- Life As Mom - http://lifeasmom.com -

Make Family Travel Fun, Easy, & Affordable

Posted By Jessica Fisher On July 7, 2014 @ 4:17 pm In Family Fun,Travel | No Comments

Taking kids on vacations and road trips is not a walk in the park. In fact, sometimes a walk in the park isn’t really that easy, either. But, hitting the trail with your peeps is worth it.

family travel fun easy affordable

Somewhere between my honeymoon — when we talked about visiting France every year — and when the sixth child potty trained I got cold feet about travel. Just going to a friends’ house for dinner seemed like a ton of work. It was so much easier just to stay home.

And packing? Oh my! It took just a week to prepare for a weeklong trip and another week to recover. There have been many moments in this parenting gig when I just didn’t think it was worth it.

But, I’m learning different. Now, as I think more often about how to make the most of what we have [4]. Now, as I see how quickly the toddler years have fled our notice. Now, as I prepare my eldest to take trips of his own.

I realize that travel and getting out and about is really important to our family’s growth and development.

Our recent trip through the Nat [5] when one bored brother scolded another for taking too long and effectively sucked all the wind out of his enjoyment of the museum, I’m learning differently. Avoidance is not the answer.

Practice is.

Avoiding life-enriching experiences because they are hard is kinda silly and counter-productive. Instead, I want to get more practiced at them so that the challenges don’t ruffle my feathers quite so much. I want my kids to be comfortable in museums, restaurants, airports, and train stations. I want them to be confident to leave the cave and explore the world. I want them to know the world outside our borders.

That’s why we’ve got the wild and crazy notion for a European Vacation [6].

Confidence comes from knowing [7]. If we take our children traveling, they will become accustomed to the habits and activities involved. They’ll be more confident travelers. And the travel will be more fun.

You CAN Enjoy Family Travel

baby travel pack

Travel with children needn’t intimidate you!

Be Prepared

Bags on Shelf

Packing up the fam needn’t be a chore!

Budget Tips

24-Hour Date Night on a Dime | Life as MOM

Hitting the road needn’t be expensive.


Article printed from Life As Mom: http://lifeasmom.com

URL to article: http://lifeasmom.com/2014/07/make-family-travel-fun-easy-affordable.html

URLs in this post:

[1] RSS feed: http://feeds.feedburner.com/lifeasmom/oGdA

[2] free updates via email: http://feedburner.google.com/fb/a/mailverify?uri=lifeasmom/oGdA

[3] my free seasonal newsletter: http://eepurl.com/q47Vb

[4] how to make the most of what we have: http://lifeasmom.com/2014/06/are-we-making-the-most-of-it.html

[5] Our recent trip through the Nat: http://lifeasmom.com/2014/07/the-weekly-ramble-38.html

[6] crazy notion for a European Vacation: http://lifeasmom.com/tag/our-european-vacation

[7] Confidence comes from knowing: http://lifeasmom.com/2013/08/confidence-comes-from-knowing.html

[8] Don’t Be Afraid to Travel with Children: http://lifeasmom.com/2011/09/dont-be-afraid-to-travel-with-children.html

[9] Tips for Traveling with a Baby: http://lifeasmom.com/2010/10/traveling-with-a-baby-a-giveaway-from-steribottle.html

[10] How to Vacation with Children without Losing Your Mind: http://lifeasmom.com/2010/10/how-to-vacation-with-children-without-losing-your-mind.html

[11] Keeping the Joy in Family Travel: http://lifeasmom.com/2010/07/keeping-the-joy-in-family-travel-a-guest-post.html

[12] Have Bag, Will Travel: http://lifeasmom.com/2010/04/have-bag-will-travel-or-go-to-the-beach-or-the-park-or-on-a-picnic.html

[13] Travel Kits for Families: http://lifeasmom.com/2009/11/travel-kits-for-families.html

[14] Planning Your Next Summer Excursion: http://lifeasmom.com/2012/05/planning-your-next-summer-excursion.html

[15] TSA Guidelines on Traveling with Children: http://www.tsa.gov/traveler-information/traveling-children

[16] Organize Your Travel Gear: http://lifeasmom.com/2014/05/zone-defense-check-in-travel-transportation.html

[17] Using the Internet to Book a Hotel and Save Money: http://lifeasmom.com/2012/03/using-the-internet-for-book-a-hotel-and-save-money.html

[18] Budget-Friendly Vacation Tips: http://lifeasmom.com/2010/03/frugal-friday-budget-friendly-vacation-tips-part-one.html

[19] 12 Ways to Save on Vacation: http://lifeasmom.com/2012/05/12-ways-to-save-on-vacation-frugal-friday.html

[20] Taking Freezer Meals on the Road: http://lifeasmom.com/2011/06/taking-freezer-meals-on-the-road-eat-well-spend-less.html

Copyright © 2011 Life As Mom. All rights reserved.