.com/2011/08/getting-started-in-homeschooling-building-your-academic-calendar.html

[23] Teaching More Than One Child: http://lifeasmom.com/2011/08/getting-started-in-homeschooling-teaching-more-than-one-child.html

[24] Homeschooling with Little Ones: http://lifeasmom.com/2011/08/homeschooling-with-little-ones.html

Copyright © 2011 Life As Mom. All rights reserved.