Booking It September Reviews: The Hundred-Foot Journey, The Kitchen Magpie, & All the Light We Cannot See

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites. We participate in other affiliate programs as well. For more details, please see our disclosure policy.

Booking It September Reviews: The Hundred-Foot Journey, The Kitchen Magpie, & All the Light We Cannot SeeBooking It is an online book club where we share the good reads we’ve found in the previous month. We’ve found that over the years we’ve discovered some great new books thanks to this monthly book share. Carrie and Anne are my fellow bookworms and help round out the selections.

Jessica read:

Booking It September Reviews: The Hundred-Foot Journey, The Kitchen Magpie, & All the Light We Cannot See

The Hundred-Foot Journey

by Richard C. Morais

The Hundred-Foot Journey came out as a major-motion picture in early August. The kids and I had seen the advertisements while out shopping. I was curious about the France-based, food-centric novel because – of course. And seeing as we are going to France later this fall — and I was procrastinating on all the things — I requested the book from the library.

My foodie 12-year old son tried to snatch it from me and I’m so glad that I had the sense to say no. Turns out it’s a little PG-13/R rated in parts. Not something he needs to be reading about, despite all the food.

I was initially pretty bored with the first few chapters and was ready to send it back without reading it. Then I did what I am apt to do: I read the last chapters. I read the movie spoilers, too. It helps me know if something’s worth my time — or in the case of action movies, having some of my hair go white.

The last chapters convinced me to give the book another shot. And I’m so glad I did. It was quite good and made me cry. It moved me, Bob.

If you tried it and gave up, it may be worth another go.

Carrie read:

Booking It September Reviews: The Hundred-Foot Journey, The Kitchen Magpie, & All the Light We Cannot See

The Kitchen Magpie: A delicious melange of culinary curiosities, fascinating facts, amazing anecdotes and expert tips for the food-lover

by James Steen

If you haven’t created a Goodreads account yet, you should, and then look me up while you’re there. I won my copy of The Kitchen Magpie through a Goodreads giveaway, which I was really excited about since it won’t be released in the U.S. until November 11th. 

I actually entered to win because it had the words “food-lover” in the title. I’m happy to report that was a good instinct because I did, indeed, love this book. And we all know I’m a sucker for good food. Although I don’t like to dog-ear pages of books, my copy of The Kitchen Magpie is well “loved”, and ready to be referenced at a moments notice.

Steen did an excellent job covering a broad range of topics in a 200 page book, even leaving room for personal notes at the end. The humor and history that is infused throughout the book kept me hooked, while he covered a plethora of little known kitchen tid-bits, helping me continue to broaden my food horizons. 

Quick to read (I read it in a weekend), and worth purchasing. If you’re on Twitter, I recommend following him @JamesSteen100.

Anne read:

Booking It September Reviews: The Hundred-Foot Journey, The Kitchen Magpie, & All the Light We Cannot See

All the Light We Cannot See

by Anthony Duerr

I picked up this World War II novel because it kept popping up on people’s best-books-of-the-year lists. It didn’t disappoint, with its sad, haunting story and beautiful prose.

All the Light We Cannot See is a war novel, but the characters Doerr focuses on are fascinating and altogether unexpected. And the book’s setting couldn’t be lovelier: much of the action takes place in Saint-Malo, France, a unique walled port city on the English Channel. (If I were Jessica, I’d be adding this destination to my travel itinerary!)

Highly recommended for fans of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society, Code Name Verity, and Unbroken.

What have you been reading?

Booking It September Reviews: The Hundred-Foot Journey, The Kitchen Magpie, & All the Light We Cannot See– Anne loves strong coffee, long books, and big ideas. She puts a timely spin on timeless women’s issues at her blog Modern Mrs Darcy.

For more of Anne’s book recommendations, check out her new 2014 summer reading guide here to find out which breezy novels, nerdy nonfiction, and gripping books are best for the beach this year—or your own backyard.

Booking It September Reviews: The Hundred-Foot Journey, The Kitchen Magpie, & All the Light We Cannot See– Carrie adores culture, coffee, books, British mystery shows, Parisian cafés, and her husband of 14 years. She’s spent time in Africa, southeast Asia, and Alaska, and now works from home as a social media book launch specialist. 

Follow her Busy Nothings page on Facebook for “in the moment” thoughts, and occasionally find her blogging at Carrie’s Busy Nothings

Booking It September Reviews: The Hundred-Foot Journey, The Kitchen Magpie, & All the Light We Cannot See– Jessica is a married mom of six kids, aged 5 to 17. Most can read independently which means the homeschool experiment is working – at least on the literacy front.

She has been a lover of books for 40 years and counting. We won’t count the first year of life. She runs this here show called Life as MOM and also posts all the food things over at Good Cheap Eats.

Tell us what YOU’VE been reading.

Leave a comment or a link below. Please be sure to link back here so your readers know where to find the party. Share your recent book reviews with us!

About Jessica Fisher

I believe you can get great meals on the table -- and still keep that pretty smile on your face.

gce-sidebar-subscribe
Read Newer Post
Read Older Post

Comments

  1. That’s interesting that The Hundred Foot Journey book was PG-13/R rated since I saw the movie (and loved it). I didn’t see or hear anything really offensive (and I just checked…it’s rated PG). I guess they cleaned it up for the movie. Not sure if I’ll read the book after your review, though (because of that).

  2. This month I read two books by Kate Morton and have just started a new novel called Child 44. You can see my book list and link to my reviews at http://adayinthelifeonthefarm.blogspot.com/p/2014-reading-list_871.html

  3. I’ve been missing out on booking it, mostly because I had a lot on my plate. This month I caught up! The one I would absolutely recommend that you read is Dirty Faith. Click through and read what I have to say about it, but I think In some ways it was life changing. 🙂
    http://faithfamilyfrugalityandme.blogspot.com/2014/09/a-whole-lotta-books.html?m=1

  4. I too was sucked into to reading the 100 foot Journey based on the movie trailer. I enjoyed it but still haven’t seen the movie. It was a really moving story once it got moving. Thanks again for all the great reviews. My list to read keeps growing. Here is my link to what I read in September http://www.myviewofthehoneypot.blogspot.com/2014/09/booking-it-september.html

  5. Loved All the Light We Cannot See!

  6. Do textbooks count? Since school has started again I’ve been reading way to many exercise science books and needed to come get some fiction recommendations. Thanks for the info, I’ll put The Hundred Foot Journey onto my list for when I have time again.

  7. Maya Andrews says:

    I am almost done with My Life in Middlemarch by Rebecca Mead. It is part a memoir, part biography of George Eliot (born Mary Ann Evans). I am enjoying it mostly because I liked the books by Eliot and movies made from them. It has been interesting to learn about Eliott’s life and see the analysis and comparison of characters from a number of Eliott’s books.

  8. Maya Andrews says:

    I really enjoyed Nothing Daunted by Dorothy Wickendon. (I hope I didn’t write about this one last month bc I did finish it in August; if so you’ll know how tired and forgetful I am right now!) It is the story of two “society girls” who are weary of society and go to the wild west of Colorado to teach in a one room (actually two room) school house. The author is one the girl’s granddaughter. It takes place around 1914. One thing that struck me and what I liked so much is how they completely enjoyed life. It was all so different for them -often in a very unpleasant way- but they relished every minute it seems. Touring a coal mine, watching a boy skin an animal, horseback riding in deep snow. Sometimes some of the backstory was a little long for me-such as long section on railroads. The author did a lot of research in so many areas. It also interested me because the girls graduated from Smith College which is very close to where I live. There is a satisfying epilogue at the end too. I like to find out the rest of the story- who they married, how many kids did they have, what did they do with their lives.

  9. I’m going to put All The Light We Cannot See on my reading list, especially since I loved Unbroken.

    This month, I read another WWII book, Behind Enemy Lines. Very good read!

    http://www.momsplans.com/2014/09/book-review-behind-enemy-lines-marthe-cohn/

  10. I would love to see 100 Foot Journey. It’s just about the only movie that looks at all interesting to me lately. Here’s my September list! http://www.jessieweaver.net/2014/10/booking-it-september-2014/

Thanks so much for participating in this conversation about "a mom's life."

This is a place where moms can be themselves. Remember that each mother's path looks a little different. Please keep your comments respectful and kind. Reasonable minds will disagree in a nice way.

So let's talk about it, using "our big girl words."

Share Your Thoughts

*