- Life As Mom - http://lifeasmom.com -

The Weekly Ramble

Posted By Jessica Fisher On August 30, 2014 @ 8:46 am In Announcements | 2 Comments

The weekly ramble: where I blog like it’s 2004.

FishChick bday trim

This girl turned six on Monday. My baby is six. Not sure how that happened. In some ways, I’m thankful that she doesn’t have a baby book for me to cry over.

(Yes, I know, the girls need to get their scrapbooks done. Maybe 2015 will be their year!)

Anyway, birthdays are official school holidays at our house, so we took the day off. Grampa Jack, Auntie Jamie, Auntie Nel, and Uncle Brett came down as well as the cousins so it was a super duper birthday. FishBaby (yes, she’ll always be my baby) had mapped out the full day months ago in storyboard. It was precious.

She’s not yet able to spell many words, so she drew pictures of each stage of her birthday: pancakes, eggs, and bacon for breakfast; pizza for lunch; swimming at the pool; dinner at Chick-Fil-A. And the thing that she has been adamant about for months: a Jesus cake.

jesus cake trim

I have no idea where she got the idea, but she wanted a Jesus cake with Jesus, John the Baptist, and all the “baptizers”. She was all-in. How thankful I am that Playmobil make great cake toppers!

We had to rifle through the Playmobil boxes for days in search of the right pieces. Hear me saying, “People, we need to find Jesus!”

True story. Amen.

It was a great little celebration of our little miss. After that the week kinda went downhill. It was pretty hard to get into school after a long weekend. We had many late afternoons trying to finish up everything.

May next week be a little more energetic! We aren’t taking Monday off; FishPapa is just going to have to do school with us. ;)

Meanwhile, here’s what’s been happening on Life as MOM:

Here’s what’s been happening on Good Cheap Eats:

Coming next week:

  • Preparing for Fall
  • Be Proactive Against Lice!
  • Enjoying the Baby Daze
  • Reducing Debt

Be sure to let me know what stories and articles are helpful to you and what you’d like to see more of in the coming weeks. I want to make your “life as MOM” as fun and as easy as possible.


Article printed from Life As Mom: http://lifeasmom.com

URL to article: http://lifeasmom.com/2014/08/the-weekly-ramble-46.html

URLs in this post:

[1] RSS feed: http://feeds.feedburner.com/lifeasmom/oGdA

[2] free updates via email: http://feedburner.google.com/fb/a/mailverify?uri=lifeasmom/oGdA

[3] my free seasonal newsletter: http://eepurl.com/q47Vb

[4] The Dash: http://lifeasmom.com/2014/08/the-dash.html

[5] Budget-Friendly Meal Plans: http://lifeasmom.com/2014/08/budget-friendly-meal-plans.html

[6] Booking It August Update: Reviews of Great Expectations, Cinder & The Big Mama Books: http://lifeasmom.com/2014/08/booking-it-august-update-reviews-of-great-expectations.html

[7] Girls Get Building with GoldieBlox: http://lifeasmom.com/2014/08/girls-get-building-with-goldieblox.html

[8] Bonus Feature #3: {Yes, Really}: http://lifeasmom.com/2014/08/bonus-feature-3-yes-really.html

[9] How to Move without Going Crazy: http://lifeasmom.com/2014/08/how-to-move-without-going-crazy.html

[10] How to Make the Best Out of Your Visit to the Salon: http://lifeasmom.com/2014/08/how-to-make-the-best-out-of-your-visit-to-the-salon.html

[11] Create an Emergency Fund: http://lifeasmom.com/2014/08/create-an-emergency-fund.html

[12] Presentation Is Everything: http://goodcheapeats.com/2014/08/presentation-is-everything/

[13] Make Your Meal Plan Happen This Week: http://goodcheapeats.com/2014/08/make-your-meal-plan-happen-this-week/

[14] Oven-Roasted Ratatouille : http://goodcheapeats.com/2014/08/oven-roasted-ratatouille/

[15] 5 Quick & Easy Meals to Freeze: http://goodcheapeats.com/2014/08/5-quick-easy-meals-to-freeze/

[16] Wines to Pair with Good Cheap Eats: http://goodcheapeats.com/2014/08/wines-to-pair-with-good-cheap-eats/

[17] 5 Easy Ways to Fill the Freezer: http://lifeasmom.com/2014/04/mostly-meatless-a-free-printable-freezer-cooking-plan.html

[18] Fill the Freezer to Save Money: http://lifeasmom.com/2013/08/fill-the-freezer-to-save-money-frugal-friday.html

[19] Dinner on the Run: A Free Printable Freezer Meal Plan: http://lifeasmom.com/2013/05/dinner-on-the-run-free-downloadable-freezer-cooking-plan.html

[20] The Ultimate Freezer Cooking Collection of Recipes and Tips: http://lifeasmom.com/2014/02/the-ultimate-freezer-cooking-collection-of-recipes-and-tips.html

Copyright © 2011 Life As Mom. All rights reserved.