- Life As Mom - http://lifeasmom.com -

The Weekly Ramble

Posted By Jessica Fisher On August 23, 2014 @ 10:06 am In Announcements | No Comments

The weekly ramble: where I blog like it’s 2004.

first day of school

I know intellectually that the first week of school is exhausting. Just as you know that childbirth is uncomfortable. Ahem. Yet, when you go through it again, you go, “Oh yeah.” The feeling is just a little more intense than you remembered it.

Such was our first week of school. It was good in many, many respects. That collage is how we started, bright and early Monday morning. The schoolroom was clean and organized [4], one child was awake and reading quietly, and there was Slab Apple Pie [5] for breakfast, per our longstanding first day of school tradition [6]. It was a great start and a great week.

However, by the end of it, wow. I was tired. I slept a lot more than I had in previous weeks and months, oversleeping my alarm most days. Now, I knew that I probably would since I couldn’t exercise due to the stitches in both legs, but still. I was exhausted.

But, it was a good week. I didn’t even cheat. Cheating = I decide to postpone a lesson (or four) because I’m lazy, tired, or too overwhelmed. I didn’t cheat all week, even if it meant that we were still doing lessons at 4:30 in the afternoon. I know well that it will take us awhile to get into the swing of things, so I pushed us all through. Hoping I have the stamina to keep it up.

Remind me in a month when I start cheating.

By the way, the lesions that were biopsied (thus the stitches) were benign. Yay, God!

rain

It rained this week. I know that for some of you that ain’t no big deal. Here? In summer? In a drought? Major big deal. I woke to thunder and thought for sure it was just empty promises. But, no, it was the real deal. We need it.

We just got moved to level 2 drought alert. It’s probably a little slow in coming. We’re required to cut back 20% which comes mostly in the form of irrigation. I read an article this week that said Californians don’t understand how bad the drought is [7] because city irrigation has been kept up. If folks don’t see how dry and brown things are, they don’t see the need to cut back on water usage.

Since it was an op-ed, I’m not entirely sure about the veracity of the article’s claim that we only have a 12-18 month water supply left. If so, then that’s pretty scary. Since California produces such a large amount of our nation’s food, this could have huge economic ramifications on you, even if you don’t have to let your lawn go brown.

I remember water shortages and droughts when I was a kid and in college. It is a little more sobering as an adult. In the end: pray for rain for California.

lunch lessons

Lunch lessons continue. I’ve been taking one child out to lunch each week to practice ordering, eating in a restaurant, trying new food. This guy is our most timid eater, so it took some finagling.

We went to a French bakery that serves lunch like a cafe. He was relieved to see that they had turkey baguette sandwiches, something I’m sure I never saw in France. However, he was a little disconcerted when I ordered it, “as is,” with butter, Swiss cheese, lettuce, and tomatoes. What Parisian waiter is going to tolerate my asking for such plain food?

Butter on a sandwich weirded him out. (That’s not typical on the west coast.) While I ended up eating the cheese and tomatoes, he did enjoy butter on his sandwich. It’s a win. A small win, but a win, nevertheless.

Meanwhile, here’s what’s been happening on Life as MOM:

Sausage burger

Here’s what’s been happening on Good Cheap Eats:

Coming next week:

  • The Dash
  • This Week’s Dinners Lunches for $70 or Less
  • Booking It
  • A Fun New Building Toy for Girls
  • Moving without Losing Your Mind
  • Another Bonus Feature (Be sure to preorder Good Cheap Eats soon!)
  • How to Make the Most of Your Next Salon Visit
  • Paying Off Debts

Be sure to let me know what stories and articles are helpful to you and what you’d like to see more of in the coming weeks. I want to make your “life as MOM” as fun and as easy as possible.


Article printed from Life As Mom: http://lifeasmom.com

URL to article: http://lifeasmom.com/2014/08/the-weekly-ramble-45.html

URLs in this post:

[1] RSS feed: http://feeds.feedburner.com/lifeasmom/oGdA

[2] free updates via email: http://feedburner.google.com/fb/a/mailverify?uri=lifeasmom/oGdA

[3] my free seasonal newsletter: http://eepurl.com/q47Vb

[4] The schoolroom was clean and organized: http://lifeasmom.com/2014/08/organizing-tricks-for-the-new-school-year.html

[5] Slab Apple Pie: http://lifeasmom.com/2009/11/slab-apple-pie-perfect-for-fall-perfect.html

[6] first day of school tradition: http://lifeasmom.com/2010/08/back-to-school-traditions-2.html

[7] an article this week that said Californians don’t understand how bad the drought is: http://www.latimes.com/opinion/op-ed/la-oe-famiglietti-southern-california-drought-20140709-story.html

[8] Finding Peace: http://lifeasmom.com/2014/08/finding-peace.html

[9] Make-Ahead Breakfast Meal Plan: http://lifeasmom.com/2014/08/make-ahead-breakfast-meal-plan.html

[10] Build Your Own Personal Planner or Household Notebook: http://lifeasmom.com/2014/08/build-your-own-personal-planner-or-household-notebook.html

[11] Back to School for Moms: 3 Ways to Make Learning a Part of Life: http://lifeasmom.com/2014/08/back-to-school-for-moms-3-ways-to-make-learning-a-part-of-life.html

[12] Another Bonus Feature? Why? Because I Like You.: http://lifeasmom.com/2014/08/another-bonus-feature-why-because-i-like-you.html

[13] How to Set a Budget: http://lifeasmom.com/2014/08/how-to-set-a-budget.html

[14] Teaching Your Child Time Management with the M.O.M. Method: http://lifeasmom.com/2014/08/teaching-your-child-time-management-with-the-m-o-m-method.html

[15] Stovetop Hot Cocoa: http://goodcheapeats.com/2014/08/stovetop-hot-cocoa/

[16] How to Audit Your Grocery Spending: http://goodcheapeats.com/2014/08/how-to-audit-your-grocery-spending/

[17] Another Bonus Feature for Good Cheap Eats: http://goodcheapeats.com/2014/08/another-bonus-feature-for-good-cheap-eats/

[18] After-school Snacks Your Kids Will Love: http://goodcheapeats.com/2014/08/5-after-school-snacks-your-kids-will-love/

[19] Spicy Sausage Burgers: http://goodcheapeats.com/2014/08/spicy-sausage-burgers/

[20] What to Wear Postpartum: http://lifeasmom.com/2014/06/what-to-wear-in-the-months-after-having-a-baby.html

[21] 5 Tips for Adding Another Baby to the Family: http://lifeasmom.com/2014/03/5-tips-for-adding-another-baby-to-the-family.html

[22] What to Say (or Not to Say) to the Mom of a Preemie: http://lifeasmom.com/2010/10/what-to-say-to-the-mom-of-a-preemie.html

[23] Finding Contentment in the Baby Season: http://lifeasmom.com/2011/01/finding-contentment-in-the-baby-season.html

[24] 12 Ways to Save on Baby Stuff: http://lifeasmom.com/2012/06/12-ways-to-save-on-baby-stuff-frugal-friday.html

Copyright © 2011 Life As Mom. All rights reserved.